We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving Getaway”
Review of Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Resort
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Getaway”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Our family of five (kids 15,12 & 7) stayed at Wildreness Thursday - Saturday Thanksgiving weekend. Overall we had a great time. The facilities were clean (with the exception of the restaurant, which I'll get to later), especially for how busy it was. After reading reviews here on TA I called ahead to request we NOT get a room on 2nd floor - boy was I thankful to TA for that tip! There was heavy traffic on 2nd fl going between waterparks and activities all day and most of the night. We did the fun pass, purchased in advance so there was a few $ off, and it was very worth it. The sky ropes course was great as was the laser tag and black light mini golf. A couple of the water slides were actually scary (this from a family that's done every ride at SeaWorld and Busch Gardens). We spent a lot of time in the wave pool because the building allowed sunlight and there were tropical plants... we felt almost like we were in Florida :) Our only complaint about the waterparks was that there were slides that weren't open on days when the hotel was completely booked. I don't know if there were mechanical issues or staffing issues - but with the knowledge that it'd be that crowded I'd think priority would be to have everything running. It wasn't just one or two- it was several.
The restaurant that served thanksgiving buffet ought to be shut down by the health dept. I once worked in hotel food service and I'm aware of violations and I saw many. I'm shocked no one in our fam got sick. The lines were incredible and even if you had a reservation you had to wait 20-30min. Hostess was very rude. Food was scattered all over the buffet service area. Serving utensils were missing. Many dishes were just empty. Food was all over the floor. Last but not least, they had a chocolate fountain on the desert table with marshmallows and strawberries to stab with a toothpick and dip - kids had their fingers in the chocolate and licking them, then back into the chocolate. Marshmallows all over the table, floating in the fountain, dirty table cloth. Makes me nauseous just thinking about it. Insult to injury- it was $100 for our five to be grossed out. We opted to eat all remaining meals OUT. Moose Jaw was good.
All in all- we'd definitely go back, probably in summer. And definitely eat elsewhere ;)

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dawnMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,240
    810
    381
    218
    219
See reviews for
2,085
135
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were on the wilderness hotel to spend a night with my girlfriend on Jan 5th 2014; however, it is not worth the money at all.

1. The water in the indoor water park is cold. Even a couple a degree up is much more better. Do you want the kid to get cold?
2. The walkway in the 2nd floor is very cold too, especially at the night? Why can't wilderness turn the heater up? All the buttons in the walkway of the 2nd floor is pulled out so guests cannot adjust to temperature.
3. Wild West Indoor water park was closed early at 3 pm on Jan 5th and closed at Jan 6th for no obvious reasons. It is not in maintenance or some construction. I bet wilderness just want to save money by closing the park. Thumbs down.
4. The rides normally has two pools. Half of the pools on every ride is closed for no obvious reasons. Wilderness want to save money again.
5. It takes us a while to climb up the stairs. it is very cold waiting in the line. Turn the heater up!
6. The arcade room requires 50 cents to purchase the arcade card in order to play! I have been to many arcades places and none or them requires you to purchase a card in order to play!
7. We payed for expensive hotel rooms, and we do not get free lockers near the water park? By the way, the cost for the locker is $6 dollars per day, which is quite insane.
8. In the vending machine, a single beverage cost $2.50. It is the most expensive vending machine I've ever seen in my entire life.
9. The staffs is not very friendly.
10. Bathtub in the room is super small.
11. I hate the towel pass. If you lost either the towel or the towel pass, you will be charged for $25 dollars for a single creepy towel. Most people are just laying the towels in the chairs/tables. If the towel is gone you will lost $25!. In the towel pass it says that the initiative is to save water by allowing you to only take one towel and charge fee for lost one, but I guess the initiative is to suck the money from guests.
12. The smell of disinfectants in the indoor water parks sucks
13. The bed is not that comfy.
14. All in all, this hotel does not worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We love the Wilderness! This year we rang in the New Year and stayed 4 nights. So much to do and so many activities for all ages to have fun. The entire staff was friendly and attentive. We loved that our room had a fridge, an island to sit at and a microwave. My husband and I even enjoyed "date night" at Field's while the kids had a pizza in the room. The food, service, and ambiance at Field's was outstanding! Highly recommend if you are looking for a fancy night out with your significant other. The water parks are SOOOO... much fun. Be prepared to walk a lot (good exercise!) and have yourself a great time! We took advantage of the ski mountain nearby one day as well. All in all, a fun winter vacation for the entire family.

Room Tip: Choose top floor for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We recently returned from an enjoyable two-night stay at the Wilderness Territory Resort in the Wisconsin Dells (January 1-3). We're a family of seven with a child in a wheelchair and a preschooler, so we indulged in a condo in Glacier Canyon Lodge. In most ways, it was a great getaway -- who could complain about walking around in a bathing suit in sunshine and 80 degree temps when the windchill is something like -20 out? But we did run into a few problems that other travelers may want to be aware of.

1. If you're staying during "peak" days, don't count on the "guarantee" of your room being ready by 4 pm. When we finally got the OK from the front desk that the room was ready, we dragged everything inside and up to the fourth floor only to discover that, in fact, they'd only just begun to clean. When we followed up with the manager, we were told that the best she would do to back up the "guarantee" (which is repeated everywhere) would be to let us check out an hour later.*

2. Since we last stayed here, the resort has made a few money-saving changes. One good change is a system that automatically sets the room's energy use to "efficiency" mode when you remove the key card from the temperature control panel. The other, though, is that they will now charge you if you lose (or "misplace") one of their swimming towels...$25 per towel. That's $25 per towel ($175 in our case) even if you return to your table to find your towels taken by someone else (probably by accident, since the towels aren't worth that much). So, unless you feel comfortable leaving that kind of cash sitting around at your table while you enjoy the waterpark, our advice would be to bring your own towels.

3. If you're using a wheelchair or depending on getting around with a stroller, think twice. Much of the park isn't wheelchair-friendly. In particular, the only indoor access to the Wild Water Dome involves going up and then down two large sets of stairs. We were fortunate that so many guests cheerfully offered to help us carry the wheelchair up and down the stairs while we carried our child. The water park does offer a shuttle service; however, in the winter that involves a) getting everyone completely dried and dressed to go outside (given the dangerous windchills), and b) calling to request the one lift-equipped shuttle, and c) waiting for the shuttle to show up, and d) repeating the process again on the return trip -- easily more than an hour's trouble to traverse fifty feet.

4. If you're booking during a peak period (e.g., when kids are off from school), be advised that the facilities may at times feel a tad overcrowded. Competition for tables is -- well, not quite fierce, this being the Midwest, but intense; arrive first thing in the morning if you need a table near the water (e.g., you have a disability). The wave pool was so crowded one afternoon that the lifeguards kept stopping it multiple times to address safety issues (much to their credit), including pulling out a little kid who shouldn't have been in there. (We weren't concerned about safety with our older kids, ages 8-13, but something to be aware of.) The hot tub was packed very, very tight by late afternoon. Again, just something to be prepared for.

5. Food prices on site are through the roof, e.g., $4 for a slice of pizza. Plan accordingly, or shell out for a room with a kitchen and then bring groceries. (Their posted policy is to confiscate non-resort food brought into the pool area, although we saw families with coolers and lunch sacks, and non of the college-age staff seemed to notice -- to their credit.)

On the up side, most of the staff (with the exception of a single manager) were very cheerful, helpful, and pleasant. The crowds of guests seemed happy to be somewhere warm and wet, and were patient and courteous and helpful to one another. The two-bedroom condo we got in Glacier Canyon was very nicely appointed with full kitchen facilities and entertainment options, and the beds and bathrooms were very clean and comfortable. (We wished we'd remembered to bring paper towels and napkins, though.)

Would we recommend Wilderness Territory to others? Yep, with the caveats listed above. Will we go again? Unless the accessibility situation improves, that's unlikely, at least during the winter.

* Getting back to the get-your-room-by-4 guarantee: The six people cleaning the room worked very quickly and were understandably very apologetic and even a bit frantic. It's understandable that they would be behind, considering the place was booked solid. But the management should have staffed up to handle the rush. Moreover, the management should either 1) drop the "guarantee" language in their literature and when speaking with guests or 2) back it up with some substantial compensation. A one-hour extension on the check-out time doesn't really cut it since the point of staying there is to be in the pools, which you can enjoy after checkout anyway. Given that they say they will charge you a night's stay if you check out late, it seems only fair that they would offer some kind of small monetary compensation for the inconvenience and lost value of a late check-in.

And a last word about accessibility: Yes, 100 percent accessibility would be cost-prohibitive and even impossible at a water park, but there are small things that could be done to improve the situation -- clearer signs directing people in strollers and wheelchairs to the nearest elevators, for instance, as well as an option to reserve a table nearer the water for kids in wheelchairs. Wintertime access to the water dome needs to be improved somehow; we saw many, many families negotiating strollers and double strollers up and down those wet stairs with babies and toddlers in tow -- an accident waiting to happen.

Room Tip: The skyway to the water parks is on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at The Wilderness resort! The courteous and helpful lady booked our reservation and made sure we had a beautiful view. The staff at the restaurants were so friendly and the food was great especially at Fields Steak house. There are so many activitied that we enjoyed- lazer tag, painting pottery, zip lining, mini golf and 3 indoor pools! They shuttled us everywhere, including the spectacular New Years eve party which was very convenient. The spa is breathtaking and I couldnt help but take home some products. We Loved our visit and cannot wait to come back again this summer! Great family fun and beautiful atmosphere!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Touhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Had a great 2 days stay at Wilderness. Every single staff person was nice and helpful, variety of water parks perfect for variety of kid ages and the best was that the water was WARM in every park! The ropes course was awesome, horse drawn carriage ride, micro/fridge in room was nice, kids eat free in several restaurants on property--definitely coming back and recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I traveled with my wife and 18month old (and a few other families), and overall we enjoyed our stay...however we're not sure if we will return.

First the good: Our room was clean, and we had no issues with anything in the room/bathroom/etc. The different waterparks were nice, and the water was warm enough for enjoyment for the entire family. I felt the various options were great for all of the kids in our group, as well as the adults. It was nice that from our room we could access all of the waterparks without going outside. The breakfast buffet was so-so, however it wasn't overpriced like most breakfast buffets are, so I would recommend it.

Now the bad (and why we may not return): Our room provided no protection from the sounds in the hallway, and because the guests travel through the hallways to get to/from lobby/arcades/waterparks/etc. they should be considered high traffic. Kids and families had little to no respect for other guests, and from 8pm to 1am we were reminded of this continuously. After bringing this up to the hotel staff I was assured security would check it out, however I never saw anyone from security (after we called nor during our entire stay). I understand that there would be noise, but it was so loud that our walls/ceiling would actually shake from kids running in our hallway and the one above us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRockTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
624 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
0.3 mi away
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Glacier Canyon Lodge
#14 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
858 reviews
2.8 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
612 reviews
1.2 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#10 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Resort

Property: Wilderness Resort
Address: 511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9648
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#14 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play the day away in America's largest waterpark resort! The Wilderness has 4 indoor and 4 outdoor water parks totaling nearly 500,000 square feet (that is over 12 football fields of water fun!) We also have two indoor, 3-D, black light mini golf courses; outdoor mini golf; zip lining; go-karts; laser tag; Wild Rock Championship Golf Club; and award-winning spa services at Sundara Spa. Amazing lodging options include Wilderness themed guest rooms, condos, villas and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Resort Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wi Dells
Wilderness Resort Wi Dells
Resort Wilderness Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing