We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be prepared to do a LOT of walking”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mt. Olympus Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mt. Olympus Resort
Ranked #64 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Grimes, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Be prepared to do a LOT of walking”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Rooms were nice but hallways were noisy due to spoiled children and oblivious adults. We did like the microwave and refrig which helped keep the cost down. If your room is in anything but the main building, you are paying too much for this resort. Parking for the theme parks and water parks are so far removed that you walk and walk and walk and walk just to get to the outdoor waterpark. Surely, hotel management could arrange for a shuttle to pick up the guests staying at the outer buildings and drop at the different parks. When we arrived at Building 10, there was no one there to assist you in finding your room, room numbering was very confusing. They had laundry facilities on site but no laundry soap dispenser. Entering and leaving the building onto Wisconsin Dells Parkways was a test of courage and patience. Most of the times, we made a right turn, went up to a light and turned around. The indoor water park was very disappointing. Nothing but water slides and things for toddlers. Housemaid service was below average. Sink area never did get supplied with hand towels or wash cloths. There was a wrapper that laid on the floor for 3 days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    269
    353
    342
    547
See reviews for
1,175
108
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leland, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

First let me start with the fact that we had been regular guest of the Copa Cabana for many years, and when we learned that it had been purchased by Mt. Olympus, we were not to concerned, but we were dead wrong. First you have to check in at Mt. Olympus. We arrived at 11:30 and waited in line until 12:10 before we could register. Then we were told that rooms were not available until around 4:00 but we could have them send us a text if it was any earlier. We took our time, going to lunch and walking around the outdoor theme park, and around 3:00 I decided to call and double check if the room was ready. A very iritated clerk answered the phone and announced that rooms are not available until the earliest of 4:00 but she would check. Oooops, our room had been ready at 12:30. After getting misdirections to our room (we were told we were the main building, in fact we were at the building arcoss the overpass, and then there is no direction from anyone as far as what floor, which side or anything telling you where your room is. When we arrived at our room, which was fairly large, we noticed: the deadbolt was broken, the microwave was dirty, the smoke alarm was not connected. Thank goodness I had brought extra blankets, for the only thing on the beds was a sheet and a blanket, not even a bedspread. My daughter took and quick shower only to discover that the previous guest and written an obscenty on the mirror so obviously the mirror had not been cleaned!
The overpass, which connects you to the main hotel is now locked and deadbolted. The outdoor pool area is now nonexistant, and is just a grassy lawn. We drove to the main builiding, and the front door is locked, and black paper is over entrance so that you cannot see what has happened to the indoor pool area. I was told that the inside pool is also filled in. We experienced a rainstorm that evening and it would have been nice to walk downstairs and into the tunnel that used to connect the restaurant next door, but that has been locked up as well. What a shame, what had once been a nice, middle size, family friendly hotel is now wrecked. If you are comfortable having to drive 2 miles to swim, and don't mind feeling isolated, then this is the place to stay. I myself will be looking for one of the smaller hotels, where I can enjoy a little of the quiet, and not so much the crowds. What a shame, I really hope this is the last purchase Mt. Olympus makes. Shame, shame, shame

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank middaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wisconsin Dells hotels

Woodbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My kids said the hotel hallway reminded them of the movie "The Shining". The water parks are pretty nice and very clean. My only disappointment is how ridiculously overpriced the food and drinks are within the park. I realize they are in business to make money but charging $24.99 for a small pizza is just being greedy. A bottle of water or soda will cost you $2.50. I suggest bringing drinks and snacks with you if you plan to vacation here with your kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

6 of us stayed for 6 days at the Mt Olympus resort. We had a two 13 year olds, 10 and 7. We have stayed at other Kalahari and Wilderness resorts before so we wanted to try something different.

The good news?
-There was enough room with the 2 full beds and the bunk beds for us to sleep comfortably.
-The room had a microwave and a large size beer fridge so we could go to the store and buy food and/or bring leftovers back. That was a big plus to be able to save money and have breakfast and lunch in the room.
-When we asked the front desk for more towels and/or shampoo, they were responsive in bringing us things. (Which was good because the one shampoo provided doesn't cut it at a water park with 6 people.)
-The water park and amusement park entrance was included in the room cost. (This is partially good. The kids liked the amusement park, but Noah's Ark was a much better water park--we bought season passes for it and were very happy with that decision. The kids liked it much better.)


The pitfalls: Here's your BIG tip: plan to arrive late and check in at night. During the day, the line is always excessive (not enough staff) and the waits were about an hour to check in.
-There is no safe in the room.
-The noise from the hallways is excessive early in the morning and at night. There appears to be no noise protocol in the hotel for guests to follow so guests can sleep; nor do they enforce any quiet hours like many other hotels. The noise was generated equally by young kids (with parents that didn't stop their cacophony) and young adults partying.
-There is no restaurant in the hotel. You have to go into the water park for food. There is a counter to buy coffee, yogurt, fruit and little cereals, but nothing else. You can't get a full breakfast or lunch.
-There is a laundry facility, but while we were there none of the dryers were working, and they didn't seem to be making an effort to fix them.
-You need to bring your own 'beach towels.'

The water park: The water park seem geared toward an older or much younger crowd than our group.
-Poseidon's Rage had the entire deep end roped off and you are not allowed to body surf. What's the point? You're forced into the shallow end where the force of the wave is still quite strong so you get knocked over and/or into another guest, and scrape yourself on the bottom of the pool. And they had a DJ playing music LOUD and getting people to dance in front of the DJ stand. It wasn't appropriate for my kids, and that wave pool wasn't fun for us.
-We did like the slides.
-The smaller wave pool's waves were at the other end of the spectrum: much too small/weak. -The kids did like the roller coasters.
-It was also disappointing that guests of Mt Olympus didn't get 'special hours' to use the park (there was no hour to 1/2 hour before or 1/2 hour after for guests alone.)
-Getting into the park at opening (10am) allowed us to "ride" the slides without an excessive wait.
-Food in the park is crazy expensive: 2 sodas and 2 cocktails were $29.11.
-We brought our beach towels into the park only the first day. Staying at Mt Olympus it was just easier to drip dry on the walk back than lug the towels. (For Noah's Ark, we just left the towels in the car to sit on to drive back.)
-Another tip: the first day we hiked uphill to the entrance to the Mt Olympus water park (big pain) before we figured out we could enter the park thru the indoor water park (better plan.)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vballfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

What a terrible place to stay. The rooms look nice in the pictures but they are run down and old. The floor was sticky. Noise from the rooms above and 5 calls to the front desk starting at 11:30 at night until 2:00 AM when I walked down to the desk and got the manager to reluctantly come out of the back office and address the problem. No restaurant on site. The food is in the water park and that gets closed up. No parking, The water park was mobbed.....literally thousands of people....lines were up to an hour long. The lazy river was so full of people with tubes you couldn't see the water. Few guests at the hotel though but they sell cheap tickets to the water park so even though I paid $400 for the room I don't get any preference on getting the rides before people who walk up and pay their $20. If you are going to the Dells, stay at the Holiday Inn Express or some other nice place and go to Mt. Olympus and get a water park ticket. DON'T STAY ON SITE!!!

Room Tip: Stay off site buy walk up tickets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeverlyBray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Filthy rooms, overly priced, cockroaches in the room, holes in the walls and bathroom door, rude customer help, took over an hour to check in, no wifi and poor television signal and very few channels

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

nice rooms, pool under contruction, nice rooms clean, includes 2 days for family in water and theme parks A+++

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iowamom37900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#31 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
464 reviews
0.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
609 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
818 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#32 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
211 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Olympus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Olympus Resort

Property: Mt. Olympus Resort
Address: 1701 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. Olympus Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt. Olympus Resort provides our guests with both Indoor and Outdoor Water & Theme Park fun! All 1300 Mt. Olympus Resort rooms are spread over the famous Wisconsin Dells Strip, surrounding Mt. Olympus Water & Theme Park. Free skiing, tubing, snowboarding and Golf passes (depending on season) are included with stay, Free wi-fi access available, 44 Indoor and Outdoor Water Slides, 4 Interactive Children's water play areas, 7 Outdoor Go-Kart Tracks, 1 Indoor Go-Kart Track, 5 Outdoor Roller Coasters, 1 Surf pool, creating 9ft waves! 1 Wave pool and a giant water fortress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Mt. Olympus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rome - At Mt. Olympus Water And Theme Park
Wisconsin Dells Treasure Island
Treasure Island Wisconsin Dells
Treasure Island Water Park Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing