We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great waterpark, average hotel room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Ranked #10 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great waterpark, average hotel room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed at the Kalahari for a night after a Christmas party.The room was clean, but very average for the price. Two queen beds, refrigerator, microwave, average sized bathroom. The room was dark and the view from the window was the outside wall of the waterpark. There are plenty of activities within the resort including the waterpark, indoor amusement park, shops, places to eat, and a coffee shop. There is also a large movie theatre on site.
We had a bit of a tough time sleeping as there were lots of kids running and screaming through the hallway into the wee hours of the morning.
If you are looking for somewhere to take your kids for a weekend in the winter to enjoy a waterpark, this is the place for you(a little expensive). If you are looking for rest and relaxation, try the Sundara Spa resort at the Wilderness.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbytraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Thank you for choosing to spend the night with us after your Christmas party being held at the Kalahari Resorts and taking the time to review our Resort. Glad to here you were able to find all the activities we offer. There is so much to do, it's just a matter of choosing which activity. We have lots of room styles available to choose from, so if you visit again, maybe you will be able to try out another style.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us, we look forward to having you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    706
    278
    181
    153
See reviews for
1,678
126
9
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I visited the Kalahari resort this last weekend wit hmy wife, siblings, and parents to celebrate christmas. Overall, it was a great experience as the room was large and there was no noise from other rooms. It is a large facility and I had been here once before for a bachelor/bachelorette party 3 years ago and it was a great experience.

The ony complaints i have are that one of the hallways smelt wretched on the third floor and the charge to take a picture with the baby tigers was a high amount. However, i recognize the cost to care for these animals is high, so that is acceptable. I just wouldn't pay that much to take a picture with one of those animals.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for the sands roms, as they have full kitchens in some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darick04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

WOW! Had an excellent time!!! Went with the Hubby and two kids (7 &13)! The kids were surfer dudes on the flow rider-eventhough we are from Michigan!! Bought the family getaway package which was well worth it!! The breakfast buffet was AMAZING!! YUMMY blueberry scones and eggs benedict!! So, don't listen to the haters! It was amazing-there even was a cheer leading competition at the hotel-and it still wasn't too crowded!
Blessings!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine-Sturm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Went here with my GF. Got a good package deal, this is the best way to go. Lots of things to do in the Dells. We are in are 20s and found enough to keep us busy for 4-5 days. Loved going to the indoor ropes course at the Kalahari.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodsman4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, IA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Accommodations: I stayed in Room 2419 (2 queens + a long sofa; also a microwave and small refrigerator). It was VERY spacious but also was dark. It could have used brighter lights. Other than that, no complaints. Internet access was consistently solid.

Meals: My prime rib at Damon's was very good. I also bought a slice of carrot cake from the bakery in the lobby. It was 90% icing and 10% carrot cake. Stay away from this one (but kids will like it)...

Other: It's a great family getaway. You gotta love a hotel that has its own Ferris Wheel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank techleadprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Manager at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort. It sounds as if you enjoyed your stay and were able to combine business with pleasure! Your carrot cake review brought a smile to our Executive Pastry Chef because his carrot cake is one of the items most in demand. Is there really such a thing as too much frosting? We feel privileged to have hosted your group and look forward to your return in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
352 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

I traveled alone to the Kalahari Resort for a seminar in October and it was very good. The place is huge, the food is good, and the staff is wonderful. I had to attend a conference, for my company, and I loved the Kalahari. The logistics of meals and such was outstanding. The staff that puts things together must be top rate. We had great meals, great snacks, and everything was delivered on time. I am not much of one for staying at casinos but this place made me think twice. I would certainly go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonandLisaFromUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

I was exhibiting at a Tradeshow here and decided to bring my daughter and 3 year old granddaughter with because of the watermark features. As it turns out, my granddaughter didn't particularly enjoy the water. The surprise was all of the other activities Kalahari had to offer. They spent everyday busy with crafts and pottery and loved their time there.

The staff was wonderful and really made them feel welcome. Thank You All!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#5 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 877 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
4.2 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#56 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#23 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#36 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#9 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Property: Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Address: 1305 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#12 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 750
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon and Hotwire so you can book your Kalahari Resorts & Conventions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Resort Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Hotel Wi Dells
Kalahari Wi Dells
Kalahari Waterpark Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing