We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service”
Review of River Road Motel

River Road Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River Road Motel
Ranked #48 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The customer service here was AWFUL! When we first pulled into the parking lot, the owner was sitting upstairs on the balcony above the office and didn't even come down to check us in. We didn't know it was the owner at the time, but after waiting almost 15 minutes we got back in our car to try again later. As soon as we did, we saw him come down and go inside. He never smiled, greeted us, or made eye contact. He barely even spoke to us, and when he did it was an almost unintelligible mumble. He silently slid the key across the counter without saying anything to the effect of "Have a nice stay." Our room had no alarm clock (first motel I've ever seen that did not), and I called to request a wake-up call for 4:45 am only to be rudely informed, "Yeah, that's not gonna happen." If they are not going to provide alarm clocks, they need to at least invest in an automated wake-up call system. At the very least, be polite and explain why an early wake-up call is not possible. There were flies in the room, and the water pressure in the shower was pitiful. We stayed here because it was the lowest-priced motel we found in the area, and I would have gladly paid more for friendlier service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 46 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

This motel is in a great location (2 parking lots behind Nig's bar) off the strip. We (Me, my husband, 2 kids ages 7 and 11) saved money by staying here 4 nights and were able to enjoy all our favorite activities. Upon arrival we were given wristbands to Chula Vista water park for the entire length of our stay, and 2 coupon books that gave many discounts to local restaurants and attractions that we used throughout our visit. The rooms have a microwave and refrigerator and were very spacious, could even set up an air mattress if you need to. The staff is friendly and our family will be returning to River Road Motel next year. Why stay anywhere else for $65/night weekdays and $85/night weekends during peek season.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicnJaxmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

When the wife and I come to the dells by ourselves without the grandkids we always stay here..the rooms are clean and comfy,,,the owners are nice and the rates are great....we dont need a pool and like to walk around downtown so this place is perfect..when we bring the grandkids we have to have a pool and go to the grand marquis then....We have never been offered Chula Vista passes here...must be something new or the other reviewers we mistaken....but anyway would highly recommend this motel!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We (2 adults, 2 kids ages 6 and 9) stayed here one night for a weekend getaway in March. For $65 we got a decent sized room with 2 queen beds, a fantastic downtown location, and 4 waterpark passes to Chula Vista Resort (a pretty 10 minute drive down the road.) It was a great deal and we will absolutely take advantage of it again. The room was very basic but we just used it for sleep. If you need a "chain hotel atmosphere" or a luxury room, this is not the place for you. If you need a clean place to sleep the night while getting to play in the Dells, this is a great deal.
Easy walk to downtown attractions, riverwalk, restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: It's a 2 story motel. Ask for ground floor if you can't do the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bodee1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is definitely a motel not a hotel or resort. That said...why stay at a hotel or resort for three times the cost when you can get everything for less? Yes, the tv is small however, I did not drive 200 miles for my children to sit in a hotel room and watch television. And, my children 13, 11, 9 watched the small tv before bedtime with not one complaint. Plenty of cable channels to choose from. The owners are friendly and helpful, the room and bathroom VERY clean, the microwave and fridge were a nice bonus. Although my children were dissappointed there wasn't a pool they were very excited for the free water park passes valid for EACH day of stay. (Chula Vista water park less than 5 minutes drive away). I enjoyed the fact that absolutely everything downtown is within walking distance so no need for mom to find/pay for parking. We stayed a Monday & Tuesday night in a double and it was $55 per night (including the waterpark tickets and a 25% savings coupon for many attractions). The money we saved by not staying at a resort allowed us to enjoy more attractions...definitely reccommend the Jet Boat Adventures. If we return to the Dells, we will return to the RIver Road Motel. I wouldn't waste money on a room we litterally just used to sleep in.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Momof3Polo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This is a great place to stay. Not a brand new motel or anything, but rooms have a microwave & fridge, and are clean with cheap rates. A smart choice if you'd rather spend more money on having fun in the Dells rather than just on your room. Easy walking distance from everything downtown, so no driving back from the bars at 2am.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sykogecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I was in the Dells with a group. I had to book more or less at the last minute and the motel where my group was staying was full. The rooms were in decent shape. The bathroom was clean but the shower had no water pressure and left something to be desired. The owner didnt seem to like noise when my wife hit the panic alarm button on her car remote instead of lock. He seemed drunk and yelled "SHUT UP" when the alarm was going off. Place is clean and near old downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keiko96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin Dells
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin D...
#28 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Indian Trail Motel
Indian Trail Motel
#15 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gables Motel
Gables Motel
#67 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#45 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Inn
River Inn
#31 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
52 reviews
0.8 mi away
All Star Inn & Suites
All Star Inn & Suites
#2 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Road Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Road Motel

Address: 828 River Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1421
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#19 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: $49 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River Road Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your River Road Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Road Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing