We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont ever stay there”
Review of Colonial Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colonial Motel
Reviewed July 29, 2012

It was the worst experience in my life, owners were very rude, wanted you to be in bed @ 10 because they were all in your face saying that you should be putting your kids to sleep its late,come on we are on vacation we dont need a bby sitter, charged my credit card suposely for a bath matt that i never saw. very disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay better at the Fritzgerald Motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank La Bori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial_Motel, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

We spoke to the customer about her children yelling and running around the balcony's of the Colonial Motel at 2:30am and asked her to please tell her children to stop. The children were also knocking on the doors of other guests and waking them up. The customer explained that she was not the babysitter of the children and let them continue running around.

The customer was charged was charged for 1 bath mat, however, there were towels missing also as reported by the Colonial Motel maid service employees.


Colonial Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 61 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

The manager assaulted one of the people in our room and slammed his hand in the door. Then he called the cops to have us kicked out after we asked for his posted surveillance tape showing the assault. Avoid this place at all costs. Oh yeah the person he assaulted was a member of the United States Military and even said his was NOT at all sorry for doing it!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Walnuts193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial_Motel, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Customer made a reservation for 6 people however, upon arrival, they came with 9 people. From the moment of arrival the customer began to start a party and began excessively drinking. The first complaint from other guest staying at the motel was 6:00pm. I (Colonial Motel manager), approached the room and ask the customer to please quiet down as other guest have been complaining about the loud noise. The guest continued to drink and be disruptive and at 2:00am I (Colonial Motel manager) received multiple complaints from more guests. At this point, we called the Police Department and the Police Officer explained to the customer that the registered 6 people for the room was to stay for the night and the remaining 3 people were to leave the Colonial Motel property.

At this point the Police Officer was assured by the customer that they would be quiet and settle down. After the Police Officer left, the customer began again partying and being disruptive on the room and on the balcony.

At 2:45am the Police were called again as the more guests were complaining about the noise and vulgar language coming from the room. Colonial motel management did not slam the customers hand in a door or assault them. Two customers were handcuffed for obstructing the officer and his party evicted by the Police Department. His hand hurt probably because he was handcuffed. Customer was also very vulgar with the Police Officers and cited for Disorderly Conduct.

If there are any questions, the Police Officer explained that you are welcome to contact the Wisconsin Dells Police Department (608) 253-1161 (Case/Report #: 121775WD) for further information.

Colonial Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Colonial Motel is right on the strip, great for walking right down to the shopping and food. It also has a cute pool with a water slide. I thought the owner was very nice, even made sure to offer us 2 for one at Mt. Olympus coupons. The room was only $50 a night, so obviously it was pretty bare bones. Microwave, tv, bathroom, and beds. It was very very clean though! The only thing I would recommend is to bring a hair dryer! When we were staying it was about 90 degrees the whole time and was worried a little air conditioner wouldn't be enough to keep the room cool, but it did the job great! I would recommend this place to anyone looking to save some money on a trip to the Dells!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xsilvertwilightx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Like another reviewer I too love the old retro motels that remind me of vacations from childhood. We stayed here in July or August 2010. Our last couple of visits to the Dells prior we stayed at a couple of the big waterparks. This time around I wanted to try staying in the downtown part on the strip. I was a bit worried since I believe all the places to stay in this area are old and wasn't sure how it would be. The rates are very cheap but the room and bathroom were very clean. Everything worked good...it has a nice pool that my daughter absolutely loved--and the location is perfect--walking distance to places to eat/shops and attractions downtown. I've spent wayyyy more money at some of the bigger/waterparks and had more issues with the room than this place. Would recommend to anyone looking for something nostalgic and very clean for the value you are getting

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m_you73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

absolutely love this little motel. My boyfriend and I have been visiting the dells for the last four summers and this is the place we always end up. This motel is a little gem straight from the fifties. Whenever, I go to the dells I long for the nostalgia from when I was a child. I yearn for the roadside oddities and campy motels. The Colonial is just that. It is run by a lovely husband and wife team. You can tell that they take pride in their property due to the cleanliness of the rooms and outside area. This is not a luxury hotel, but yet a cute quaint throwback roadside motel. The rooms are simple with a bed, tv, shower and air conditioner. Each room has chairs that are placed outside which is nice for late night people watching and relaxing. The pool is nice, clean, and heated. The most wonderful thing about the colonial is the price. We were able to stay four nights in the dells for less than $170. The room was $44 each night with tax included. I highly recommend this motel to anyone who is looking to save a little money while traveling through the dells.

Oh, and by the way. The couple that run this motel are very nice. The gentleman may seem a bit crass at first impression, but he is actually very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquelineRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The Colonial Motel has a great location close to downtown and easy walking distance to shopping and bars. The motel is one of the cleanest we have ever stayed at. But a few of the downsides-firstly, the owner is not friendly and very cold. Check out is at 10 AM and he was on the phone at 10:01 telling us that it was time to check out! Also, the rooms are very small and have the most uncomfortable beds we have ever slept in. When we were leaving there was no "Thank you come again" Not to worry-we won't be back anyway.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MusicMan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

This hotel is very reasonable among the lot. However we stayed in this hotel during the long weekend and so he charged us 65$ per night for 1 queen bed. (usually it s 38$/ night for 1 queen bed). the hotel is in the heart of the "strip". So all shopping is nearby. The upper dells boat tours are walking distance away.

Hotel is very neat and clean. No serious complaints. Even the bathrooms were very clean. our room was small. it had a microwave. fridge is on request. The room was cozy and nice. No cons as such. Overall a thumbs up if you want to save hundreds of dollars.

Room Tip: No internet, No hair dryer and carry your own shampoo and conditioners. Soap provided
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sandusree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
3.9 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#13 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
3,705 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chula Vista Resort
Chula Vista Resort
#50 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
2,283 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#25 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#58 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
663 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin De...
#20 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Motel

Address: 606 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1552
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: $67 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing