We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambers Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ambers Hideaway
Ranked #23 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were very surprised with the size of the room and how clean it was. It is nice to feel welcomed somewhere away from home. They appreciate the night time hours with dimming lights. They are very friendly. We will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julieboa82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Front Office Manager at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi Julie and thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the size and cleanliness of your room. We are also glad to hear you felt welcome here. That is our goal! We appreciate each and every one of our guests and try hard to ensure they enjoy their stay. We are also happy to hear you appreciated "quiet time". We try to make sure each guest is respectful of others as they are winding down for the day and trying to get some rest. We thank you very much for staying with us and look forward to seeing you in the future!

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    93
    21
    10
    12
See reviews for
244
107
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have been to the Dells numerous times but this was our first time at Ambers Hideaway. Our family of 4 stayed Aug 5 -8. Check in was a breeze and we were very happy to be able to check-in a couple hours early. We stayed on the first floor and our room was very large and clean. The bathroom was also very spacious. It was nice to have a parking space right outside our room and there were also benches and a table which was nice to sit at in the morning and evening. All the staff we encountered were very friendly. Our kids enjoyed the playground area and the ping pong table. The pool was also very clean and nice. The grounds were extremely clean and very well cared for. There was a small continental breakfast with fruit, donuts, muffins,cookies and coffee which was nice. We enjoyed our stay here and will definitely come back next summer!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissabr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Front Office Manager at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hello Melissa! Thank you so much for your review! It was a pleasure having you stay with us! We are so glad to have you stay with us recently! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the property and your kids were able to play a few games outside. We want to thank you for giving us a try and look forward to seeing you next summer!

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We did not have reservations and stopped in to see about a room. Man at the front desk was very rude to us. We asked about price and he said cheapest room he had was $94. This was on a Tuesday. We told him TripAdvisor listed prices from $58 and he said they had NEVER had rooms that cheap. I pulled up TripAdvisor to show him on the phone and he said he had never seen this rate before. He was very rude to us. Had he been nicer we would probably have stayed there despite the difference in price. The place looked very nice, but his impression made us choose to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoH080213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Front Office Manager at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you felt you had a bad experience at or property when you stopped in recently. The gentleman you spoke with works for us through an employment agency. I have a very hard time believing he was being rude as he has a very calm nature and has always been more than wonderful towards our guests. He has only been with us for approximately one month and I'm sure he was more confused by the "$58" room rate than rude. The price he quoted you would have been $99, and not $94. Our room rate was at $115 but we did a very last minute reduction to $99 for any walk ins for that evening only. So when he said we NEVER had any rooms that cheap; he was absolutely correct (in our peak season). NEVER would you find a room for $58 during this time of year! $59 is the lowest rate we offer. In fact, had you continued to read the entire listing on the mobile version where it shows our property and lists "$59 and up", after that, you see a "*". Continuing down, it explains the meaning..."pricing terms and conditions". In other words, that is where our rates start in our off season and they go up from there. It is a shame this caused frustration on your behalf because our property really has a lot to offer compared to most. We hope you were able to find other accommodations in your price range.

Regards,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our family (6 of us) stayed here from July 29th-Aug 2nd. From the very beginning when I made the reservations with Heather---to our check out----everyone was VERY friendly and welcoming. We were always greeted by someone in passing which was very nice.
We had rented the condo room to accommodate our large family. It was SUPER nice, very clean, full size kitchen, separate big bedroom and the bonus...our own private patio area with grill. We felt at home "being away from home".
We usually have always stayed at Chula Vista in one of the condos, but in my opinion Ambers Hideaway offers something the larger places cant and that was peace and quiet without sooo many people! There were times during our stay that myself and the kids had the whole pool area to ourselves for many hours. In addition I would also like to mention how very nice the pool area is. The pool was warm (kids loved that) and very clean.
I know we have found our "spot" at the Dells after many years and look forward to coming back again next year. The kids even asked "Can we stay 2 weeks there?".
Hoping that the watermelon we left behind in the fridge was able to be taken advantage of by someone :)
See you next year and "thank you" for a wonderful place you have for our family to vacation!

Michelle/Dan and the kids

Room Tip: Love the condo room for our big family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleMarie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Front Office Manager at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi Michelle! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the condo which previously was the owner's living quarters. The private deck and grill are definitely a plus. It's nice to be able to just relax with some privacy and save money as well by eating in. We are glad you guys enjoyed the pool. It usually is between 86-88 degrees and always clean. We thank you again for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Me and my family stayed at Ambers Hideaway July 28-Aug.3 and our stay was wonderful. The hotel and grounds are well cared for, and the rooms are a very good size. We decided to stay at this particular hotel because we were in the dells last year and stayed at a different hotel offering complementary chula vista tickets (very family friendly waterpark). However the hotel we stayed at last year wasn't very nice and AH was very well rated so we decided to give it a chance. All I can really say is that I'm glad we did, The 5 days we were there we ended up going to Chula Vista twice simply because there was a nice pool at AH, they have a basketball hoop, table tennis, volley ball, Bean bag toss, and a very nice playground that my 3 young girls loved. The one thing I thought could have been a bit better was the breakfast (doughnuts, cookies, fruit all 5 days) just wished for a little more variety. However I definitely wont mark them down for that simply because not all hotels that I was considering (including ones much more expensive) even offered breakfast and it did save us some money the couple of days that we ate at the hotel. If and when we return to the dells we will definitely consider Ambers Hideaway again. Thanks again to the owners and staff that made our stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Front Office Manager at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi Juan! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us for 5 nights. We are glad you appreciated both the grounds and the size of the rooms. We are also happy to hear you guys enjoyed the pool here. It is nice to be able to go enjoy the larger water parks and slides, but most people seem to prefer the quiet atmosphere here. We certainly understand what you mean about breakfast. The same thing day in and day out does get redundant. We try to provide coupons and suggestions for other places if you want to switch things up a bit. We would like to thank you again for staying with us and certainly hope to see you again in the future!!!!

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weidman, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at Ambers Hideaway on July 8th and 9th and had a very nice experience. We found the employees to be very kind, friendly, helpful and considerate. The room was clean and roomy. The grounds was very pretty. If we would return to Wisconsin Dells, we would book another stay at Ambers Hideaway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Front Office Manager at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hi Kelly! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, found the staff friendly and helpful, and the rooms were up to your standards. It was a pleasure having you guys stay with us and we do hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed in a king Room very nice, the owner was great we had a little bad weather and he allowed me to put my motorcycle in his garage. will stay again. The weather was cold and we did not use the pool but it was clean and looked very nice. The front desk staff was very helpful in suggesting places to eat and attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Electricmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Front Office Manager at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hello and thank you for writing us a review! We are glad we could help you out with storing your bike during the bad weather. The owners will literally bend over backwards for anyone and try to help out as much as they can. We are sorry the weather wasn't cooperating enough for you to use the pool, but maybe next time! (Don't forget we also include free Chula Vista passes for their indoor and outdoor water park.) We thank you so much for staying with us and definitely hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
3.6 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#38 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
1.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Indian Trail Motel
Indian Trail Motel
#8 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.1 mi away
All Star Inn & Suites
All Star Inn & Suites
#2 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
2.3 mi away
Shamrock Motel Resort & Suites
Shamrock Motel Resort & Suites
#19 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambers Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambers Hideaway

Property: Ambers Hideaway
Address: 1113 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#7 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambers Hideaway 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable rooms at an affordable price! Ambers Hideaway is conveniently located on the quiet side of Wisconsin Dells. We are within walking distance of the historic downtown shops, restaurants, nightly entertainment and the breath taking River Walk. We are also within walking distance of the train depot. Ambers Hideaway offers an outdoor pool and a indoor whirlpool and sitting area, as well as a roof top deck to get a bird's eye view of the Broadway strip . Along with our pools we offer a picnic area already equipped with grills. We also have several outdoor activities for all ages such as basketball, volleyball, badminton, bean bag toss, ping pong, and a swing set and sandbox for the younger ones. Relax around the campfire at night and roast a marshmallow or two. Or try out our beautiful gazebo to relax in and take in all that the dells has to offer, or to book your wedding or special event at. With our hotel being 100% renovated, Ambers offers a variety of room types to suit any family. All rooms have a mini fridge, microwave, blow dryer, iron and board, flat screen TV, alarm clock radio and coffee makers and coffee. We also offer free WI-Fi and discounted tickets throughout the year to a number of Wisconsin Dells attractions. A free 24 hour shuttle to Ho-Chunk casino is available upon request. If you're looking for friendly service and an affordable place, come visit us year round at Ambers Hideaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Ambers Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambers Hideaway Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing