We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms and Waterpark”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our room in the "Sands" building was very nice, large and clean. Despite being filled with families and hundreds of Cheerleaders, for a competion that was being held in the Convention Center, the rooms were quiet. The Waterpark is "above average" and they have a large arcade with all the latest games and attractions. The only place they fall short is the service in the restaurant, food court and bar in the waterpark. Service in these areas is slow, They just don't seem to be staffed at an appropriate level and/or organized to handle the volume of people that they have to serve. Food / Drinks are good, just make sure you plan plenty of time to get served.

Room Tip: Rooms in the "Sands" Building are very nice and connected to waterpark with an enclosed wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,974 - 1,980 of 2,909 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

we checked in no problems room is big but bathroom was very small doing repairs in other rooms and they started pounding at 7:00 am the children had fun the hallways were chilly also we left a blanket and pillow in the room and have called three times and only get a recording no one has called us back rooms are clean but for the price it should have been great very mixed feelings about this hotel we were there janurary 22-24,2013

Room Tip: all the rooms on the floor i was on looked the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rxtlfm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for paying us a visit! I wanted to reach out to you and see if you were successful of getting a hold of lost and found? If not, please don't hesitate to email me at KRizzo@KalahariResorts.com. Thank you so much and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have been going to the dells waterpark hotels for almost 10 years now. We being a group of 7 to as many as 14. This was our first time at the kalahari resort. Our stay was in mid january of 2013 for one weekday night , in a combination suit. compared to other dells parks, kalahari was better than great wolf and mt olimpus.but not as good as the wilderness.

The hotel is located right off highway 94 (you can see it from the road) Check in was easy enough even had a choice of floors for our room. You are given wrist bands for everyone in your group and a map of the hotel and property. Having a large group 7 this time around, We always choose a suit with a kitchen to help save money. For this place the best option IMO was the combination suit in the sands building. this is one regular room conected to a 2 room suit, Kitchen,Lr,master bed room and full bath. This will accomidate up to 8. The rooms had plenty of space and was well equiped with everything you need stove, fridge,silverwhere,dishwasher,microwave,and plates,pots,and pans. The only thing i did not like about it was the way it was laid out. The main door to enter is through the master bedroom, than into the living room/ kitchen. So everyone is going through it to get to the rest of the suit. it does have additional french doors for privicy but not sound proof. ( this was only a mild problem)

The rest of the room was functional in every way. 2 full baths gave us enough for all to use.kitchen had breakfast table and stool chairs around countertop providing a spot for everyone to eat. closet space was good Even had a safe (we did not use).

Going to the waterpark from the room can be a long walk.(be prepared) You will have to go through the catwalk (on the second floor) across the street to the first of two buildings, than continue through the main lobby to the locker room doors and into the park. You can no longer access the park on the second floor anymore. At least your walk will be all indoors.

The water park----- There is only one indoor water park here compaired to the wilderness 4. However this is larger than any of the others in the area. They have much to do here Body slides,tube rides,lazy river,hot tubs (one inside and outside), a mild wave pool,and some rides you will only find here in the dells, like the master blaster ( a water roller coaster raft ride), The boogie board (think indoor surfing), There are also 3 drop slides (where you free fall) You stand in a capsule and the floor drops you streight down 4 stories high. There is a milder one up there that goes at a curve.
There is plenty of tables to put your stuff on. if your having trouble try the second story loft above the locker room. There were always plenty of towels to use There is nearby restaurants,restrooms,and a swim area bar.

The bad stuff----- Money, Money, and more money. The kalahari more so than any of the other parks in the dells area, Nickles and dimes you to death.On top of already being the most expensive place to stay Water park wise. It will cost you at least 40 dollars more to stay here than any of the other hotel/water parks. and that is just the regular room. If you stay in a suit like we did it was 87.50 more than a comparable room if not worse than one at the wilderness hotel.
Everything other than the water park will cost you extra.In some cases a lot extra. They dont even want you taking pictures of the wild animals in the glass cage. (you can buy one at the gift shop) I know wherever you go arcade games, go cart rides, or movies will cost you extra thats not my problem. It is just kalahari does not offer anything extra for free like a kids dry play area or offer any reasonable discounts on there attractions.
Our stay for one night at kalahari for 7 people, 3 adults and 4 kids cost around 500 dollars. this price includes food and drinks we brought from home and the car fuel to and back. I should also point out that price was the lowest (off season and mid week) kalahari has to offer.

The good----- The room was nice and we did enjoy our stay. We liked the rides in the park and the family had a good time wile we were there.We would also like to return some day to revisit.

The overall -------If you have never been here, this is a nice place to play. As long as you budget your spending and can afford it. If you are looking for a better deal go to the wilderness you can get twice as much for your dollar. We would like to come back but not for wile were going to the wilderness next year.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mountiamsandcanyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

We certainly appreciate you giving us a try! Thank you so much for you and and the rest of your group visiting, then taking the time to review our resort. Because everything is under one roof, it can be a little haul from the Sands Building to the waterpark. Reading through your review, it sounds like a package that includes all the extras, would be something that would be beneficial to your group. We got 'em! We list all of our specials on our site, from Indoor Theme Park passes to dining credits, to Arcade credits. That might be of interest to you for next time. I wanted to be sure to thank you again for coming to visit and your thoughts. I do hope we can see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had planty of fun! My boys ages 5 and 6 really had a good time, and I did as well. My children are great swimmers. The mixed rating comes from the things that matter to me, but my kids are oblivious to, mostly.
GREAT:
-the rides for the 42-46 inch kids are plenty and fun
-kids area was terrific
-air temp is warm
-able to check in at 2pm
-room had a good sized mini fridge and microwave
-great sweets shop!
NEEDS TO IMPROVE:
-water temp seemed to flucuate from really cold to kind cold in the wave pool and lazy river
-changing room completely outdated, push-button showers with no temperature control, no privacy. Very difficult for a single mom of two boys.
-no lounge chairs for the "regular folk", you have to rent a cabana if you want to stretch out, otherwise improvise with the chairs
-standard rooms OK, thin blankets, nothing great, nothing horrible

In general we had a nice time. I always expect a 2-3 fold mark up on food and activities at places like this. The price was what I expected. Activites were on the high end. We brought a lot of our own snacks, as we usually do on trips. We will try somewhere else for our next trip to compare, but I believe we would come back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank percurrimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you to you and your two boys for visiting! Certainly our pleasure to have everyone! I can understand that the locker rooms was probably not easy. I appreciate your thoughts on that and other need improvements to the locker rooms. I will pass that along to our development team. The air temperature can fluctuate, when the weather outside dramatically shifts. We try and keep the part at a cozy 86 degrees. I will let our waterpark manager know your thoughts on the temperature. Again, I wanted to be sure to let you know how much appreciate everyone coming to visit. We are very much looking forward to seeing you again soon! Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My family stayed at the Kalahari during a cool summer. We didn't use the outdoor facilities much because of the weather, but that didn't bother us! We had a 50+ woman, my husband & I (30's), two 13 year olds, a 3 year old, and a 6 month old. Everyone had a blast! It was so nice to have everything right there, so the baby could nap while everyone else (except mom!) played! The food was good (breakfast buffet was AMAZING, but pricey). I HIGHLY recommend the espresso ice cream at the sweet shop in the lobby. Delicious!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainbeaux78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our third trip to this kalahari location. There is much to do in the resort you really never need to leave. The water park is huge, the indoors amsument park has so much to do, plus all the restaurants and snack places. You can get a package deal that includes most of this stuff for your intire stay so you have little cost in the end. They have friendly staff and keep the place clean. They even have a family wing that you can stay in with huge rooms. We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aghezzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our family stayed here for 1 night while returning to MN from Chicago. Upon checking in, we were upgraded to a suite. The room was terrific, clean, spacious. Much more tha we expected. The entire facility was very clean. The staff was extermely courteous and accomodating. We dined on premises for all of our meals and were please with the prices and the quality of food. From now on, the Kalahari will be the only place we stay when stopping in the Dells!

Room Tip: If you have kids, its worth the extra money to get a suite. Total separation between the bedrooms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
718 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin De...
#27 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
505 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#3 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#28 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
963 reviews
2.4 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#24 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
318 reviews
4.1 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#59 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 1305 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#12 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: $145 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 750
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Kalahari Resorts & Conventions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Resort Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Hotel Wi Dells
Kalahari Wi Dells
Kalahari Waterpark Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing