We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“You can eat off the bathroom floor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Day's End Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Day's End Motel
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You can eat off the bathroom floor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

I have stayed here before over the years and this place is ALWAYS spotless. After reading some reviews of other area motels it seems some other places just don't get it when it comes to basic housekeeping. Some of them were major national chain hotels. The owners of this motel are very nice people and they really do take pride in their motel. Every inch of it. This place is away from the"action". It's about 5 minutes AWAY from all the people and the traffic. It's easy to get to and easy to leave. The owners make updates when needed. New tv's, new carpet, etc, etc. There are ALOT of places to pick from in the area. But for the room rates, location and how clean they keep the rooms and the grounds I really don't think you can do any better.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USA66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Day's End Motel, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
We are pleased that this guest enjoyed our property. We pride ourselves on our clean and comfortable rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    54
    12
    1
    7
See reviews for
109
71
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Find somewhere else closer to the party, this place is way off the path, very cheap and everything about is says it's cheap. Hasn't been upgraded since the 60's including the beds, bathroom etc. No wi-fi, or just not working for the guests. America's best value Inn needs a better rating system becuase this should be a 1 star.

Room Tip: Same prices a few miles down the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgskyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Day's End Motel, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
We are grateful that this guest took the time to write a review, and we are sorry that our accomodations did not meet this guest's standards. It is our goal to provide clean, comfortable rooms and good service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

I travel to the Dells very regularly. I have stayed at just about every motel/hotel in the city and Days End is by far the nicest for the price. The place is located just outside the main drag on hwy 12. The staff is super nice and the rooms are the cleanest I've seen. The rooms have 2 queen sized beds and flat screen T.V.s with Dish tv. I highly recommend this place if you would like to vacation on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Day's End Motel, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
We are glad that this guest enjoyed their stay with us. We are happy to provide clean rooms and good service to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

If you want to save yourself from getting ripped off at a motel don't go there. We just went there on July 5th of 2010. First off when we got there we went into the cabin style room and layed on the bed for about 5 minutes and the wheel on the bed broke. We weren't even jumping on the bed or nothing and it broke. So then we got another cabin room and about ten minutes later we came back to the office for a refund because the beds are like sleeping on a box spring mattress. They said they do not give refunds. NEVER GO TO A HOTEL OR MOTEL THAT DOES NOT GIVE REFUNDS. She then said that we can try two other rooms to see if the beds are a little softer, so we tried the other rooms. The one room had a bed that was a tad softer but not much softer so we tried it. She said that because it was a double bed room and was bigger than the one we were in that she had to charge us an extra 15 dollars a night. She should accomodate us if we are not happy with our room. There should be no extra charge anyways. Then we went in there and there was a strong pine smell in the room and it gave me a headache. Also, when my boyfriend woke up in the morning he had a lot of bug bites on his legs from sleeping in the bed. We also actually saw some bugs in the room before we went to bed. The next night we went to talk to her in the office again and we told her we were going to have to go home because we could not afford to stay anywhere else. She still said no refunds and then finally she said ok I'll give you 60 dollars so I told him to just take it and that we could try to get more of our money back when we get home. No where in the confirmation papers we had did it say no refunds. The only thing it said was cancel by 2 pm 3 days before arrival, penalty 1 nts by 2 pm, 4 to 999 days before arrival. penalty 5 USD. They said that if you do not cancel within 72 hours you will be charged for 1 night. We got charged for 2 1/2 nights of our three nights stay. LISTEN TO ME PLEASE. DO NOT EVER STAY THERE! If you do want to stay at a motel do not buy one online wait till you get there so you can check it out first cause you never know where your staying unless you see it for yourself. However if you do want to reserve a hotel in advance my oppinion is reserve either a chain hotel or a waterpark resort hotel like kalahari or wilderness.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laura_collegegirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

Clean, comfortable, quiet room with very friendly owners. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DellsDestinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Day's End Motel, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
We are very happy that these guests enjoyed their stay with us. We look forward to serving them again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake Beach, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

Wonderful Motel!! We Loved it! & the owners are awesome too! Very clean & fresh looking.
& a Great Deal too!
& just far enough away from the chaos of The Dells BUT still close enough to enjoy The Dells too!
Thank you for a great time at the Dells!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazbah94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Day's End Motel, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
We are very happy that these guests enjoyed our property. We always enjoy providing our guests with clean, comfortable rooms in a peaceful setting and a convenient location. We hope to serve these guests again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2007

Stayed here one night because refused to stay any longer...rooms were filthy and the staff refused to change us to a different room or give us a refund. Stay away from this hotel!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy_From_Madison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Day's End Motel, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
We are grateful that this guest took the time to write a review, and we are sorry that our property did not meet this guest's standards. We hope that they will give us another chance to serve them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#9 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 698 reviews
3.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#18 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#36 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin Dells
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin D...
#33 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#16 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Day's End Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Day's End Motel

Property: Day's End Motel
Address: N 604 Highway 12 and 16, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#8 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Day's End Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE wi-fi. All rooms non-smoking, and ground floor. Short drive to Wisconsin Dells. I-94 exit 85, then West on WI 12/16. Seasonal outdoor heated pool. Gas and diesel nearby. Restaurants nearby. Putt-putt golf course and outdoor playground, ideal for families and reunions. FREE parking. Snowmobile trail access next door. Quiet, rural location. Closed December & January. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Day's End Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Day`s End Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Days End Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing