We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!”
Review of Mt. Olympus Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mt. Olympus Resort
Ranked #64 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Huge problems! You don't know what hotel you are booking with until you have paid and confirmed only to get an email saying 'if you want to upgrade to hotel rome please call'. We ended up with a room at hotel Zeus which was especially disappointing, smelling of smoke and had dried up snot on the washroom walls. The walk to the park from the parking lot was ludicrous and wasn't mentioned anywhere. Plus, the smokers were a huge pain as they smoked everywhere! It is supposed to be a non-smoking resort but unless you were prepared to tell people to stop every 15 minutes don't stay here! Also, on one of the days the park gave out price reduced wristbands with a flurry of rude, space encroaching people thus increasing your wait for all rides to an hour versus the 2 rides/hour the day before. Stay somewhere else but definitely visit the amusement park and rides - the kids really enjoyed those. One more problem - no changerooms! Let us also add the extra taxes and fees of $70/day once you have booked.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    271
    357
    345
    550
See reviews for
1,185
109
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, NW burbs
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I'm sure it depends on where you stay, seeing that Olympus has bought-up so many other hotels in that area of the strip.
We were placed in the old Copa Cabana. the room was clean, beds were decent, but there's no staff on the premises - if you have any trouble, you have to call and wait for someone to drive-over. We stayed here a few times maybe 4-5 years ago, and they had a nice indoor pool with both indoor and outdoor water parks. The outdoor one has been filled-in (it's all grass), and the inside one is closed-up tight.

Rooms are better now, but for the price, I expected more (even just a shuttle van would be nice).

Save your money - stay at a "regular" hotel and if you really have to go to the Olympus theme park, purchase the 1-day pass. That way, you'll have a decent room, with a pool to relax/play, and you don't feel like you have to use the park.

Room Tip: Like the title says, you can get all kinds of discounts at other places. Find one with the features...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gewf631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wisconsin Dells hotels

Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband reserved a room for 5 of us for 3 nights/4 days. Considering the theme park admission price and parking fees the price we paid was worth it. We stayed at the Mykonos Village with a 2 queen size/bunkbed room. The room was average, but clean and no funny smells. Everything we needed was there, and everything in our room worked fine.
There is a small arcade on the first floor with attendants. Not far down the hall from there is a little nook with a couple of pool tables and a fireplace. We've found these places helpful when mom and dad wanted a little downtime to themselves.
Expect to hear people in the hallway, walking around, sometimes a bit noisy, at late hours, and yes even early. You might want to bring your earplugs if you are a light sleeper. It's not horribly loud all the time at all hours, but sometimes you'll get a late (or early) burst of surprise noise.
We have found that the parking lot adjacent to the entry doors of the hotel (which is only one side) has insufficient parking for all of the guests. People will stalk you for your parking space if you're not in early enough for a spot. You can park down the hill and around to the (front) of the building. But be prepared to walk back up the hill and around because the front doors are for employees only even though they look like you should be able to go through them. (we learned the hard way in pouring rain late at night! LOL!!)
When you are ready to have some fun at the theme park or water park be ready to spend a little time parking and walking to your destinations. There is a great amount of uphill and downhill paths. The uphill climbs can be a bit brutal to some folks, and I really wish they would consider a few more benches (with shade for summer months). Also be ready to be away from your car for awhile-after you've made the trek downhill you may not want to go back up anytime soon. Bring anything you'll need the first trip. You cannot bring carry-ins. (food, drink)
I've seen quite a few people in the parking lot enjoying a quick snack.
From our hotel there is a sneak road from the parking lot behind the facade of the main road all the way through to both theme and water park. I strongly advise you to ask where this is when you check in. And if you don't understand the first time ask them again because this road is very useful to get around on the grounds. Having to make a left on the main drag is a major pain! It really may be a great idea for them to put a shuttle bus in.
Make sure you get your water fun on before the upper outside water park closes at 7pm. They are VERY strict about this. The inside water park is very limited to slides, and sadly I didn't get to the front water park to check it out.
If you like go carts this may be your heaven! :)
The attendants are very strict and I personally like this as it keeps order.
After we had checked out and returned home my 10 year old announced that he had left his Nintendo DS under his pillow at the hotel. As from personal previous experience when you leave something at a hotel room you may as well kiss it goodbye. I called the hotel and housekeeping hadn't turned anything in. They said they would contact me if it turned up.
Lesson for anybody-never ever keep anything of value out in your hotel room, no matter where you are. Put it under lock and key.
Overall the experience was pretty good and everyone had a great time. Take advantage of any coupons you may come across and save yourself a bit of ice cream money =)! Give yourself time and patience, treat employees sweetly and they light up from from the attention you give them from the otherwise monotonous droning of hordes of people day in and out-
:D


  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarkJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Originally had reservations for Mykonos village. Upgraded to Hotel Rome after reading reviews and listening to random people. This was the best decision. We stayed in a 2 queen and bunkbed room, Our room was very spacious for the 5 of us and very clean (only issue was a toilet that kept not wanting to flush). The hotel was quick to get someone to fix the issue. Outside waterpark and amusement park was a lot of fun for everyone. Inside waterpark was a huge hit. Centrally located easy to get to the shopping and restaurants in downtown and easy to access all the shops and dining along the Pkwy. Food and drink at Mt. Olympus is a bit high, but what do you expect this is a resort they are not in it to feed you for cheap.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We checked in our room on a Friday at 1:30pm. I think I counted around 150 waiting in line at that time. It took us over an hour. The staff was prompt, there were just so many people. Our room was ready early(Check in time is 4pm) but my brothers wouldn't be until 4 so we all hung out in our room until then. At around 3:00 I walked back down to the lobby and there was absolutely NOBODY in line to check in. I asked the staff if this happened a lot and they said its like clock work. So go to the park or do something downtown until around 3-4 and check in then. The parking lot was mayhem at 1:30 also. Save yourself some headache.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fooofighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I had already made my reservations and had read that they do not give refunds before I read these reviews. I was very worried. But, we stayed at the Hotel Rome, arrived at 10:30a.m. and checked in within 20 minutes. They gave us our wrist bands and said go ahead and use the park and we will text you when the room is ready. I asked the clerk when he thought that would be. He said I can't promise you but, maybe by one o'clock. Well, we got our text at 11:30a.m. and my husband went ahead and moved our luggage in. The room was spacious and clean. We had a great stay here. I am not sure where everyone else stayed that had such a bad experience but, I would never say it was a "dump". I will say it is pretty expensive though, especially Hotel Rome, but everything was pretty expensive in the Dells. But overall great stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank big4ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed one night at the Mt. Olympus resort. If you are not staying at Hotel Rome know that you will be staying in very strange, old, and weird feeling motels scattered around Wisconsin Dells. Most of the hotels are painted white and blue, there is no front desk, and they feel like they have been deserted for one hundred years...yet people are there. Kind of creepy!!! The Amusement park was fun and so was the water park but very crowded..and kind of a rough crowd. As a tip we did spend two nights at the Wilderness Resort and it was wonderful. It was much more family friendly, clean, and the parks were awesome. We loved the resort and would go back again...we can't say the same for Mt. Olympus. Though we had fun at Mt. Olympus I wouldn't recommend it to friends...it is just "off". We also spend a day at Noah's Ark and it is awesome and a must...if we would have had to skip one thing on our trip it would have been our stay at Mt. Olympus.

Room Tip: These rooms are scattered everywhere in old...abandoned hotels that have been painted white and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aggiehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#31 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.1 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#32 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Olympus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Olympus Resort

Property: Mt. Olympus Resort
Address: 1701 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8798
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. Olympus Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt. Olympus Resort provides our guests with both Indoor and Outdoor Water & Theme Park fun! All 1300 Mt. Olympus Resort rooms are spread over the famous Wisconsin Dells Strip, surrounding Mt. Olympus Water & Theme Park. Free skiing, tubing, snowboarding and Golf passes (depending on season) are included with stay, Free wi-fi access available, 44 Indoor and Outdoor Water Slides, 4 Interactive Children's water play areas, 7 Outdoor Go-Kart Tracks, 5 Outdoor Roller Coasters, 1 Surf pool, creating 9ft waves! 1 Wave pool and a giant water fortress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Mt. Olympus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rome - At Mt. Olympus Water And Theme Park
Wisconsin Dells Treasure Island
Treasure Island Wisconsin Dells
Treasure Island Water Park Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing