We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One night and I would give it. 2.5” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Polynesian Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Ranked #58 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One night and I would give it. 2.5”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Okay so me and my girlfriends stayed here about 7 years ago. So I decided to come back here after searching for a hotel for a Saturday night stay. Here's the deal most hotels and even motels require 2 might stay when you are staying on the weekend. I only needed and could use one night. Upon calling the Polynesian I was quoted for one night and also the Last room. So I booked it at $200, but others like mt.olympus village were going for more and required 2 nights. I was quoted $145 on up for small mom n pop motels. so I took the last room.

Upon check in I was given coupon books a map and told where my room was. I arrived to a much outdated room which I expected. The room had a musty smell, outside our window was trash behind pretty flowers. We changed went to dinner and came back for bed.

My son told me there was no sheet or blanket under his comforter. I called front desk the said they would send someone to make up the bed correctly. I called back a min later to cancel asy other son had just kicked down the sheets I apologized. A few mins later house keeping was at my door tremble bed. I let them know the mistake and apologized. I Was EXTREMLY impressed at the quick response time though.

After falling asleep I was woken up at 1201am by the flipping alarm. oMG I couldn't shut it up. I ended up unplugging it.

The was rust and stuff but the room was mostly clean. The water park also clean. It was nice not being over crowded or having long lines.


So overall for a night I may or may not return, I'm hoping that they get this place spruced up. Even though the 1980s fridge, microwave and tv didn't totally bother me.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    136
    94
    104
    155
See reviews for
355
51
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Had plans change on us. Jaime at front desk was gracious and fair about cancelation. When circumstances improve we will certainly renew our booking. We are sorry it didn't work out. We so looked forward to staying there.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streamwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We will never ever stay here again! So glad we didn't have our 1 year old with us. The pool's were not clean and water was cold. Our room smelled and there was mold on the bathroom ceiling. For some reason our room keys got dis-activated a day before we were checking out so we had to go down to lobby to get them reactivated. This was supposed to be a romantic get away for our 2nd anniversary and it was terrible.

Room Tip: Wifi didn't work in your room only in lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wisconsin Dells hotels

Madison
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We've been staying at Polynesian every July for the past 4 years. Never again. When we checked in, we were sent to a "Concierge" which was nothing more than a salesperson for the new owners. The resort was just sold to someone who is turning it into time shares, with only a portion staying hotel rooms. I did not appreciate the sales pitch. The pools were clearly not powerwashed at the beginning of the season and further maintanence, if any, was lax. The lifeguards were bottom of the barrel. While they ignored grown men diving into 5 feet of water, horseplay, running, McDonalds food and (against state law) people bringing in their own wine, they were quick to approach my boyfriend who was wearing water shoes and ask him if he was wearing street shoes. Room service forgot part of my dinner, and the gift shop had little to offer for breakfast. The only positives were the cleanliness of the room and the excellent service from the outdoor bartender.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I was very disappointed with this hotel. For the price I would've expected a little more. When my husband was checking in he overheard another guest with the manager and they were trying to tell him that they were told by another staffer that there "were no more towels" in the hotel so they couldn't have any and if they didn't like it they could leave! The manager basically called them a liar, then the young woman checking my husband in told him how wonderful their hotel was and how 85% of the guests come back. She also told him they were just bought for 6 million dollars so a massive reno was going to be done. IT IS NEEDED!! The room had a dirty feeling and the decor was not so pleasant. The pool area was nice but you could tell there needed to be a little aesthetic maintenance. Temps on the water park water...very cold! We were grateful though that it wasn't too busy so there wasn't a lot of people in line for the slides. The indoor pool had a great temp, but it smelled as though it needed to be cleaned. I would not go back to this hotel. I would rather spend less and pay an entry into a hotel like Great Wolf or Kalahari to enjoy their water parks.

Room Tip: No Wifi in rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We were here last summer as well and we didn't really see the down side, it is outdated. But this time we came with a large group n had 2 rooms. Our room a spa room with pool view rm128 was as expected, but the other room rm 137 smelled dirty n like someone had smoked in it, and there was mold on ceiling in bathroom, carpet was soaking wet and all they did was bring in a bunch of towels n lay them on the wet floor. We were given 20% off at checkout. The restaurant has good food n they refilled our polynesian mugs from last year for free again this year. Pool looked more rough than last year..rusty, mildewy, peeling and chipping paint. We had fun, but it's just not a pretty place to stay. The stairs that were badly rusted last year were replaced. Get a makeover polynesian and we may return!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellerRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Nothing but stink and dirt is what we found in our room when we arrived. housekeeping called immediately and "re-cleaned" our room, what a joke! Laundry rooms on all floors were out of order, ice machine by our room did not work and the keys would not open most of the doors. Indoor water park was not opened because of not enough staff. Weather was cold and raining and they still would not open indoor water park but everything was running so it would look good for the poor saps they were trying to sell timeshares too. Complained daily to five people pretending to be supervisors and nothing got taken care of, we stumbled upon a general manager who still did not open the park but gave us free pizza and a discount on our room. Will never stay here again and strongly recommend you find anywhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Polynesian!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
3.5 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#36 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
0.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#18 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#34 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#5 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 843 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#9 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polynesian Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Resort Hotel

Property: Polynesian Resort Hotel
Address: 857 N Frontage Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Polynesian Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Polynesian offers a variety of room styles to choose from - King rooms, Queen Rooms, Two Bedroom Suites, & Luxury Suites - one is sure to accommodate your family's stay in Wisconsin Dells. IMPORTANT INFORMATION: The resort is undergoing improvements during 2015 and select areas will be restricted due to these improvements. We make every effort to offer alternatives but will occasionally be unable to do so. Thank you for your understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Polynesian Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Polynesian Resort Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing