We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent caring staff”
Review of Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Resort
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My adult disabled son had a seizure on the wave pool deck. The staff was exceptional. What could have been extremely serious was handled with speed and sensitively. We have been to Chula, Wolf, and Calahari and I would recommend Wilderness above all three.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room facing the woods. Very private balcony and no need to shut drapes for priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,037)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,494 - 1,500 of 3,037 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed here around Christmas time. First time at this location and will be the last time. The room was okay, but the 1 shuttle driver that picked us up and took us to the waterpark was a jerk. We asked which waterpark he thought was best, and he gave us nothing but attitude. Not all were like that, but one in particular. The waterpark(s) here are spread out and its confusing to navigate, as is the whole complex. Most of the rides are less than spectacular. The wave pool was pretty good though. Staff is young and inexpericenced and unable to help answer some of the basic questions. The towel cards are a pain!!! Next time I will pay a little more and stay at Kalahari or Chula Vista.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

3rd stay for us with early grade school grandchildren. Always enjoyable (til I can't climb waterslide stairs anymore; turning 60 this year!) Attractions well designed for all ages. Total INDOOR trekking to waterparks from main lodge is GREAT! Clean towel swap at all parks is convenient, keeps personal towels dry for hallway travels. Discount mail offers are appreciated. Wilderness keeps us coming back!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed here for a family reunion and had a great time. We had the four villa units in one building, which worked well. Frankly the units themselves are dated as is most of the hotel, but that's not what it's about. The water parks were great and getting a cabana was cheap and convenient. Much of the hotel's features were overpriced, but that is to be expected. The fitness center (a tiny room) was awful, frankly, but other than that we were pretty pleased with the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAD_ORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We come about 2 times a year. And we have to admit we love it more and more every time. This time we stayed in the 500 rooms. And during the MLK holiday. We were surprised to see this many people in January and yet have enough space to choose any pool we wanted. As you may already know this resort has 3 large indoor waterparks. So there is no possible way to be bored. The price is incredibly cheap. We highly recommend this for any family with any age children or no children at all.

Room Tip: 2nd floor 500 area. Easily accessible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rpm1774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We went on a family vacation to the Wilderness in January. Our group consisted of 10 people ranged from 1 year to 57 years old. We all had a great time! We stayed in the 4 bedroom condo and loved it! On our first visit we were concerned about having to take the shuttle from the condo in order to get to the waterparks (January weather can be a little chilly in a swimsuit), but they come right to the front door of the condo and drop you off right outside the waterparks' doors. We even wore flip-flops to and from the pool with no problem. The condo has lots of extra space and would easily accommodate many more people. The full kitchen helped with reducing cost as we brought all our own meals and drinks. Waterparks were great for all ages and took up most of our time. We also did mini golf which was fun and relatively inexpensive for our large family. This was our second visit to the Wilderness and I know we will be repeating the trip in the upcoming years.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The only reason I did not rate this place five stars is because the condo we stayed in was not very clean. There was dust all over the place, the wood trim was grimy, the condo smelled like must, and the floors were dirty. It needs a deep cleaning vs. just a cosmetic touch - especially since the condos are pricey.

However, very fun and CUSTOMER SERVICE was EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esme2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.3 mi away
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Glacier Canyon Lodge
#17 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
892 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
0.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#28 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
324 reviews
3 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#27 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
982 reviews
2.8 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#58 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Resort

Address: 511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9648
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#14 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: $89 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play the day away in America's largest waterpark resort! The Wilderness has 4 indoor and 4 outdoor water parks totaling nearly 500,000 square feet (that is over 12 football fields of water fun!) We also have an indoor, 3-D, black light mini golf course; a ropes course, virtual reality gaming for up to 7 players, outdoor mini golf; zip lining; go-karts; laser tag; Wild Rock Championship Golf Club; and award-winning spa services at Sundara Spa. Amazing lodging options include Wilderness themed guest rooms, condos, villas and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Resort Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wi Dells
Wilderness Resort Wi Dells
Resort Wilderness Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing