We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going back in time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Sky Drive In

Big Sky Drive In
Attraction details
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Going back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

This place bring you right back in time. I don't think anything has changed here for decades. Brought back good memories for me and made new ones for the kids. All this for a price cheaper then a theater.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Clive Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    37
    11
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We have 3 small kids and this is our favorite way to have a family movie night. Lots of room for the kids to run and play before hand. Good pricing. Bring a blanket & chairs and don't forget the bug spray!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank widellsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Drive In Theater!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was my first drive-in experience, and I loved it! It was pretty hot out the day we went, so we were sweating up a storm. I would suggest trying it on a cooler day. The movie was great, good quality, the concessions were yummy, and everything was reasonably priced. Overall, we had a good time. I will definitely visit again!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Blast from the past”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I am directionally challenged, so I had a difficult time finding it at first. It is definitely a blast from the past in terms of decor and environment. We got there early, so we had time to eat and the kids had time to play frisbee and soccer before the movie started. The food was okay, nothing special. I had the cheese tator tots, which were ok and a grape/lemon-lime slushie. It had a strange taste,but it may have been because of the flavor combination. My sister had the mini-tacos and she really like them. The popcorn was okay. It could have used a little more butter. It was a little dry. I noticed a lot of families brought coolers and tailgated before the movie. I would recommend doing this. The movie screen showed the movies very well without any uneveness etc, whcih was surprising because the screen looks old. We sat outside for a little while and listened to the movie through out cell phone. When the mosquitos started biting, we sat in the car and watched from there. Althought it was a double feature, the kids were falling asleep, so we only saw a brief portion of the second movie. Overall, it was a nice experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Me1B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A great experience for my family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We went there in May. The grass were mowed well and the snacks were great. There were people and kids in PJs in Lawn chairs, kids playing Frisbee before movie started. Someone brought their own grills in the back of their truck. My husband, my 3 year old and I stayed on the blanket we brought on the grass. The only thing that bothered us were the mosquitoes, which always seem to be a problem for this type of activities. The bug spray we brought did not help much. However, we still had a great time. My 3 year old fell in sleep during the middle and I did at the 2nd movie. My husband got our money worth and stayed till 1:30 am. lol. It was our 1st family drive in experience.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Sky Drive In also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Big Sky Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing