We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“With an excellent location and an excellent price, it's worth staying here for those weekend trips to The Dells.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Road Motel

River Road Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River Road Motel
Ranked #36 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“With an excellent location and an excellent price, it's worth staying here for those weekend trips to The Dells.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This is a great place to stay. Not a brand new motel or anything, but rooms have a microwave & fridge, and are clean with cheap rates. A smart choice if you'd rather spend more money on having fun in the Dells rather than just on your room. Easy walking distance from everything downtown, so no driving back from the bars at 2am.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sykogecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

I was in the Dells with a group. I had to book more or less at the last minute and the motel where my group was staying was full. The rooms were in decent shape. The bathroom was clean but the shower had no water pressure and left something to be desired. The owner didnt seem to like noise when my wife hit the panic alarm button on her car remote instead of lock. He seemed drunk and yelled "SHUT UP" when the alarm was going off. Place is clean and near old downtown.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keiko96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franksville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

To be honest, no frills but a nice quiet and reasonably clean motel. Just a Saturday over nighter with one double bed and a cool air conditioned room on a HOT and HUMID August evening. Check in was effortless and though the stairs to the upper room could be non-negotiable after a few cocktails (steep), room was well kept and inviting after a day in the sun.

Located behind Nigs, I'd pick it over the Top Hat but both are showing their age and revamping is a distant thought. Short walk (under a block) to the OLD Dells downtown and shops and a great Sunday morning breakfast at the Keg just one more block from the main drag. The room could be a little cleaner with years of wear and imbedded grime on the arm of the chairs in front of the window but over all, it was $72.00 total with the tax and I'm sure it doesn't include maid service!

We've been to all the resorts and upper end hotels with the waterparks but if you're looking for "a bed for the night", highly recommended and when all those parks close in the winter, rates are even cheaper at the River Road. Only saying, economical room, quiet area and serves the purpose for a night!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RUMMAGETHENET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

my wife and I spent 1 night here because everything else was sold out . we got the room for 65.00 for a saturday night, room was ok, nothing fancy just a basic older room wish tv was bigger, no swimming pool switched hotels for sunday night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tank66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#55 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin Dells
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin D...
#34 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#38 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gables Motel
Gables Motel
#52 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Indian Trail Motel
Indian Trail Motel
#4 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
3.4 mi away
Day's End Motel
Day's End Motel
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Road Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Road Motel

Property: River Road Motel
Address: 828 River Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1421
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#19 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River Road Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your River Road Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Road Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing