We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Ranked #56 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Viroqua, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly and fun”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were looking for a place in Wisconsin Dells to take our 3 year old granddaughter for her birthday. This facility seems older but is well kept. There were friendly staff everywhere, including the housekeeping people in the halls who all were smiling and acknowledged us with hellos. They were all very friendly toward our granddaughter who loves people. The woman we made reservations with was extremely helpful and when she learned the age of our granddaughter booked us in a quieter wing for naps and quiet times. The lifeguards were attentive and also very friendly as were the shop staff. The halls, pool areas, and our room were all very clean and smelled good. We were able to book a room with an actual bedroom door between the bedroom and sitting room so we could make it very dark in there for our granddaughter to sleep while still being able to watch tv in our bedroom. The indoor water park seemed more geared to younger children and as such fit those needs very well. The only complaint we might have is there was no internet of any kind available in the rooms, just the lobby. All in all this was a great choice for us and we are very, very pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: The King Suite room is a good choice and value for sleeping children in one room and adults watching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    149
    104
    109
    155
See reviews for
385
63
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Ok, it was half the price of other water park hotels, but that was only good part. Check in and the gal circles water park next to our room. I'm thinking, "thats nice. They put our room right next to water park". They didn't tell us it was closed. Now our room is furthest from the only indoor pool open. We are the only people there. Kids enjoyed pool with basketball hoops even though there was dirt collected in corners of the floor of the pool. Waited for happy hour to get a drink. Guy was in there having a drink with his buddies, but when I came he said they were closed and just cleaning fryers. At least something was clean! If we had reseached this, we would have heard about stains, paint and wood chips, old tvs with no remote and limited channels, disinterested staff, etc. Learned our lesson...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wisconsin Dells hotels

Livingston, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

If the dirt ring in the toilet and the toilet paper dispenser coming out of the wall and the hard beds don't turn you off the thugs watching over your kids in the pool will. there about as rude as a person can get. we were down right harassed in the kids pool area when we were the only people there and we were with the kids in the pool some little bit of a man come over to me stuck out his chest and said get that pop out of the pool with a mean look on his face. not at all polite in any way I am a grand father that will never set foot at that place again. the water had a bad smell in the hot tub like the water was stagnate and pant chip off poles in kids pool water. There was one life guard there his name was Logan and he was great guy and great with the kids he should find a better place to work.

Room Tip: chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is our first visit here and we would definitely come back! Our room was huge....had a king size bed with a beautiful parrot cover...a couch!!!! It also had a refrigerator and microwave. The tub and toilet were in a separate room, which allowed me the sink, mirror to use while my husband was in the shower!!! Only had 2 drawbacks....no internet service and only 4-5 tv channels worked.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oconomowoc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Omg. This place was scary. We booked a last minute trip to the dells. And found this hotel. It was the only one that wasn't booked and I could see why. I've seen 3 star ratings before and have been pleasantly surprised. But this place is gross. It was so dark everywhere in the halls and rooms and when I turned on the lights it revealed stained carpets. It smelled mildewed in the room. I didn't want to walk around barefoot. The box springs didn't have bed skirts revealing hair and dirt on them. Ugh. So nasty. I had my husband check for bed bugs. Thank goodness there weren't any but I still slept in my hoodie bc I didn't want to touch the pillow. One of the pools was cloudy. Yucko.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank charon2143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Rewind a bit - Ten years ago, we went to Wisconsin Dells and stayed at the Polynesian and it was a bad experience. It was dirty and bad customer service. (I'll skip the details, but it was bad enough to be quite memorable for us, even 10 years later) Fast forward to the present. We needed a room for 1 night - just someplace to stay while we experienced some traditional Wisconsin Dells activities (the Ducks, etc) - not their water park. Rooms were pretty much sold out at The Dells so we ended up at Polynesian. The room, with tax, was $185 - so we expected it to be decent and we hoped it had changed in 10 years. First, it was so dirty. We had to call the front desk to say that our room had not been serviced, including an extremely dirty toilet with dark, black rings. I've never even seen a toilet this bad, even in a public bathroom in a gas station or beach. They said to come down to the front desk and they'd give us a new room. We were literally the furthest possible room from the front desk. When we got down there, the unpleasant woman at the front desk told us to go back to the room and they'd send up a cleaning crew. Two kids and all of our luggage, back to the furthest room in the building! They sent up 2 male youths. One replenished our towels, etc and informed us that our bed had indeed been services, it's just that the morning crew leaves "everything wrinkled," he explained. The other employee worked on our bathroom...and worked and worked. Twenty minutes later, on the toilet alone, it was finally clean! So...how long had it been since they cleaned it, and what other surfaces were ignored?? They did not inform us at the front desk that TV service was out-of-order in EVERY SINGLE ROOM. Wi-fi is ONLY available in the lobby - ever. What kind of modern hotel does that?? So, in a dirty room, no wi-fi, and no TV. What a vacation! (we had no intention of using the water park at this hotel) Employees were unprofessional, unorganized and disrespectful. (ESPECIALLY at the front desk, including a young woman who seemed to be the manager.) I guess since rooms get booked up at The Dells, that they think they don't have to do much - people will book there anyway. But that shouldn't decrease their work ethic or pride in their property. Incidentally, the next night, we went to the Kalahari for our first visit ever. WOW -what a difference!! It was like night and day compared to the Polynesian. We'll NEVER go back to the Polynesian - they do not deserve our business.

Room Tip: if you want a good room, don't book at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ang_arm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stay in a hotel approximately 45 times a year. We have stayed in $99 a night hotels and $800 a night hotels. We paid $160 before taxes for 1 night. I can honestly state that my recent experience at this hotel was the worst experience which I have had in many years. We would have left and demanded a full refund but having checked the other hotels in the area, we could not find a vacancy.

Cleanliness and Maintenance:
* Beds looked to have been slept in and straightened, there were head imprints and wrinkles on the linens
* Toilet was filled with fecal waste that had sat so long it had principally dissolved and caked into a ring around the waterline
* Pubic hairs on the bathroom floor and behind the toilet seat
* Urine stains under the toilet seat
* Dirty footprints and stains on the floor of the bathtub
* Hair on the sink vanity
* Unrecognizable white goo on the floor outside the bathroom
* Handprints, skin oil, and other large thick smears on glass surfaces
* The TV was malfunctioning and could not be watched (rolling and distorted picture)
* Sofa sleeper stained and dirty
* Carpet generally dirty
* Towels had been replenished but no hand towels or washcloths

Services:
* When a cleaning crew was sent it turned out not to be a cleaning crew but instead two teenage boys who stated they did small maintenance projects. The cleaned the feces out of the toilet and wiped down the sink, provided hand towels, and then stated they could not do anything else for us. They stated that all of the beds in the hotel were wrinkled and looked slept in and did not change the sheets. They blamed incompetent cleaning staff.
* The staff was short, snippy, and rude when we inquired about the cleaning. They asked me to come down to the front desk where they would reassign us to a clean room. After walking the entire length of the complex and arriving at the desk, they then informed me they did not have another room. The desk clerk stated that at that moment, they had 8 families all demanding new rooms due to cleanliness or maintenance issues
* The staff was even more disagreeable on the phone when my wife inquired about a repair to the TV system
* Wifi was only available in the lobby

Exterior:
* The landscaping was overgrown and weedy in the rear of the hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
900 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#32 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#20 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
644 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#27 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
275 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#19 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polynesian Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Resort Hotel

Property: Polynesian Resort Hotel
Address: 857 N. Frontage Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9604
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Polynesian Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Polynesian offers a variety of room styles to choose from - King rooms, Queen Rooms, Two Bedroom Suites, & Luxury Suites - one is sure to accommodate your family's stay in Wisconsin Dells. IMPORTANT INFORMATION: The resort is undergoing improvements during 2015 and select areas will be restricted due to these improvements. We make every effort to offer alternatives but will occasionally be unable to do so. Thank you for your understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Polynesian Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Polynesian Resort Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing