We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Birchcliff Resort
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$144
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Wolf Lodge(Wisconsin Dells)
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada by Wyndham Wisconsin Dells(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$127
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Hawk Motel & Suites(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alakai Hotel and Suites(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamrock Motel Resort & Suites(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$125
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delton Grand Resort & Spa(Wisconsin Dells)
$290
$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
74
23
4
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
23
4
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsping pongduplex cabindowntown dellsvolleyball netcentral airgreat place for familiesbasketball courtpots pansfamily reunionfire pitwisconsin riverenjoyed our staylong weekendgreat familyliving roomfirst floorhotel room
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 107 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We looked at SO many places and it was hard to find one that would accommodate our annual 4 day, 3 night LARGE family reunion. Birchcliff offered enough cabins which varied in size and price, including being dog friendly for our family members who feel strongly about bringing their beloved pups along. We could not have been happier, all 70 of us! The campfire area is wonderful, encircled with wooden adirondack chairs in all sizes that were hand made by one of the family members who run and own Birchcliff. What an amazing caring thing to do for their guests. One of my 80 year old uncles was recovering from back surgery and when the owner saw how much trouble he had walking, he and his son offered to give him and my Aunt a ride to our family dinners in the dining hall in the golf carts they use to take care of the grounds. These people don't just "run" Birchcliff.... they LOVE what they do and it comes through by the way they treat their guest. Oh, and it is beautiful & well cared for. You would never know how close it is to all the hub bub of the Dells and it's attractions. As for me, I was happy staying right there for the four days while younger family members were off at a water park. We had a moonlight swim instead. :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tatsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in one of the duplex cabins with the loft. Our two young sons loved the spiral staircase to the loft area. The room was nice and comfortable. It was great having a full size fridge and the 2 burner cook top - we saved a lot on meals. The grounds are nice and the resort was very quiet which was great. The pool was perfect.

If I could suggest one thing, it is that the owners set aside some funds every few years to update the rec room and sporting equipment. The rec room games were falling apart. My boys love air hockey, but the puck was so worn that there was no raised edge under it to allow the air to lift it. The only ping pong ball for the table was dented. Outside the basketball was completely bald and worn and the tennis equipment was in pretty bad shape. I realize that not many people play those games anymore, but it was fun to have them available for young kids who still do enjoy them - just wish the equipment was in better shape.

Overall I would recommend this place as a great place for families that is close to the attractions, and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We came here right at the end of June. We had a group of 9 people and we LOVED it.

The cabin we got was right as you drove up and had a communal fire pit right behind it. That was nice because it meant we didn't have to go far to be by the fire. We were also right close to the pool. The weekend we went during was colder and rainy but we were still able to enjoy a dip in the pool.

The cabin itself was awesome! It had central air which was awesome. There were 2 room on the first floor and then a attic room with an additional 2 beds. The living room was nice and the BEST part was that there was a 10 person dining table. This was great becuase it meant we all got to sit together and enjoy our emails. The kitchen utensils were plenty and we were able to cook everything with them - steaks, shrimp, chicken, vegetables, salad, etc. The place really had everything we needed.

The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were nice. Everyone in our party really enjoyed themselves. One of the best parts about this place was that it was only about 1.5 miles away from downtown wisconsin dells yet it was situated in the woods so you felt like you were really getting "away". There is also a little trail that was about 3/4ths of a mile which would lead you to the beach where you could fish or even swim.

I would definitely stay here again. We never heard anyone else, the grounds were clean, the cabins were great and the staff was awesome. Loved this place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 95JessH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Thank you Joe and Janice and family for a wonderful stay at Brichcliff! My husband and 3 kids ages 8,11 and 15 had a great time. This resort has everything we need - a WARM pool, game room with ping pong, foosball, carpetball, outdoor games. Elwood the goat (called Mr Chubbs by us) was a major hit with the kids and Gordy (Jingles to us) was the friendliest cat we have ever met. We also liked the trail and access to the lake and fishing. Be careful though, getting down to the water is rather steep and you can pick up a tick or two on the way. The cabins were nice, clean and spacious for the 5 of us - we stayed in the duplex with the loft. We were the only ones using the pool - they do give free tickets to Chula Vista which is really close to the resort. My kids were anxious to get back from the water parks so we could hang out at "our place" and play games and swim.
A really nice place with really nice people.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank staythecourse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanoBanano, Manager at Birchcliff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

I remember your wonderful family very well, we enjoyed having you stay with us. Your comments have filled my heart and sole with joy. I am thrilled to know you had such good experiences while you stayed with us. And yes.......Elwood the goat and Gordy the cat enjoyed you as well !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our large geographically displaced family made plans to meet in the Dells for a vacation. Only two family members knew the area. The rest of us were coming from other states. I dont understand where the one lady is saying about the staff AT ALL! They were great! They helped make the stay relaxing and fun for us for the week.
The large pool was clean and inviting. Lots of stuff for the kids to do. We had two special needs kids, and they had a great time. Every night theres a supervised campfire.
About cleanliness: There are many cabin sizes and styles to choose from. One cabin style had two levels. The lower level was partially underground, and did have a mildew issue. When I inquired with the staff, they came right away to clean. The problem is they use green cleaning products that might not do the whole job, and our large group with multiple showers and towels from the pool, it was a lot of humidity, too much for the fan to dry up. We understood it's a cabin, not the taj mahal! And the staff cleaned frequently enough to keep dirt at bay.
So i would recommend birchcliff to anybody looking for a relaxing informal resort. We will definitely be back when we return to the Dells.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thereforu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews