We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall...disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
waukesha, wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overall...disappointed”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it was advertised as a 'waterpark' hotel that caters to families with young kids. We have a 4 and 1 year old so it seemed ideal that we could use the pool facilities at our own hotel to accommodate naps, etc. Well, I didn't expect much from the waterpark and that's a good thing. A few slides does not a waterpark make. Our kids enjoyed it but don't let anyone fool you, it's meant for kids under 5 or 6 (not 12 as advertised). Plus it was pretty cold, cobsidering it was meant for young kids. Not sure what our $5.99/day "resort" fee included as we didn't get any extra amenities. The free breakfast was a carb-fest...couldn't you have thrown a bowl of fresh fruit on the table versus canned, sugar-loadedfruit cocktail? The room smelled stale even when running the A/C. The hair dryer kept shorting out, took maintenance over an hour to replace it (good thing we weren't in a hurry to leave) plus the phone jn our room had no cord to plug into the wall which I didn't find out until I tried to call the front desk to complain about the hair dryer. Overall, we were disappointed. I wish we would have stayed at one of the motels near by because the pool facilities here weren't with the extra cost.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 05/09/06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaymie B, General Manager at Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Call me and we will see what we can do for you. Thank you for your take on your stay. We appreciated feedback of all kinds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    120
    104
    52
    60
See reviews for
293
52
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois City, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Hotel waterparks do not need capet in them you need to find a way to get rid of the mildew carpet. If you pull all the carpet up you will see that is is mildewed. I got sick after turing on the air. All you could smell is mildew, I coughing all night. The shower curtains were mildewed and we were told that there were no more rooms. The water that we were going to is not near the hotel and is furtherr away from the hotel. Ms. K lied to us. the rooms look terrible. The toilet did not have much water in it and was old and the place needs up dating.The food should not be served were the pool is, to me that is not sanitary it should be it another location. I will not be going to Wisconsin Dells again. Some people were very nice at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank noneed2know
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaymie B, General Manager at Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
So sorry you didnt have a enjoyable stay. Call me directly so we may discuss your concerns. thank you for taking the time to reply to our trip advisor site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wisconsin Dells hotels

rhinelander
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Had a bad experience i called here and switched to atlantis price was less than the horror story we were at the staff was so helpful and kids loved the water and passes to chula vista.
Wish we had gone there first we will come back here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaymie B, General Manager at Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Mary I really like your positive outlook and positive review. We appreciate our customers. Thank you for quite simply being a positive force for us. Cannot wait to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

As a family of 6 on a tight budget we were excited to find this hotel that offered passes to a water park in the Dells for our first trip to the Dells. The price was much cheaper than the other big hotels and the staff was friendly on the phone when booking. Upon arrival(between 3-4 pm) the staff at the desk were helpful and cheerful. We went to our first room 209 and upon entering we were overwhelmed with the smell of smoke, not stale smoke but like the cleaning staff smoked a full pack while getting the room ready (it was non smoking). Having asthma that is aggravated by smoking myself and 2 of my 4 children having it as well my husband went to the desk and they switched our room. We traveled up to room 410 and upon entering the smell was much better. We checked the room over and it appeared clean, until checking out the balcony. There on the AC unit was a huge cup that was used as an ashtray, empty pack of newports, lighter and water park bands. We put it in a plastic bag and my husband took it to the front desk again. This time they gave us some vouchers for the pizza place up the street.
The room itself was okay, 2 comfy beds and a pull out couch. The kids said the couch wasn't comfy but I am not sure a pullout couch ever is. One huge problem is the placement of the AC for the room. It was so close to the bed that the person (me) who slept there needed a parka because in order for the kids on the pullout couch to comfortable we had to run the AC on 61 the whole time. Another problem is the one bathroom but with proper planning we were able to make this work. The showers were small and the shower heads had no real water pressure but we did get a bonus pubic hair in the shower! The toilet seat was broken and after almost falling off the toilet one time too many we decided to leave early. They had seemingly new TV's and they are huge. I think they should move the location of the mirror in the room because the TV blocks the mirror. The second mirror helps out with a larger family trying to get ready for the day.
The waffle breakfast was good and you could also get fruit (canned), danishes, donuts, mini muffins, cereal, coffee, milk and apple or orange juice. The poor bartender was running his butt off to serve everyone, stock everything and he did it with a smile (left him a compliment at the front desk .. hopefully he is recognized). There was a girl who sat behind the bar for awhile but she didn't lift a finger to help him, I felt so bad for him and made sure to tip him before leaving as I am sure most guests don't. Downfall of breakfast is the location .. in the pool room. There are tables in the arcade (noisy games/kids), a banquet sort of room (fills up quick) or poolside (screaming kids and constant splashes from the pool).
Onto the pools. I noticed an outdoor one that seemed to be under construction and then the main outdoor one in front. That one had a slide for 10 and under (my guess from my kids interest), a kiddie pool and then a small hot tub. We didn't swim in these pools as it was unseasonably cool during our visit and the water was cold (we were told the water was heated .. not sure what was going on). The pool furniture was in need of updating as many of them were falling apart. Off of the lobby is a smaller pool and sauna. We didn't swim there as it was pretty small. On the 4th floor were the bigger pools. A larger kiddie pool (I would say 6 and under), a decent size pool that went from 3ft-5ft with basketball hoops and then the hottub. My kids were too old for the kiddie pool but played in the bigger pool .. only complaint was the floor of the pool, it was textured and hurt your feet when you walked on it. This indoor pool didn't seem to be heated either which was unfortunate because it wasn't warm enough for outdoor pools on our trip. We used the hottub but quickly noticed that only half of the jets worked and there were many floating items such as hair, lint, black chunks, plastic pieces etc. The furniture in that pool area was in good condition and there never was a problem finding a seat.
The pool area also had a bar with food and arcade. The arcade was pretty standard but several games weren't working properly. They either didn't put out the tickets earned or didn't allow game play. If you needed to report an error you had to do so at the front desk. You could get a bowl of butter for 1000 tickets woohoo I can imagine the parents shelling out a decent money and bringing in the bowl of butter (that they could get for free at breakfast) to show their parents.
My husband told the front desk staff the reasons for us wanting to leave, the last straw which is the broken toilet seat, they didn't offer to have it repaired, move us or discount our stay. So my husband said we would like to leave a day early. They discussed amongst themselves if they could refund our last day of reservations and finally one said they would "bite the bullet with management" for refunding the 3rd day of our stay. Based on the problems from check in to check out we wouldn't stay here again. Check out went smooth but the bill was confusing. There were credits and debits all over the place that made it look like we were charged way more than quoted. Also the resort fee .. I wonder what that covers? The "free" wristbands to Chula Vista? That is the only thing I can think of because Atlantis is surely no resort.
If management decides to comment on this review with their standard please call us you can contact me if you really want to make it right. Room 410 07/29-30/2013 you should have our contact information.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Koukla78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaymie B, General Manager at Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Well not sure what to think. So sorry you didnt like your stay. I know we have no butter in the game room. Other then that I apologize. Thank you for your lengthy review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family and i had a reservation at a near by hotel that some how got "lost" and the price had increased significantly from when we made the reservation. We walked into the Atlantis and were greeted with a smile by two young ladies ( Ashley and Helen) Ashley was able get us keys to go look at the King Neptune Suite ( which we loved!!) when we came back down she was assisting another guest and Helen came over and made our reservation. We had a horrible day turn great with the these two being so friendly and understanding of our situation. The location is perfect we are visiting Noah's Ark and Mount Olympus and the Atlantis is in between both! worked out great in the end! We will be coming back

Thanks From D&M

Room Tip: King Neptune suite is perfect for family or multiple couples!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaymie B, General Manager at Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Yes...nailed it! We love it when we get it right. Your awesome comments made our day and am glad to see your positive vibe in the world. Helen has been here about 8 years and Ashlee is new to us this summer. We are so happy to have both of them. Thank you for your king comments. Hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Bought two nights in the mermaid suite. Online it was for 140 per night. Paid for one night upfront and then the other after i got there.

Ended up being 170 a night after all of their other charges they tacked on. Resort fee, water fee, park fee, personnel fee. Felt like a bait and hook after looking at all that. Was not very happy after having to spend an extra 60 bucks on these "fees"

Then the Room:
The hot tub was all cracked up and looked very dingy. Decided not to use it after looking at it. The room was actually in the hotel sub-basement with the a/c in up in the top part of the wall with a small window looking out at people's feet as they walked by. Horrible placement for the supposed nicer rooms. Then, probably because of the placement and conditions the room had a constant damp feeling and the covers were always a bit wet for whatever reason.

We were also right near the staff laundry area and had that constant noise of their radios.

Now the good:

The staff was good for the most part and friendly. Also, the waffle breakfast was pretty good as well and i enjoyed that both mornings i was there. That would be the reason of the 2 star rating only.

Room Tip: Don't get the mermaid suite. You will be in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyersAvionics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaymie B, General Manager at Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for the review. Not perfect all the time. Love it when guests speak up. Gives us a higher rung to reach for. Tax is 11.5% this we will need to talk to Uncle Sam about. Our resort fee is $5.99. Maybe request a room with a balcony next time? Thank you and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5'oclock somewhere
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Good location if going to spend the day at either of the waterparks, room was ok but could use some updating. The only real complaint would be the pools, they were very cold..both indoor and outdoor. It was cool when we were there these past days so we thought we would enjoy the indoor pools..too cold to swim. Probably better choices in the dells. Housekeepiing came to our room at 930 am...alitle too early. Did ask them to come back later and they did. Might be ok for a family of 4, you do get free Chula Vista park passes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaymie B, General Manager at Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for the review. Our indoor and outdoor pools are kept at 82 degrees. Not sure which day you are referring to ....please call so we can pinpoint the problem. At 72 degree temps this week people are outdoor enjoying our pools. Thank you for the taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.9 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
1.4 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#32 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#20 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites

Property: Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Address: 1570 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8446
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis Family Waterpark Hotel is located right in the heart of Wisconsin Dells and within walking distance to Noah's Ark, Mt. Olympus Water & Theme Park, Duck Rideas, Big Foot Zip Line, Tommy Bartlett and MANY restaurants. Our different indoor and outdoor waterparks ON-SITE are very family friendly and your best location if traveling with kids under 12 years old. Pools are open late. We offer a FREE continental breakfast EVERY DAY of your stay. We have a HUGE ticket redemption game room, indoor whirlpool, pool basketball and slides/activities for all ages. Free Wifi. We recently added Kids Suites which include two queen size beds and BUNK BEDS! We have no carpet in the main building, public spaces and guest rooms. From Memorial Day to Labor Day we include FREE tickets to Noah's ark EVERY DAY of your stay! Call us now to plan your quaint family getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia and Hotel.de so you can book your Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Waterpark Wisconsin Dells
Atlantis Hotel
Hotel Atlantis Waterpark
Atlantis Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing