We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Best experience I've had in the Dells” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambers Hideaway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambers Hideaway
Ranked #21 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best experience I've had in the Dells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I could not have more great things to say about Amber's Hideaway. It was exactly what my group (4 adults, kid-free for the weekend) was looking for. It is close enough to the hustle bustle of entertainment and shopping to walk there or take a 2 minute drive and far enough away that it's quiet, green and relaxing. Our room on the 2nd floor was large, clean and updated. I was suprised at the size of the mini-fridge, usually hotel mini's are tiny and barely fit a few drinks but this one was very generous.

The grounds are impeccable - Tanya does a great job of constant maintaining, cleaning and beautifying the grounds. Lots of trees, more (if not the only) green grass than any motel we saw in the Dells, gorgeous flowers, plenty of seating and spots to relax. The balconies stretch along the entire motel with larger gathering areas here and there to congregate, eat, drink, play games. One of the greatest things was the abundance of seating! There were so many options and places to just hang out and relax. There are several games on the grounds (volleyball, ping-pong), a beautiful swing set and an amazing pool...options all around.

The pool area is fantastic with more chaise lounges than you could dream of. The water was a perfect temperature and it was quiet and calm even on a very busy Dells Sunday. If you want some R&R with the convenince of downtown a stone's throw away - look no further. Even though we came with adults only this time, we will be back with our kids next year. Amber's has something for everyone and I would definitely recommend it to anyone (couples, families, friends). We are looking forward to the next trip!

Room Tip: 2nd floor has great views and great balcony areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya K, Owner at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you Rachel for taking the time to write us a review about your recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you were so satisfied and that the little things caught your attention. We are always working hard to keep the property looking beautiful for our guests. When my husband and I purchased this property and did a remodel we though what would we like if we went on vacation and we always have tried our hardest to achieve this. I look forward to your return visit with us in the near future. Have yourself a wonderful rest of the summer.
Sincerely, Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    91
    21
    10
    12
See reviews for
242
105
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay. Absolutely loved the room, very spacious & very clean. My new favorite place to stay in the Dells. Pool is nice. Grounds are so pretty with all the flowers and the gazebo. And the owner and staff were very nice and friendly. We were actually staying at another motel our first two nights but that place was far from pleasant. We were lucky there was a room available here for our last night. Finally had a great nights sleep!! Can't wait to come back! Hopefully there will be a vacancy because everyone will want to stay hear once they hear about how nice it is!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya K, Owner at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your stay with us. We love to hear that we are your new favorite place to stay when visiting the Dells :-) I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your self and was able to take in the beauty of the grounds. We look forward to seeing you on your return visit with us in the near future so you can have another great nights sleep.
Sincerely, Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We usually stay in a water park hotel but opted for something different so we could take the kids to Noah's Ark. It worked out really well. We arrived with bikes, and they were kind enough to allow us to leave the bikes in their own garage so we didn't have to worry about them. The Noah's Ark passes are good your entire stay, from the time of arrival through the day of departure. The value of that is the equivalent of an extra night at the hotel. The rooms are very spacious, which makes a huge difference when traveling with kids. There was plenty of room for all of the bags and gear. The balconies are awesome -- no musty towels inside! The location is very good, and it was overall a friendly, low-key and cost-effective experience. We're not fans of the "enhanced" breakfasts offered at the chain hotels (with waffle machines and overcooked eggs), so we were okay running down to Starbucks to bring breakfast back. The grocery store is also very close, so picking up some milk and cereal is an option. Would certainly stay again if we opt for a non-water park hotel and recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mom_triathlete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya K, Owner at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you very much for the comments about your stay with us. I am glad that we could accommodate you with the bikes. We always try hard to accommodate any special request we receive. I am happy that you opted to try something different. You will find that Ambers Hideaway is not that cookie cutter type of place. My staff and I work very hard at making your stay with us a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you for a return visit in the future.
Sincerely, Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
140 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We usually stay at a hotel chain, but decided to try something different. If you're up for something different, then this is a great place. They really were accommodating as we had to bring a boat and unhook to go into the strip. They take pride in their venue which definitely shows from the plants to neatness of the property. They go out of their way with grills, campfire, flowers, and seating to make it a welcoming place. The rooms are clean and VERY spacious. The property is immaculate. It is not the most modern decor, but who's in the room long enough to worry about it. We wish that the continental breakfast was a little more and a little longer in duration. The first night we had a large party next to us that played cards late into the night outside on the table outside of our room. The next morning the small children were outside with their moms to keep them from waking the people in the rooms. However, they were noisy. The next night and morning they were better. So you must appreciate the uniqueness of the motel and overlook somethings, but my 13 year old daughter surprising asked if we could go back to this motel because it was so neat. We agreed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya K, Owner at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your honest review about your stay with us recently last week. I am glad to hear that you tried something different and we took you by surprise. We work very hard as a team to make sure everything is immaculate and just the way it should be every day. Our rooms were all remodeled with new furniture in Jan 2011 and the decor I chose was more neutral and not so floral to keep it appealing for every guest. If there are every any noise complaints after 10 pm all a guest has to do is dial 0 from the room phone and I immediately will take care of the situation. I am happy to hear that your daughter enjoyed her stay and is wanting to come back. We look forward to your return visit with us.
Sincerely, Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had an amazing weekend here with our 3 boys. It was nice to get away from the chains and have something more low key to truly enjoy some family time. The boys swam in the pool, made friends at the basketball court, played ping pong and baseball with new friends they met, roasted marshmallows around the fire, played on the playground, etc. Then add that we got free passes to Noah's Ark and Chula Vista, a nice bonus! Not many places can you stay where even the owner comes out and spends time socializing with the guests.

It was very clean, the rooms were spacious and very quiet, the grounds are very well kept, the flowers were beautiful, the staff was super friendly and very accommodating. We will definitely stay here again! There were some definite memories made with our family this weekend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lydasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya K, Owner at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
It was such a pleasure meeting the 2 of you and your 3 boys this past weekend. I am happy to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay and that everything was to your liking. It means a lot to me that I could offer your family a place to make memories. Come and visit us anytime and come see us in winter because we do offer the free Chula Vista water park passes with your stay. Looking forward to your next visit with us.
Sincerely, Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Horn Tx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Not having been to the Dells in 30 years and not really wanting to be where all the noise is, we choose a hotel at the end of the main drag in the Dells. Close enough to walk to downtown but without all the noise. We pulled up to a lovely landscaped hotel with flowers all over and plenty of outside seating for the evenings, including a lit gazebo. Their pool is great. clean and lots of chairs around to sun in or just to relax. They also have a campfire area to sit around in the evening when the air is a little cooler. The rooms are clean and we had a double queen which we shared with our grandson, it was perfect. All the rooms are non smoking, but the owners realized that there are still smokers out there and provided nice benches with ashtrays right outside the rooms. There is also a patio door in each room to get a great breeze in the evening. You won't be disappointed in the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor (124) and it was perfect for sitting outside at night and enjoying th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya K, Owner at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank You Archie for taking time to write us a review about your stay with us recently. I am happy to hear that everything was to your liking. I/we have put a lot of thought into our property offering everything we would like if we were to go somewhere. We work very hard to accommodate every type of a persons needs. We look forward to your return visit with us when you are in the Dells again.
Sincerely, Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My 3-year-old daughter and I were visiting family in Wisconsin. While there, we decided to check out Wisconsin Dells. Amber's Hideaway was quite the find! Clean and spacious rooms, great extras (Noah's Ark & Chula Vista waterpark passes included), beautiful, well-maintained grounds, lots of outdoor activities (basketball, volleyball, ping-pong, ladderball, bags, kids playscape), fantastic pool and outdoor seating areas, nightly campfires, outdoor grills, and the list goes on!

It is just outside the hustle and bustle of the main strip but is still within walking distance. It is easy to find something to do without having to deal with the added noise and commotion of being right in the middle of it all.

The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful. We were greeted with a smile. They offered us many suggestions of places to eat in the area as well as fun attractions, many of which they were able to help get us a discount pass for. If you are traveling on a budget, they will direct you to the local grocery store which is also within walking distance. Because there are grills on site as well as a microwave & fridge in the room, there is no need to break the bank on eating out every meal. Continental breakfast is available in the morning with muffins and fruit.

Amber's Hideaway has been one of the most cost-effective and family-friendly places we have ever stayed. Thank you Tanya and crew for a fantastic stay. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naptimetash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya K, Owner at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your honest comments about your stay with us while visiting the Dells. With so much for kids to do on property I hope your daughter had fun. I am happy to hear that my front desk staff was very helpful in suggesting places to eat and places to go. With all the coupons in the booklets you were given I hope you were able to do a lot of extras with the savings. We look forward to your future return visit with us.
Sincerely, Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#19 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#9 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#36 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#16 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 813 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambers Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambers Hideaway

Property: Ambers Hideaway
Address: 1113 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1609
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#7 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambers Hideaway 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable rooms at an affordable price! Ambers Hideaway is conveniently located on the quiet side of Wisconsin Dells. We are within walking distance of the historic downtown shops, restaurants, nightly entertainment and the breath taking River Walk. We are also within walking distance of the train depot. Ambers Hideaway offers an outdoor pool and a indoor whirlpool and sitting area, as well as a roof top deck to get a bird's eye view of the Broadway strip . Along with our pools we offer a picnic area already equipped with grills. We also have several outdoor activities for all ages such as basketball, volleyball, badminton, bean bag toss, ping pong, and a swing set and sandbox for the younger ones. Relax around the campfire at night and roast a marshmallow or two. Or try out our beautiful gazebo to relax in and take in all that the dells has to offer, or to book your wedding or special event at. With our hotel being 100% renovated, Ambers offers a variety of room types to suit any family. All rooms have a mini fridge, microwave, blow dryer, iron and board, flat screen TV, alarm clock radio and coffee makers and coffee. We also offer free WI-Fi and discounted tickets throughout the year to a number of Wisconsin Dells attractions. A free 24 hour shuttle to Ho-Chunk casino is available upon request. If you're looking for friendly service and an affordable place, come visit us year round at Ambers Hideaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ambers Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambers Hideaway Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing