We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey! But the kids loved it!”
Review of Dells Mining Co.

Dells Mining Co.
Ranked #2 of 16 Shopping in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pricey! But the kids loved it!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I tried to use the coupon for the white bucket atthe store downtown, but the young teen running the place had me completely lost when he tried explaining all the combo's of better deals. He sounded like he was reading right off a script. He said only save shiny and clear ones. My youngest is 6, he was having a blast saving everything, even plain rocks, and the worker kid came over and said nope, you can't take those and dumped them out!!!! Then they have you collect all your rocks in a bag, again the worker says take only your big rocks to the "gemologist" and I'll sort through your smaller stones. Of course we get up and walk away and he dumps everything into the water! :-( Our 2 red buckets had gems in baggies but to me they look fake. My boys loved the experience with the sand but i walked out feeling less than happy, and $50 poorer!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mommyalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    50
    29
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MN
Level Contributor
262 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fun Time”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was a fun way to enjoy some old fashion mining. We purchased a bucket and it took a good hour to go through and find all the precious stones we wanted to keep. Then later we spent more time sorting through and chosing our favorites. It is also a nice keepsake of our trip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Relaxing fun”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Went there to just look around a little and then we decided to "go mining". My husband and I bought the $30 bucket and had so much fun mining for "treasure". Just a fun time.But they do try to get you to take your rocks and make jewelry out of it...but all in all a good time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun activity for kids”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had a Splash card which meant we could purchase any bucket and get another bucket free. Our two boys, ages 8 and 3 love moving the sand back and forth in the water. Then also enjoy learning about what kind of rocks they found afterwards. This time we had a lady who was so interested in telling the kids about their gems, which is too bad because I was totally going to have one of them cut into something since it was a very pretty Tigers eye. Instead we decided to buy one already cut for $1..... well worth the price!! We will be back on our next Dells visit. Would have given a 5 star review if our lady would have been more excited about our kids finds! Maybe next time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Krista A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun time”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Took our three kids here, ages 16, 10 and 7 . They shared a red $30 bucket and a free white one (with coupon) they had a great time looking for nice stones and afterwards we went over to the jewlery counter so the young lady could tell us what treasures we had. She didn't hassle us to buy anything ie settings and such. It was a great time!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sarahrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dells Mining Co. also viewed

 

Been to Dells Mining Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing