We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE!! Drive to Elroy if you have must for decent hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Ranked #58 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEWARE!! Drive to Elroy if you have must for decent hotel.”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I usually stay at Days Inn, Motel 8, and other economy motels/hotels and for this trip I decided to splurge a little. This is what I got for over $200/night:

1. 1- 35" Box TV (yes, the kind even Pawn America doesn't accept anymore)
2. 9 channels
3. a curtain with no less than 20 holes in it
4. the most uncomfortable, hard, flat King bed ever
5. 5-small, flat worn down pillows
6. moist carpet
7. damp air
8. Guest Service Desk personnel flirting with other workers instead of assisting customers
9. No internet connection- NONE.

Giving this hotel a 1-rating is very generous. I will never, EVER stay or recommend this place ever! I plan on sharing my experience with anybody and everybody.

Drive to Elroy or Reedsburg if you must, but DO NOT stay at this hotel. Not worth your money at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    150
    105
    111
    156
See reviews for
389
63
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

They don't have a shuttle, or a full blow resturant on site. But the staff was friendly and helpful. They have a nice little lazy river and two decent water slides. Really enjoyed our week here. Was quiet and not that far from anything. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Buddha2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My two young kids liked the water slides eventhough they looked over 20 years old. The frog slide had cracks in it and the rest of the pool slides looked pretty old. I am not sure if all the lifeguards understood english. We asked one a question and he just looked at the other one and said something in a foreign language. The hotel room smelled really musty. I did do a bug bed check. There were none. My husband said the men's bathroom was disgusting and still was not cleaned the next day.
The location was nice because it was a short drive to the restaurants and Noah's Ark.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Octoberlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wisconsin Dells hotels

Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We experienced very short lines, which was great for my impatient 3 and 5 year old children. The waterslides were perfect for each of them. The beds were quite hard and the pillows only about 3 inches thick. Not comfortable. Our room cleanliness and quality was satisfactory. No internet. Reasonably priced adult beverages.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lezliejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel stay was all problems from the moment of checkin where they had booked us in two different rooms for each night. This means we arrived at 1 am to stay for our first night and had to check out at 11 am the next morning. We were told we could put our bags in our car for the 5 hours until we could check back in to the new room at 4 pm. It was a miscommunication with our booking partner on their part because I was on hold while my agent verified both nights would be the same room, which was the reason we came in late the night before so we could get up and get going rather then wait till four to check in. No help or sympathy from anyone on staff. So when we finally got to our room the carpets were still wet from a recent shampoo, at 1 am... It smelled like Lysol and mold and I was afraid to touch anything because when I put my hand on the headboard it fell off the wall onto the bed. Really safe. At this point we decide there is no reason to stay here on night 2 after how we've been treated and the condition of the room. The air conditioner also wasn't working. This was in 100 degree weather. So we call our booking partner and cancel asking to verify no charges would be added and the front desk called to verify there would be no charges. We had to book another hotel. Hilton garden inn which we've stayed often and I highly recommend. A week later I get my credit card statement and find out they charged us for both nights. It was post dated a few nights after our reservation which is not something they should do. Why was my credit card still in their system?? I received a refund but had to accept a charge of 15$. After all the time I spent on the phone fixing this it was useless. I paid 15$ and a resort fee for the first night when we clearly checked in at 1 am and weren't able to use the resort. Its part of their package I understand but at this point I feel like theyve taken enough of my money without reason. I would have rather stayed at a cheap motel because service and quality were on par with what u would expect at a motel. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone there are several nice hotels in that area and this is not one of them. It also would be nice to get a full refund on the night we didn't stay simply due to all the inconvieniences we faced.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kbhittner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Polynesian has some good things going for it, and yet has obviously suffered because of the economy and possibly mismanagement. On the up side, this is a small waterpark resort, and your room is close to the pool. You can even use your room bathroom instead of the public restroom located in the pool area. The pool area has great areas for young children, a lazy river and a couple of waterslides that are pretty tame. It wasn't crowded, and there is a tiki bar with kind of expensive drinks. We were able to bring in our own cups and snacks into the pool area. They were very relaxed about this. They just didn't want any alcohol brought in. Who says you can't drink beer out of a coffee cup? Our room was clean and the air conditioning was ice cold. We had a fridge so we could bring our own food and drinks. The noise from the hallway was pretty minimal even being by the door and ice machine. Check in was a breeze, and staff were all very friendly. They quickly provided us with extra linens when requested.

On the downside, there are some maintenance issues and cleanliness issues outside. The cave hot tub outside is closed and is apparently available for rent during a massage, according to the sign. They serve food, but don't expect anything fancy--it's convenient at most. Also, if you don't like classic rock, you're out of luck. They played it in the pool area until 9pm each night. I like it, but could get very sick of it quickly.

This is a nice place to go for a chill little vacation with your kids if you can overlook its' flaws. It's definitely convenient and relaxed, which is just my style. The kids loved it, and that's really all that matters.

Room Tip: Ground level poolside room is the most convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sun_lioness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Beloit, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were in town for a basketball tournament and didn't want to spend a ton of money at one of the bigger waterpark resorts because we didn't know how much time we would have to enjoy it. We thought the Polynesian was a good option.......price was great and still had the waterpark features. BIG MISTAKE!!! This hotel is a dump! Our room was extremely damp and smelled like mold and mildew. The bathroom had a ton of mold on the ceiling. The carpet was disgusting. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and the springs soundend like they were going to break when you sat on the beds. We had a 1st floor room and the window had no lock on it.......Big Safety Concern! The hotel staff was very unfriendly and not very helpful. The pool areas both in and out were dirty.....the water was somewhat cloudy and there were leaves all over the bottom. Overall, this place is extremely run down and in need of desperate repairs and upgrades. I wish I would have listened to all the negative reviews because I definately would have changed my reservation to a different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
701 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
935 reviews
5.0 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#19 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#36 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
483 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#26 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
948 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#22 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polynesian Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Resort Hotel

Property: Polynesian Resort Hotel
Address: 857 N. Frontage Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9604
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Polynesian Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Polynesian offers a variety of room styles to choose from - King rooms, Queen Rooms, Two Bedroom Suites, & Luxury Suites - one is sure to accommodate your family's stay in Wisconsin Dells. IMPORTANT INFORMATION: The resort is undergoing improvements during 2015 and select areas will be restricted due to these improvements. We make every effort to offer alternatives but will occasionally be unable to do so. Thank you for your understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Polynesian Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Polynesian Resort Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing