We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT Family Friendly Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Ranked #58 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT Family Friendly Resort!”
Reviewed July 28, 2007

Two weeks ago my husband and I decided to take our three sons (3,4,6) to the Dells for a 3 day 2 night summer vacation. Searched the Polynesian's website, consulted trip advisor and decided it was where we wanted to stay. This place was ABSOLUTELY wonderful!! The room was perfect. Ample space for the five of us (we had a king bed with pull out sofa). It had a balcony with an awesome view of the pirate ship ---the boys loved it! We never felt overwhelmed with crowds or rude people. There are several waterparks on the property...all geared towards chidren 0-14. We will definitely stay at the Polynesian again!

  • Liked — Waterparks, rooms, bar service, everything!
  • Disliked — Everything was great!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ratchajaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    150
    105
    111
    156
See reviews for
389
63
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2007

We just returned on July 25 from a 4 night stay, the hotel itself rates at a 5 out of 10, the staff could use a few classes on customer service, and the lifeguards tend to nap. My husband and I took our 11 year old son and he had a great time, the property is small so its easy to keep track of your kids, we drove and checked out the Wilderness which is HUGE and the price for a night was the SAME so check it out before booking at the Polynesian if you are looking for bigger and much nicer hotel, we will come back next year but will stay at the Wilderness instead, just being there looking around the customer service was spectacular. ok I am HUGE on customer service so if your not and want a small but clean place to stay the Polynesian would be fine..

  • Disliked — customer service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Colisemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, IL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

We (myself, DH and DS(8)) in late June. The staff was friendly and efficient. The hotel was clean and LOADED with things to do.
We arrived an hour early and to our surprise, our room was ready. We were pleased at the size and cleanliness. Our only complaint was the hallways were very warm and humid. The rooms were very comfortable, though.
The water parks were perfect for our son. He just loved the slides and the fact there was no waiting in line. The gameroom above the indoor water park has many games to play and in turn, you receive tickets to cash in for toys.
The food is good - not great - but sufficient for those late evenings after many activities in the Dells and everyone's hungry.

  • Liked — The water parks
  • Disliked — The humidity in the hallways
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Diane12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, IA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2007

We stayed at the Polynesian during the peak summertime. The water park was perfect not only for our 1 and 3 year old, but for us as well. The lines at the water park were short and quick and I never felt "crowded". I had read many mixed reviews but for the price we thought it was worth the risk and we are GLAD we booked it.

  • Liked — Water Park
  • Disliked — Couldn't get my kids out of the pools
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SMILE_IOWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

We stayed one night at the Polynesian Isle in a 2 bedroom suite with 2 bathrooms. It was a little pricey but fun time. The Isle was very neat and clean and no problems at all. We had full access to the Polynesian Resort Waterpark across the parking lot. We wanted to stay another day but they were totally booked at both locations. I have teenage children and the waterpark was definitely for small children as others stated, but use of the pool, lazy river and Tiki Bar was great for a day. We also had hot beautiful weather. I will go back there and stay at either location. For those of you with small children this is a great place. There are plenty of things for the younger kids and the ones I saw were having a blast.

  • Liked — Big Rooms
  • Disliked — Needs Updating And A Little Musty Smell In Room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveflorida2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

We just returned from Wisconsin Dells, stayed at the Polynesian Resort from July 1-5th...had a great time and the property is awesome! In looking over the other reviews, some were negative and there was nothing really negative about it at all...staff was very pleasant and helpful...we got checked in quickly, was given our bracelets to wear for the day (everyday is a different color)...that was nice, kind of like a security thing.

The resort is quite huge and by the time we left, I still couldnt find my way around but that is just something that goes along w/ "bigger hotels"...we loved the luxury of everything it offered. There was 7 of us that went (5 were the kids)...we booked adjoining rooms-2nd floor-poolside-which was very very nice! We got to sit out on the deck and watch the kids go swimming. The best part of it was how they wake you up w/music (outdoor waterpark area) at 9am everyday and play it until 9pm (which was when the pool closed). They have areas around for children young and old, alot for everyone!

The waterpark inside was just as fun as the outdoor waterpark. The inside waterpark closed at 10pm...there is also another separate pool by the front desk which closed at 11:30pm, so needless to say, all of us swam until then. You could just spend a "day" at the Polynesian and still have fun! We did enjoy alot of the other attractions at the Dells, but the kids wanted to always come "back to the hotel" to go swimming! So if that doesnt tell you something, I dont know what will.

I have done alot of checking into the other resorts also and will definitely come back to the Polynesian Resort next year, it is close to everything (stores, gas stations, resturants,etc.) and Mt Olympus is only a mile away. The Polynesian Isle is right next door which those travelers are also welcomed into the Resort property for full use of the waterparks.

Once again, I would rate everything high for this hotel....we booked 6months in advance and got the room and price we wanted accordingly to when we went (over a holiday).

  • Liked — everything, waterparks, location
  • Disliked — hot tubs
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sm087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2007

This resort needs a total staff overhaul starting with the General Manager, who I will not name. Let's just say that he is very full of himself, unwilling to effectively communicate and down right rude.

The staff seemed unhappy to be there and I understood where they got their attitudes as I watched the Manager scream at front desk staff in front of guest.

The rooms were clean and the water park is good for little kids, but ever basic service you won't find it here.

If you are looking for a place where the staff is friendly and the management cares, don't look here.

  • Liked — Clean Room
  • Disliked — Rude Staff and General Manager
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoInTheHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wisconsin Dells hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#16 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
936 reviews
5.0 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#19 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#35 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
483 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#26 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
948 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#22 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polynesian Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Resort Hotel

Property: Polynesian Resort Hotel
Address: 857 N. Frontage Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9604
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Polynesian Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Polynesian offers a variety of room styles to choose from - King rooms, Queen Rooms, Two Bedroom Suites, & Luxury Suites - one is sure to accommodate your family's stay in Wisconsin Dells. IMPORTANT INFORMATION: The resort is undergoing improvements during 2015 and select areas will be restricted due to these improvements. We make every effort to offer alternatives but will occasionally be unable to do so. Thank you for your understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Polynesian Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Polynesian Resort Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing