We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with room and management's lack of concern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Ranked #59 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stay at the Polynesian several times each year for low-key waterpark weekend getaways.
Since this hotel only has a small indoor waterpark and a small outdoor park crowds are usually much less than at the bigger resorts. Rooms are a bit dated, but usually decent. This time we had more issues with our room that took away from our enjoyment. The sink water lines were switched so that hot water came out from the right side that was marked cold, and cold trickled out from the left side marked hot. We also were woken up in the middle of the night by the clock radio that had been flashing and never checked by Housekeeping. The lamp over the table was also missing. We reported all of these concerns to the Front Desk, without anything changing. After Housekeeping had cleaned our room, the bed was made but the covers were wrinkled as if someone had laid on it. The next night we had to call Front Desk because guests were having a loud party outside of their rooms right under us. Security broke up the party after our 1 am call. We did enjoy the water park, but the room problems took away from the vacation. Right when we arrived home, the phone rang and the caller said he was from the Polynesian. We thought they might be calling to apologize for the inconveniences, but instead, he was trying to sell us a time share! Hopefully, these issues will be resolved, as this is our favorite "quiet" waterpark spot.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 212.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank figmentfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
There are newer reviews for Polynesian Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 642 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

If you are stuck in the 1980's you'll love this property. The problem is that it fell into foreclosure and no updates have been done for quite a while. But, the good news is that a new group has recently purchased the property and have plans for a major upgrade.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Non_Rev1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

This place is ok and our grandkids did enjoy them selfs. It is certainly old and outdated and in disrepair. Most of the people who work by the pool can't understand English. The room is old outdated and really not to clean. The beds are very uncomfortable. It's set up for very young kids mostly. Not much for thrill seekers. I will be looking for a better place next visit.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Scottysixpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

One night with my husband and two kids the photos were very misleading as to the condition of the park. Crumbling cement, broken areas, dirty water, no towels out for pool use, ants in our room and the staff was not interested in helping the guests. Save your money and go somewhere else like a KOA.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom suite. The wallpapers in the bathroom was peeling, there's a chunk in the carpet that was missing, the cover sheets on the beds were very outdated and the end tables were dusty. The lifeguards spent all their time looking at girls in bikinis and didn't really pay close attention to the kids. No complaints about the bar tending staff and the food. For the price I paid for a 3 night stay, I wish it would've been a better experience. Would've rather spent the money at a best western. It's a nice place.... They just need to renovate the place and fix a few things. Also, the door knob in the bathroom was so loose that it felt like it could fall apart at any moment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlara3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

There were pools open in the morning, but by the afternoon both indoor and outdoor water parks had been closed. The pools we were able to go into in the morning had many bugs floating in them and were dirty with sand. No restaurants or bar areas were open. The rooms are outdated and the bathroom fixtures were rusty. We left after the first night.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandychrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I wouldn't recommend this place to family and friends unless they are willing to spend less for a bare minimum. For us the hotel was everything we needed but no frills of any kind. There is no continental breakfast, just in case your wondering. The room had outdated decor that was in poor shape. The hair dryer only worked for 2 min. The regulator on our heater/AC didn't work, I ended up getting up several times in the night to either shut if off or turn it on, also only had one speed which was HIGH. The water park was ok, the people watching was choice, and the staff were very friendly. Oh and the bartender has a nice poor so, it wasn't as bad once your a bit buzzed. All in all my family was wanted a waterpark hotel and we got one that had everything we needed but nothing more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linz156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
968 reviews
5.0 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#25 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#37 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
484 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#24 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
955 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#23 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polynesian Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Resort Hotel

Address: 857 N. Frontage Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9604
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: $56 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Polynesian Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Polynesian offers a variety of room styles to choose from - King rooms, Queen Rooms, Two Bedroom Suites, & Luxury Suites - one is sure to accommodate your family's stay in Wisconsin Dells. IMPORTANT INFORMATION: The resort is undergoing improvements during 2015 and select areas will be restricted due to these improvements. We make every effort to offer alternatives but will occasionally be unable to do so. Thank you for your understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Polynesian Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Polynesian Resort Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing