We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad way to spend a Friday night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not a bad way to spend a Friday night”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

It's winter and we are all going a bit stir crazy! Friends and I wanted to do something fun for the night so we booked rooms at the Kalahari for a Friday night hoping most kids would be in bed early and give us time to enjoy the water park. (We are various ages but all over 21) We had a great time! Kids were generally leaving when we went down, around 6 p.m. and we didn't have to wait in any extensive lines. The slides were fun and the swim up bar with the attached indoor/outdoor hot tub was great. BTW drinks are ridiculously expensive but mighty potent. Various room sizes were booked. Mine was a Lodge Suite (king bed with a kitchen) and was well done. Walls are a bit thin but not bad. Overall, a great way to spend a Friday night.

Room Tip: The Lodge room was great, friends stayed in the room without a balcony and I would not recommend tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarvis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
That sounds like an amazing Friday night! Thank you so much for choosing to spend it with us. I would 100% agree with you; The Mud Hut Indoor/Outdoor Whirlpool swim-up bar is the way to go for escaping the cold. Glad to hear you loved that addition as much as us. Thank you again for visiting us. Take care and hope to see everyone again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,367
    778
    302
    189
    165
See reviews for
1,848
137
10
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Lookout, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The room was nice, beds were pretty good and the resort was fabulous! There was so much to do for my son who is Five years old with the indoor theme park all perfectly acceptable for his age group and the water park with the variety of rides for any age. Last year we stayed at the Great Wolf Lodge which was equally as good except more suited for five and under. We purchased the family special which included breakfast for entire stay, theme park passes for the entire stay, water park passes and two dinners made it very affordable. If attractions are purchased separately outside of the family package It would've been much more pricey. We will definitely take another trip here next year! Canadian mid week march break also a perfect time to go because it's not busy at all!

Room Tip: Trying get a package deal is the best value for your money! It makes coming to this resort extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you so much for spending your Spring Break with us! Great to hear your 5 year old loved everything and was able to play in the Indoor Theme Park too! We just added a few attractions, so that is great you got to try those out! We are so excited to see you next year too! Thank you again for visiting us and your time. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have enjoyed Kalahari more and more as our kids have grown up. Not only are the pools/watermarks entertaining and well -worth a whole day or two, but there is so much more to do. Our college age and high school age kids loved being able to swim AND play mini golf in the same place, and love having a movie theater next door. The hotel rooms and lobby carry out the African theme well, making the whole experience reminiscent of a Disney vacation. We have tried several room types and liked all.

Room Tip: The rooms farther from the watermarks are nice and quiet, and the walk is not a big deal for older k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Simply an amazing compliment to be compared to Disney. Thank you so much for sharing! I just wanted to be sure to send you a note, thank you for not only your time to review our resort, but also continuing to visit us year after year! Always our pleasure. We are looking forward to seeing the whole family again soon! Take care and thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our second year in a row at Kalahari and we'll be back again! We had a two bedroom suite - great for four adults and a toddler. Loved having a living room area we could hang out in after our son went to sleep. The rooms were large, comfortable, and clean.
The waterpark was a ton of fun for all of us. I also enjoyed my spa visits.
Only issue was that there were lots of teenagers unsupervised around. I'm guessing that they were the reason our 'do not disturb' sign went missing twice and our door handle was coated in shampoo.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewKidInTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Certainly our pleasure to have you continuously and can't thank you enough for taking the time to review us. Aside from the unsupervised teens, it sounds as if you had a wonderful stay. That is so great and we appreciate you sharing! If you ever have any issues in the future, don't hesitate to let our team know. We have a full security team on staff and many cameras, so we are more than happy to help assist in perfecting your stay. Excited to see you next year! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a great time (adult and 4 teens) over 2 days. The attached theme park is a great addition, which helped balance the water park giving them the chance to do a lot of activities and not get bored. There was a rock climbing wall, mini golf, laser tag, high rope course which kept their attention while having fun. Buffet breakfast great options if you're a meat eater - but def not worth it if you're more health conscious. We had only one disconcerting event- after checking in the first evening (I was in pj's), 2 guys from housekeeping were opening the door (9:30 pm) then when I approached them, they said they were checking that we has everything. I reported it the next morning and the head room care guy came and said they'll check the surveillance tapes - I felt he was being dismissive, saying "we take security very serious here." That was the last I heard of it. The 2 room suite was great overall. I would go again, but would bring food my own food and eat in the room (there's a fridge and microwave).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank notpicky07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Best place to visit in winter. Make sure you ask for coupons for all the facilities inside specially Arcade games area. Bring your own food as the inside food is very expensive. They have microwave in each room.

Water park is one of the best in the world. So make sure you have minimum two to three days to enjoy.

Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Stay in the main building else there is a long walk to all the activities
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for all of your tips! It is certainly our pleasure to have you! We do have at least a mini-fridge and microwave in all of our rooms, and some even with a full kitchen! Great tips to our future guests. We also have many packages where the dining is included. That might be an option for the future too! Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have been to the Dells several times, we try to stay at a different resort each time we go, especially during the winter months.
It was a wonderful resort with lots to do for everyone.
My only snafu was; I had full paid for our stay in advance then upon check in my debit card was again charged near the full amount!! I flipped out. David, the MOD at the time was very helpful in taking care of this and my trip was salvaged

Room Tip: WE stayed in a Royal African Suite, there was more than enough room for the 7 of us, plus my infant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisconny_woman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
630 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
866 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#55 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
613 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#17 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
924 reviews
0.6 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#11 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Property: Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Address: 1305 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#12 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 750
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Kalahari Resorts & Conventions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Resort Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Hotel Wi Dells
Kalahari Wi Dells
Kalahari Waterpark Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing