We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would have given this 5 stars but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Day's End Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Day's End Motel
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
West Bend, WI
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“I would have given this 5 stars but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Our room was super clean and roomy since we chose one with one standard and one queen bed. The price was right and the location is a VERY short drive from all the action in the Dells. I just can't get over how hard the mattress was. I'm wondering if some of the rooms have a different type of mattress because I just can't believe others didn't think the bed was almost unsleepable.

With everything else being done right I just wish they's upgrade those mattresses.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maybepat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Day's End Motel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We purpose to give each of our guests a comfortable stay, and we're sorry that this guest's stay was less-than-perfect. We are currently updating our older mattresses, and we hope this guest will give us a second try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    55
    12
    2
    7
See reviews for
121
79
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Des Plaines, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spend Labor Day Weekend there, 9 people , all rooms were extremely clean , no smell of any kind , friendly staff & awesome price. The motel do have nice pool, but across the street there is a pool bar for adults with submerged curb where you could be in the pool & sip your drinks,while you enjoy the water.The motel is also located in the best possibly way - in the Dells , but aside of all the tourist crap,very close to I-94 , all together - we gonna be visiting again!Thank you ! Nick S

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Day's End Motel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We always strive to maintain clean, comfortable rooms, and we're glad that we could accommodate these guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I were just taking a weekend trip to the Dells and didn't need anything fancy. We took the least expensive room and it was very clean and comfortable, with nice hot showers. We stayed in room #5 and the walls were paper thin (we could hear details of the conversations in the rooms on either side of us), but our neighbors were respectful and we had a good night's sleep. Everyone was very nice and helpful here.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask to not have a neighbor if it's possible, at least in the lower number rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaGreenLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Day's End Motel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We are pleased that this guest enjoyed his stay, and we hope he chooses us on his return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Sueur, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed two nights in late September and chose the least expensive room to save money. The room was very basic but a good value for the price. Because the room was so small it felt like there wasn't enough room to really spread out our suitcases and belongings. Would have appreciated having night stands for our glasses and hearing aids, etc. but there were none. The bed was approx. one foot from the wall so it was difficult for one person to get in and out of bed. The TV remote was complicated and there were no directions for its operation in the room. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is convenient to the freeway and a 5 min. drive into downtown. It was fun to see the chickens scratching around the yard in the morning. It reminded me of the old motels from the 50's and 60's.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 51suzk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Day's End Motel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We always appreciate the time a guest takes to give their honest opinion of our motel. We do have several sizes of rooms and can upgrade guests when possible. We always strive to maintain clean, comfortable rooms for our guests. Hopefully this guest will give us a second chance in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

First time my husband and I stayed here. Everyone was super friendly and the room was very clean! The location was far enough away from all the craziness of downtown, but still a short ride into town. Would definitely stay here, again!!

Dawn L

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Day's End Motel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We think our rooms are the cleanest around and we're glad that they pleased this guest! It is our pleasure to serve our guests in whatever way we can and we look forward to serving this guest again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

It is a very nice motel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They explained everything to us and showed us where all of the attractions were. The room was very nice. It was clean and quiet. They had a mini fridge and microwave as well a tv, just in case you wanted to stay in and relax. It was far enough away from downtown, where you had your privacy but you were still close enough to everything. I enjoyed my stay at this motel and I would stay there again on my next trip to the Dells.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hborth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Day's End Motel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
The microwave/mini-fridges are a new addition this year and 20 out of our 28 rooms have them. We are glad that these guests enjoyed their stay and we look forward to their next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Go stay in one of those big buck places and I guarantee you will wish you had found this little jewel!
Though the rooms are smaller then the herdy turdy places, I always think "this is where I lay my head and sit to partake in wine drinking with my wife after a day of running around the Dells". If you want attractions they are just down the road. So they don't have their own water park but the do have a wonderful feeling about them. And the owners/managers? Fantastic and bend over backwards to help in every way. This little hidden spot exceeded our idea of the place no one seems to know. <3'd it!

Room Tip: The only tip I can add......stock up on wine and beer before going tee hee
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Day's End Motel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We aim to provide a restful retreat for all our guests and we are pleased that this guest could relax while on vacation. We hope to serve these guests again on their next stay in Wisconsin Dells.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
2.7 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#17 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
4.4 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#32 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
3.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Day's End Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Day's End Motel

Property: Day's End Motel
Address: N604 US Highway 12 and 16, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9103
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#8 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Day's End Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE wi-fi. All rooms non-smoking, and ground floor. Short drive to Wisconsin Dells. I-94 exit 85, then West on WI 12/16. Seasonal outdoor heated pool. Gas and diesel nearby. Restaurants nearby. Putt-putt golf course and outdoor playground, ideal for families and reunions. FREE parking. Snowmobile trail access next door. Quiet, rural location. Closed the weeks of Thanksgiving and Christmas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Day's End Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Day`s End Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Days End Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing