We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the money!!”
Review of Colonial Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colonial Motel
Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for the money!!”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Colonial Motel is right on the strip, great for walking right down to the shopping and food. It also has a cute pool with a water slide. I thought the owner was very nice, even made sure to offer us 2 for one at Mt. Olympus coupons. The room was only $50 a night, so obviously it was pretty bare bones. Microwave, tv, bathroom, and beds. It was very very clean though! The only thing I would recommend is to bring a hair dryer! When we were staying it was about 90 degrees the whole time and was worried a little air conditioner wouldn't be enough to keep the room cool, but it did the job great! I would recommend this place to anyone looking to save some money on a trip to the Dells!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xsilvertwilightx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    10
    6
    5
    11
See reviews for
26
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Homewood, IL
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Like another reviewer I too love the old retro motels that remind me of vacations from childhood. We stayed here in July or August 2010. Our last couple of visits to the Dells prior we stayed at a couple of the big waterparks. This time around I wanted to try staying in the downtown part on the strip. I was a bit worried since I believe all the places to stay in this area are old and wasn't sure how it would be. The rates are very cheap but the room and bathroom were very clean. Everything worked good...it has a nice pool that my daughter absolutely loved--and the location is perfect--walking distance to places to eat/shops and attractions downtown. I've spent wayyyy more money at some of the bigger/waterparks and had more issues with the room than this place. Would recommend to anyone looking for something nostalgic and very clean for the value you are getting

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m_you73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

absolutely love this little motel. My boyfriend and I have been visiting the dells for the last four summers and this is the place we always end up. This motel is a little gem straight from the fifties. Whenever, I go to the dells I long for the nostalgia from when I was a child. I yearn for the roadside oddities and campy motels. The Colonial is just that. It is run by a lovely husband and wife team. You can tell that they take pride in their property due to the cleanliness of the rooms and outside area. This is not a luxury hotel, but yet a cute quaint throwback roadside motel. The rooms are simple with a bed, tv, shower and air conditioner. Each room has chairs that are placed outside which is nice for late night people watching and relaxing. The pool is nice, clean, and heated. The most wonderful thing about the colonial is the price. We were able to stay four nights in the dells for less than $170. The room was $44 each night with tax included. I highly recommend this motel to anyone who is looking to save a little money while traveling through the dells.

Oh, and by the way. The couple that run this motel are very nice. The gentleman may seem a bit crass at first impression, but he is actually very nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquelineRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGregor, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The Colonial Motel has a great location close to downtown and easy walking distance to shopping and bars. The motel is one of the cleanest we have ever stayed at. But a few of the downsides-firstly, the owner is not friendly and very cold. Check out is at 10 AM and he was on the phone at 10:01 telling us that it was time to check out! Also, the rooms are very small and have the most uncomfortable beds we have ever slept in. When we were leaving there was no "Thank you come again" Not to worry-we won't be back anyway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MusicMan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

This hotel is very reasonable among the lot. However we stayed in this hotel during the long weekend and so he charged us 65$ per night for 1 queen bed. (usually it s 38$/ night for 1 queen bed). the hotel is in the heart of the "strip". So all shopping is nearby. The upper dells boat tours are walking distance away.

Hotel is very neat and clean. No serious complaints. Even the bathrooms were very clean. our room was small. it had a microwave. fridge is on request. The room was cozy and nice. No cons as such. Overall a thumbs up if you want to save hundreds of dollars.

Room Tip: No internet, No hair dryer and carry your own shampoo and conditioners. Soap provided
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sandusree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed at the Colonial Motel over the last weekend. The hotel is right on Broadway Street in downtown Wisconsin Dells. It is a perfect location and very close to the restaurants and bars. Great price and clean rooms. We will come back for sure next summer and tell our friends!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AGolem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Our last minute trip to the Dells turned out better than we had hoped mostly because of the nice, clean, friendly Colonial Motel. The last trip to the Dells, we spent triple the money for a room that was dirty, noisy, with a horrible outdoor pool at motel chain. The Colonial is well maintained, the pool was crystal clear, and air conditioner worked almost too well. We will keep this on our get-away list and I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poberezny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
899 reviews
1.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
375 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#19 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#26 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
274 reviews
0.5 mi away
All Star Inn & Suites
All Star Inn & Suites
#2 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
819 reviews
0.3 mi away
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
#1 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Motel

Property: Colonial Motel
Address: 606 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1552
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing