We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for the price its a great motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Road Motel

River Road Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River Road Motel
Ranked #34 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Prior Lake
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“for the price its a great motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

When the wife and I come to the dells by ourselves without the grandkids we always stay here..the rooms are clean and comfy,,,the owners are nice and the rates are great....we dont need a pool and like to walk around downtown so this place is perfect..when we bring the grandkids we have to have a pool and go to the grand marquis then....We have never been offered Chula Vista passes here...must be something new or the other reviewers we mistaken....but anyway would highly recommend this motel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We (2 adults, 2 kids ages 6 and 9) stayed here one night for a weekend getaway in March. For $65 we got a decent sized room with 2 queen beds, a fantastic downtown location, and 4 waterpark passes to Chula Vista Resort (a pretty 10 minute drive down the road.) It was a great deal and we will absolutely take advantage of it again. The room was very basic but we just used it for sleep. If you need a "chain hotel atmosphere" or a luxury room, this is not the place for you. If you need a clean place to sleep the night while getting to play in the Dells, this is a great deal.
Easy walk to downtown attractions, riverwalk, restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: It's a 2 story motel. Ask for ground floor if you can't do the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bodee1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is definitely a motel not a hotel or resort. That said...why stay at a hotel or resort for three times the cost when you can get everything for less? Yes, the tv is small however, I did not drive 200 miles for my children to sit in a hotel room and watch television. And, my children 13, 11, 9 watched the small tv before bedtime with not one complaint. Plenty of cable channels to choose from. The owners are friendly and helpful, the room and bathroom VERY clean, the microwave and fridge were a nice bonus. Although my children were dissappointed there wasn't a pool they were very excited for the free water park passes valid for EACH day of stay. (Chula Vista water park less than 5 minutes drive away). I enjoyed the fact that absolutely everything downtown is within walking distance so no need for mom to find/pay for parking. We stayed a Monday & Tuesday night in a double and it was $55 per night (including the waterpark tickets and a 25% savings coupon for many attractions). The money we saved by not staying at a resort allowed us to enjoy more attractions...definitely reccommend the Jet Boat Adventures. If we return to the Dells, we will return to the RIver Road Motel. I wouldn't waste money on a room we litterally just used to sleep in.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Momof3Polo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This is a great place to stay. Not a brand new motel or anything, but rooms have a microwave & fridge, and are clean with cheap rates. A smart choice if you'd rather spend more money on having fun in the Dells rather than just on your room. Easy walking distance from everything downtown, so no driving back from the bars at 2am.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sykogecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

I was in the Dells with a group. I had to book more or less at the last minute and the motel where my group was staying was full. The rooms were in decent shape. The bathroom was clean but the shower had no water pressure and left something to be desired. The owner didnt seem to like noise when my wife hit the panic alarm button on her car remote instead of lock. He seemed drunk and yelled "SHUT UP" when the alarm was going off. Place is clean and near old downtown.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keiko96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franksville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

To be honest, no frills but a nice quiet and reasonably clean motel. Just a Saturday over nighter with one double bed and a cool air conditioned room on a HOT and HUMID August evening. Check in was effortless and though the stairs to the upper room could be non-negotiable after a few cocktails (steep), room was well kept and inviting after a day in the sun.

Located behind Nigs, I'd pick it over the Top Hat but both are showing their age and revamping is a distant thought. Short walk (under a block) to the OLD Dells downtown and shops and a great Sunday morning breakfast at the Keg just one more block from the main drag. The room could be a little cleaner with years of wear and imbedded grime on the arm of the chairs in front of the window but over all, it was $72.00 total with the tax and I'm sure it doesn't include maid service!

We've been to all the resorts and upper end hotels with the waterparks but if you're looking for "a bed for the night", highly recommended and when all those parks close in the winter, rates are even cheaper at the River Road. Only saying, economical room, quiet area and serves the purpose for a night!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RUMMAGETHENET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

my wife and I spent 1 night here because everything else was sold out . we got the room for 65.00 for a saturday night, room was ok, nothing fancy just a basic older room wish tv was bigger, no swimming pool switched hotels for sunday night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tank66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#55 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#39 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gables Motel
Gables Motel
#52 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Day's End Motel
Day's End Motel
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.6 mi away
Indian Trail Motel
Indian Trail Motel
#4 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Rose Inns
White Rose Inns
#10 of 16 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Road Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Road Motel

Property: River Road Motel
Address: 828 River Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1421
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#19 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River Road Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your River Road Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Road Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing