We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great waterpark, average hotel room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Ranked #5 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great waterpark, average hotel room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed at the Kalahari for a night after a Christmas party.The room was clean, but very average for the price. Two queen beds, refrigerator, microwave, average sized bathroom. The room was dark and the view from the window was the outside wall of the waterpark. There are plenty of activities within the resort including the waterpark, indoor amusement park, shops, places to eat, and a coffee shop. There is also a large movie theatre on site.
We had a bit of a tough time sleeping as there were lots of kids running and screaming through the hallway into the wee hours of the morning.
If you are looking for somewhere to take your kids for a weekend in the winter to enjoy a waterpark, this is the place for you(a little expensive). If you are looking for rest and relaxation, try the Sundara Spa resort at the Wilderness.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbytraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Thank you for choosing to spend the night with us after your Christmas party being held at the Kalahari Resorts and taking the time to review our Resort. Glad to here you were able to find all the activities we offer. There is so much to do, it's just a matter of choosing which activity. We have lots of room styles available to choose from, so if you visit again, maybe you will be able to try out another style.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us, we look forward to having you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,337
    757
    294
    184
    160
See reviews for
1,797
134
10
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

WOW! Had an excellent time!!! Went with the Hubby and two kids (7 &13)! The kids were surfer dudes on the flow rider-eventhough we are from Michigan!! Bought the family getaway package which was well worth it!! The breakfast buffet was AMAZING!! YUMMY blueberry scones and eggs benedict!! So, don't listen to the haters! It was amazing-there even was a cheer leading competition at the hotel-and it still wasn't too crowded!
Blessings!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine-Sturm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

Went here with my GF. Got a good package deal, this is the best way to go. Lots of things to do in the Dells. We are in are 20s and found enough to keep us busy for 4-5 days. Loved going to the indoor ropes course at the Kalahari.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodsman4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, IA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

Accommodations: I stayed in Room 2419 (2 queens + a long sofa; also a microwave and small refrigerator). It was VERY spacious but also was dark. It could have used brighter lights. Other than that, no complaints. Internet access was consistently solid.

Meals: My prime rib at Damon's was very good. I also bought a slice of carrot cake from the bakery in the lobby. It was 90% icing and 10% carrot cake. Stay away from this one (but kids will like it)...

Other: It's a great family getaway. You gotta love a hotel that has its own Ferris Wheel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank techleadprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Manager at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort. It sounds as if you enjoyed your stay and were able to combine business with pleasure! Your carrot cake review brought a smile to our Executive Pastry Chef because his carrot cake is one of the items most in demand. Is there really such a thing as too much frosting? We feel privileged to have hosted your group and look forward to your return in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
388 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

I traveled alone to the Kalahari Resort for a seminar in October and it was very good. The place is huge, the food is good, and the staff is wonderful. I had to attend a conference, for my company, and I loved the Kalahari. The logistics of meals and such was outstanding. The staff that puts things together must be top rate. We had great meals, great snacks, and everything was delivered on time. I am not much of one for staying at casinos but this place made me think twice. I would certainly go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonandLisaFromUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

I was exhibiting at a Tradeshow here and decided to bring my daughter and 3 year old granddaughter with because of the watermark features. As it turns out, my granddaughter didn't particularly enjoy the water. The surprise was all of the other activities Kalahari had to offer. They spent everyday busy with crafts and pottery and loved their time there.

The staff was wonderful and really made them feel welcome. Thank You All!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

Although the Kalahari is primarily a family destination I stay here a couple of times a year on business because of the cleanliness and resort atmosphere. It is always pleasant without disappointment. The resort is spread out over a large area, but even in bad weather you can stay inside to go to the convention center, restaurants, water park, theatre and rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taxspeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#55 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#21 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
2.8 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#31 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Property: Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Address: 1305 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#12 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 750
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Resort Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Hotel Wi Dells
Kalahari Wi Dells
Kalahari Waterpark Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing