We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nostalgia and Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Sky Drive In

Big Sky Drive In
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nostalgia and Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I loved this place and it was one of the things I really wanted to do on our weekend getaway...it's so rare to find a Drive in Movie Theatre anymore, and what a neat thing to do--before they all go away. It was $8 per adult and $5 per kids under 11. The movie starts at dark (for us that was 8:30 pm). They have two screens (one for family friendly movies and one for adult movies--but they don't let you cross screens). They show a double feature every night, but I am not sure whose kids can stay awake past 10:30 or 11pm to watch a second movie. Their snack bar is awesomeness--popcorn, burgers, hot dogs, candy galore--eveything you could need...just really loved this experience!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chicago60614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    38
    11
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend an evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Having never been to a drive in movie before - we were very excited to go here - it was brilliant - the kids sat on the car roof at midnight watching the movie - we bought popcorn and a burger which were typically American but the tasted great in the night time air under the stars

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bar200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenup, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old time drive in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

This drive in was unique. Had 2 screens one at each end. Our trip we traveled via motorcycle yet we were still able to watch 2 great movies for 1 great low price by renting a small radio for 2 dollars.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jumanjigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Affordable Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Great to see these are still around! And the prices are very affordable! $8 per person and $5 large popcorn! Love it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sarahrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Laid Back, Relaxing time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great movie playing, they give you 2 movies for 1, but we didn't stay for the 2nd. Too tired...lol. Yummy popcorn, corn dog, and burger. Very relaxing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cubswin44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Sky Drive In also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Big Sky Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing