We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waste of time and money! Extremely disappointed. Very rude staff, that don't even speak English !”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Mt. Olympus Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mt. Olympus Resort
Ranked #64 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Illinois City, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money! Extremely disappointed. Very rude staff, that don't even speak English !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I am highly disappointed with this place. $250 a night for two queen beds, one was in separate room. The couch and bed frames are made of plywood!!!!! I have not met a polite, ready to help, employee yet! Nor one that was fluent in English. Ridiculous! I should not have to struggle to communicate with staff that are supposed to be here to help. Our room was clean, but the lobby and all halls and walkways were fithy and had garbage on the floor. The staff at the theme park were extremely rude. Instead of telling all the kids that it was time to close the little kid play area the guy came in YELLED at all the little kids to get out he is turning the lights off. I would understand his frustration if he had ASKED and no one responded, but to talk to young children like that with out even giving them a chance is absolutely uncalled for. This is our first night here out of two and if I could cancel and get my money back I would be out of here. There is an open electrical outlet on the floor in the middle of the arcade which you must walk through to get to/from the watermark. Logic tells me that dripping wet people stepping on an uncovered electrical outlet would not be good!!! My kids and I are highly disappointed with this place and would recommend not staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dkiyd421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christin B, Social Media Advisor at Mt. Olympus Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. The team here at Mt. Olympus would like to connect with you further about your recent stay and make things right with you. Please contact our management team at 1-800-800-4997 and ask for the manager on duty and they will be more then happy to assist you. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    270
    353
    343
    547
See reviews for
1,177
108
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Just returned from our visit to Hotel Rome. The indoor water park is awesome! Great for all ages of kids. They only have the double tubes which makes the lazy river a bit congested at times. We were there Christmas Eve and while there were lots of people, it didn't seem terribly packed. Be warned that in order to get to the indoor theme park, you have to walk through the water park, go outside about 1/2 block in order to get to the theme park. So in winter, you either suffer in the freezing cold or you wear a coat and then have to drag it around with you while at the theme park.
The theme park had go karts that seemed to be popular and a roller coaster type ride. It was a single car on a track that has lots of spins, a few hills, some backward traveling,etc. My 12 y/o loved it, my 9 y/o didn't. The rock climbing wall is extra along with laser tag and arcade games.
My biggest problem was the lack of decent food. All the food service places have the same menu: pizza, burgers, hot dogs, etc. they advertise salads but I didn't try one. For breakfast, there is only the lobby cafe which offers pastries, packaged egg sandwiches, and coffee/tea. Another drawback is the fact that the parks don't open until 10 AM. With checkout at 10:30, that leaves you having to pack up and then change in the locker rooms if you stay for part of the day. We were able to get into our room by 1 pm the day of check in which was very convenient. Our room was a double queen with a bunk bed. The room was very spacious but there isn't any carpeting so the floor was quite squeaky. There is no coffee pot in the room, just a microwave and some packages of instant coffee. There is a fridge so it makes it convenient for bringing your own food. There is a nice TV in the room, but it's bolted down in such a way that it can't be swiveled in order to be viewed from the bunks or the other queen bed. Seemed a bit strange that it was so stationary. For the price we paid, it was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christin B, Social Media Advisor at Mt. Olympus Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
I'm glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed yourselves in our indoor water and theme parks during your recent stay. It's true that the quickest way to get to our indoor theme park is through the indoor water park first then it is about a 30 yard walk to get to the theme park entrance. We do make our guests aware of this so they can plan accordingly during their stay. I want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

For the price we paid it was worth it. We went the weekend before Christmas, it was all decorated with trees and santa 2 nights for 5 people (2 queens & Bunk Beds) slept our family of 5 comfortable under $350 for the WEEKEND plus a $100 spending credit for food, drinks, etc. included indoor water park, theme park and tubing (choice of tubing or skiing)

Sure the food is over priced and not worth it, ($3 for a bottle of soda) and their are only 4 indoor water slides, and the theme park is not super big, 1 roller coaster, race cars, bumper cars, tea cup. but we spent a full day at the water park and 1/2 day at the theme park. and several hours tubing, came back to a clean warm roomy -room... I was surprised it was not a noisy roach motel. the only time we heard our neighbors was the door slams (as they all do) and if we or they were in the hall. otherwise tv's etc nope. We stayed in building 10, behind pizza pub and Mt seems to be buying up all the motels and rehabbing them or tearing them down.

Most of the employees are there on work visa's so its fun to chat with them.. All in All for the price we paid compared to every other "resort" in the area well... I'd go back to Mt Olympus I feel I got my monies worth.

Wish they allowed carry-in's we spent 1/2 our food credit on 1 lunch and the other on soda and candy...

Room Tip: Building 10 is nice and quiet (thick walls ?) And the rooms do look just like the pictures on the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christin B, Social Media Advisor at Mt. Olympus Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room accommodations and our water and theme park. Thank you for sharing your Mt. Olympus experience with us. I hope to see you back with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

My family and I stayed at Olympus Resort in early October, everything was good and service was just outstanding! When we were reading about it online, we were a little scared to go, but we decided to give it a chance. When we got there the view that we got from the outside was awesome, especially the coliseum. So my husband and I walked in, when we got in there the staff had a nice smile on their face we didn't even have to wait in line walked right up to them. When we got checked in and they told us that we had access to so we went up to our room and put our stuff away. We stayed in a two queen bed and a bunk. We went to the outdoor parks and enjoyed the few things that they did have open. I was really happy that they had something’s open outside, they closed at 4pm but that’s okay. The indoor waterpark was open and we had fun in there. After all we loved are stay at Mt. Olympus Resort and will come back best time we had for are first vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danuta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christin B, Social Media Advisor at Mt. Olympus Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
I want to thank you for sharing your great family getaway with us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the outdoor park, along with our awesome staff and room accommodations. We can't wait to see you and your family back with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

the place was decent, nothing out of the ordinary, we stay for 4 days and we did enjoy the place because of the weather, too many people, but that's just the type of place it is, it is huge, the best thing was the rides were all included, yes they were some that you pay, but to have fun you don't need extra cash on rides. i might try another place next time.

Room Tip: the villas are good, quiet but a bit far, still you can walk to the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christin B, Social Media Advisor at Mt. Olympus Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Glad to hear that you enjoyed our Mt. Olympus water and theme parks during your stay. Hope to see you back with us again and thank you for sharing your experience with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Our family of four has been to a few of the indoor waterparks, and this time opted for Mt. Olympus and the Rome Hotel along with two other families we know. First of all, we wound up in separate buildings, so we could not hang out as we would have liked. Second of all, the rooms themselves are miserable places to stay. I was joking that they could stage musical performances by placing musicians in the hallway. Everyone in each guest room would be able to hear every note! There is no soundproofing in the guest rooms, making it hard to get a decent night's sleep with folks strolling up and down the hall, carrying on conversation and even wose, running and yelling. The quality, space and amenities of the room also leave a lot to be desired when compared to other options in the Dells. Not even a coffee pot. And the coffee in the lobby is insanely over priced.

We got the all-inclusive package which includes food, but the food options are included are such that you would not want to try to live on the stuff for a whole day in a row, much less a three day weekend. Salty, processed hamburgers, hot dogs, cheap paper-thin pizza and fried cheese? I sure hope they have a defibrilator handy as well.

The extent of the indoor theme park and water park is also limited compared to elsewhere in the Dells.

So by your second day here, you have not gotten any decent sleep, you are bloated and miserable because of the awful food. You are kind of done with what there is to do onsite. But at least unlimited bar rail drinks are included, so you can get really smashed and try to forget about thow you just flushed a bunch of cash down the toilet on this horrible trip.

Room Tip: Shop around the Dells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christin B, Social Media Advisor at Mt. Olympus Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
I would like to first off thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We do enjoy getting receiving all reviews good and bad so we may better ourselves for the future. Our team here would like to connect further with you about your stay and make things right with you. Please contact our management team at 1-800-800-4997 and ask for the manager on duty, so we may further assist you. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wisconsin Dells hotels

Pewaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We just got back from the "all inclusive" deal. Not such a deal. The food choices leave much to be desired and no breakfast. Instant coffee instead of a coffee maker ? The rooms need help. The acoustics are so bad in building 1 that it seems people are in your room while in the hallway. The heater was loud too.
The water park is small and the kids got bored fast. The indoor theme has a good roller coaster but, again- kids got bored fast. I did not see a smile on any employees face the whole time. When we checked in , the guy did not understand how the packages worked and kept trying to upgrade us. We will never go back. It's the Khalahari for us in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheatgrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christin B, Social Media Advisor at Mt. Olympus Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
I want to thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that it wasn't what you were expecting. We try to make our guests fully aware of what their packages entail before they book. We do this by posting a full menu of each food and beverage item included with the all inclusive package so there won't be any confusion once the guest is here at the resort. I do hope that you give Mt. Olympus a try again in the future, perhaps during the summer months when you and your family can enjoy the outdoor water and theme parks during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#31 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#32 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Olympus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Olympus Resort

Property: Mt. Olympus Resort
Address: 1701 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. Olympus Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt. Olympus Resort provides our guests with both Indoor and Outdoor Water & Theme Park fun! All 1300 Mt. Olympus Resort rooms are spread over the famous Wisconsin Dells Strip, surrounding Mt. Olympus Water & Theme Park. Free skiing, tubing, snowboarding and Golf passes (depending on season) are included with stay, Free wi-fi access available, 44 Indoor and Outdoor Water Slides, 4 Interactive Children's water play areas, 7 Outdoor Go-Kart Tracks, 1 Indoor Go-Kart Track, 5 Outdoor Roller Coasters, 1 Surf pool, creating 9ft waves! 1 Wave pool and a giant water fortress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Mt. Olympus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rome - At Mt. Olympus Water And Theme Park
Wisconsin Dells Treasure Island
Treasure Island Wisconsin Dells
Treasure Island Water Park Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing