We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best and most relaxful place to be!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed in the Desert rooms. Checkin was a breeze. Staff is great. The spa is very clean and relaxful. We took the shuttle to see the water show. We even upgraded to have reserved seats. Easier back and forth.The outdoor pool has a seating area for adults who just want to cool off. Food is great and reasonable. Free wine tasting is an added touch.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leisureone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,447 - 2,453 of 2,909 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2010

We are a family of six (2 adults, 2-college kids, 1-high school and a 9 year old). Our money was limited, summer was running out and I was afraid that we would not have time for a family vacation. I spent 4 hours of work time for 2 consecutive days trying to find a place that would accomodate us and be fun for everyone. Kalahari did it all!! I used the on-line booking system and called to confirm. The reservationists, front desk staff, housekeeping and wait staff were all GREAT! This is not a marketing campaign. They are looking for tips and smioling because they have nothing better to do. This place is busy and they treat you with all dignity and excellent customer service. It is so genuine. We stayed in a 2-bedroom condo which was perfectly clean and worth every penny. Looked just like the hotel photos and the previous guests on trip advisor were all telling the truth.

I am super-picky and love 5-star hotels when I can afford them, but this place is incredible. My family loved the following: Indoor theme park, Go Carts, baby tigers, rock/wall climbing, bowling, wave pool, pool table, lots of clean bathrooms, bakery, the breakfast & dinner buffets were absolutely awesome. This is not your typical deep fried, boiled, steamed frozed vegetable buffet. This is quality seasoned and properly prepared food with an awesome presentation every single day. Creme brulee' anyone? If you don't want to spend the money, use the coupons for the discount or take advantage of the free wine tasting; there are at least 10 different fast food places right outside of the resort.

There is so much to do and even if it rains, you won't care because there is a skywalk that connects all of the buildings. They even have a movie theatre.

The three things that I didn't like: 1) Pillows were too small 2) Blankets were too short
3) We couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Propevanfirstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We visited Kalahari the first week of August, and did not book our room until the week before directly with the resort. Husband, wife, 11 yr old son, 13 yr old daughter and her girlfriend (5 people total). We booked a 'Lodge' room, which was located in the 'Sands' part of the hotel complex. We arrived at the resort at noon and were allowed access to all the parks upon checking in. Though our room wasn't ready until 230pm, we were all enjoying the pools and theme parks immediately. Very nice, clean and large room, with a king sized bed in a separate room, full kitchen with full stove, full fridge, coffee maker, toaster, pots/pans, kitchenware, 2 TVs, fold out queen couch with two comfy chairs and a rollaway bed. We had a balcony and our A/C was nice and cold considering the very warm temperatures this week. Though our bed seemed hard at first, we both slept like babies and actually found it quite comfortable. We had plenty of towels, and housekeeping available every day. Yes, you may hear your neighbors above you or perhaps some kids running down the halls but nothing a couple of ear plugs can't cure, and nothing even remotely bothersome at night.

The room was a bit of a distance from the main part of the resort, but not so far away as you might find with Disney and such. We never used a shuttle getting back and forth to the outdoor/indoor pool and theme park, but noticed them always available for others. The walk was maybe 10 minutes, depending on how sore my husband and I were from the water rides. We thoroughly enjoyed every water ride, and haven't laughed and screamed so hard in a long time. Kids again. The outdoor water park shut down at dusk, the indoor water park at 10pm, and the indoor theme park until midnight. Bowling was also available until 2am with approximately 26 full sized lanes, bar and seating overlooking the theme park, which had mini-golf, go-kart tracks, rock-climbing wall, arcade, video games, Ferris wheel and much more. Kid fun... grown-up fun.

Every encounter with an employee was nothing short of nice, and we found them all to be very helpful and courteous. Before booking this trip we had narrowed our choices to Kalahari, Chula Vista, Mt. Olympus, Wilderness and Great Wolf, and after having such a great experience at Kalahari will absolutely return again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2bad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

This was our third time staying at the Kalahari. We made a mistake and booked a room at Mt. Olympus and after one night of that sleezy hotel we got online and booked the rest of our stay at the Kalahari.

The front desk staff was very helpful and answered all of our questions and got us into our room in a very prompt manner. With our stay they gave us free tickets to the Tommy Bartlett show which was very fun for our kids.

We had eaten at Kahunaville previosly so we had dinner there one night and as always the food was very good and the waiter was great. They even had a flare show which was fun to watch.

Both the indoor and outdoor waterparks were great.

Again don't make the mistake we made and go to the Mt. Olympus hotel first come and stay at a great place! The Kalahari.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chug1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

It was outstanding!!! I have two teenagers and they had a blast!!! They didn't want to leave the resort. You never run out of stuff to do like: the indoor/outdoor water parks, the arcade, go carts, bowling, rock wall climb, movie theatre, workout center...... The food was excellent! This time of year the rooms were 1/2 off so we even got a great deal! We drove 13 hours and it was worth the trip.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terrineal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We have been trying out the Waterparks in the Wisconsin Dells for the last few years. my kids love to play in the water. We had stayed here the previous year but in September and it was too cold to try the outside park. So we went back this year in the Summer. Kalahari is a great vacation resort for families. I have had no problems both time we stayed here. The waterpark is great for kids of all ages. Checking in and out is fast and simple. Even with lines they move fast and are friendly and courteous. There is so much to do in the waterpark you can find a spot and just have the kids play all day. I've been lucky I haven't had a noisy hallway on both stays. Once in a room and once in a condo, both stays it was quiet by our room. Housekeeping is on top of things, we never had any requests that was denied. The restaurants are very good, can be a little pricey, but it's expected as it's a waterpark resort. The servers are friendly and very proficient. Our first stay there our server helped out with our choosing of how we wanted to eat. We had a package chosen where our dinner was included, but she gave us a choice of picking off of special menu or just paying a little extra and eating the buffet. This trip we tried Damon's steak and Ribs. the food was very good and our server was very good. We also tried a pizza from the area by the waterpark. Amazingly enough the pizza was very good. You don't expect a good pizza from a fast food, line serving type restaurant, but I have to admit the pizza was pretty good. We are going back next summer for a family reunion at the hotel. If anything changes I will write another review. But I would recommend Kalahari to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JUSTINTIMETWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

I LOVE this hotel! Its amazing! The service is EXCELLENT, and the scenery is gorgeous. The on site indoor/outdoor waterparks are convienient as well!

Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
1  Thank MunchyMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
719 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin De...
#27 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
505 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#3 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#28 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
963 reviews
2.4 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#24 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
318 reviews
4.1 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#59 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 1305 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#12 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: $145 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 750
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Kalahari Resorts & Conventions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Resort Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Hotel Wi Dells
Kalahari Wi Dells
Kalahari Waterpark Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing