We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Outstanding family oriented resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Shores Camp Resort

Holiday Shores Camp Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Shores Camp Resort
Save
You added Holiday Shores Camp Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #10 of 16 Wisconsin Dells B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding family oriented resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We just returned from a very enjoyable 8 day stay at Holiday Shores. We had been there several years ago when our son was younger, and decided to take our grand-daughter this time. She thoroughly enjoyed the experience and wants to go back next year. (We've already made reservations.)
Holiday Shores opened 37 years ago and we met other guests who have returned there every year.
Holiday Shores is family oriented for all age groups, with playground facilities, fun activities, swimming pool, boating, and the annual pig roast.
The staff is very friendly and accommodating.
We highly recommend Holiday Shores for family time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    9
    0
    4
See reviews for
21
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairbury, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We recently returned from an 8 day stay at Holiday Shores. We were staying in our 5th wheel camper. This is by far the nicest campground we have been to. It is family owned and run. By the time we left, they were calling us by name and I felt like we were old friends. We made reservations to return next year.

There are boat and wave runner rentals on the premises. The kids enjoyed the beach and jump/trampoline contraption in the water. There is a clean laundry facility and game room located next to Club 21 (an adult room/bar) Joe does a fine job running Club 21. There is also a very well kept, clean pool and kiddie pool.

Fresh donut and cinnamon rolls are made daily. Be sure to reserve yours, as they go fast ! I just can't say enough good things about this campground !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We rented a housekeeping cottage for a week in July 2012. It was reasonably priced for our stay, but it needed some upgrades. The location was superb. It is close enough to downtown, but far enough away to seem secluded. It is right on the river, and it has a pool and a beach. It does boat rentals, and all kinds of watersports. You get a discount if you stay there. We got free childs tickets for the ducks, and free waterpark passes to Chula Vista! The campground has tons of playgrounds and lots of planned activities for the kids. There weren't many downsides...The beach would've been really great if there was more sand, or if they had told us to bring water shoes. The bottom of the baby pool was super rough, and my kids got their feet scratched. It was a great family vacay, and we might go back someday!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phreakmamapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winthrop harbor, il
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is by far the best campground we have ever been to. The people are fantastic. We have been going here for over 8 years and won't go anywhere else. Lots of activities for kids and adults. Boat and jet ski rentals right there! Best donuts EVER!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank campers0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Indiana
Level Contributor
152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed at Holiday Shores for a family reunion in June 2011. We chose this resort because they have lodging choices for any and all family members...from tent camping to park model campers to cabins to hotel rooms. Regardless of budget, all family members were able to stay at one property and enjoy the reunion. It was casual and offered plenty of activiities for the kids and adults alike. Some members of our group went to the adult dance club and enjoyed the music and dancing while others sat around a campfire. Holiday Shores personnel were very good about trying to get our group located in close proximity of each other....my cousins, aunt and uncle and I were all right across the road from one another. The rent pontoons, boats and jet skis as well as golf carts on premises. Be careful though, the golf carts are everywhere. The rsort was 100 % full the last weekend of June, but it didn't feel over crowded or noisy. The general store has everything you could imagine including ice cream and fresh donuts. There are snack shops and wifi. They have several activities daily if anyone wants to participate. This was a perfect location for our group of mixed ages from 14 to 70. Holiday Shores is in a quiet area of the dells off the strip and they have so much right there, unless you want a go cart, you don't even have to go to the busy Dells strip to enjoy yourself. They even give you free admission to Chula Vista waterpark while at Holiday Shores...what a great deal. The only caveats are to watch out for the golf carts and there are some rules to be followed. I wish they would update their online reservations system to allow you to pick a site online. Currently you have to try many times to get through to a person on the phone, but once you get through, they are very helpful. Make reservations very early for this resort.

Room Tip: Campground feel with creature comforts in Park Models
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#21 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#4 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 818 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#10 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Black Hawk Motel
Black Hawk Motel
#1 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 stars 1,423 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Rose Inns
White Rose Inns
#3 of 16 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Indian Trail Motel
Indian Trail Motel
#7 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Shores Camp Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Shores Camp Resort

Property: Holiday Shores Camp Resort
Address: River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Wisconsin Dells
Number of rooms: 188

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing