We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome vacation!!”
Review of Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Resort
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our family of five just spent a long four day weekend at Wilderness on the Lake and had an absolute blast!!! The water parks were all fabulous and everyone was extremely helpful and accommodating!!! Our daughters said they liked it better than Disney!! We will for sure return again!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 460Sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,963)
There are newer reviews for Wilderness Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,489 - 1,495 of 2,964 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have been to the Wilderness several times. There is so much to do that it never gets old! The staff is great, the rooms are comfortable, the parks are a blast. We keep the refrigerator in our room stocked with plenty of treats as everyone works up an appetite playing as hard as they do!

Room Tip: Pick a room appropriate to the number of travelers and the amenities you need! I love to get a room...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at one of the condo's(blocks of 4) around the wilderness. There was a LOT of space in the condo for the 7.5 of us but the condo itself was average. The water indoor water parks are small and spread out but I am sure it would be better when everything is open in the summertime. The staff everywhere is very nice and helpful. Would stay there again but might try prime time during the week.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skippy0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Gigantic resort with 3 indoor water park areas, several bars and restaurants, and a variety of activities.

The room was beautiful. 2 queen beds, couch, coffee table, small dining table and chairs. Tv, fridge and microwave. Excellent shower. All themed to a woodsy feeling.

Pools: Almost too much to tell. Giant wave pool under a dome, making you almost feel outside. Tropical plants everywhere. Another area was Wild West themed with many slides and a lazy river. Finally there was an area with a huge kids area and more slides. Lifeguards everywhere. Despite being a Saturday night, we were always able to find a table.

The pools were crowded, but we never felt overwhelmed.

Activities: We had a good time at the arcade. Out of the 100's of machines, we only found ONE that didn't work! Well maintained! Our son did a Ropes Course that consisted of him being put into a harness and then being able to cross a variety of obstacles all above the arcade! He had a great time. There were also bumper boats, mini golf, and a giant play area. All inside!

Food & Drink: A little pricy, but not more than we expected to pay at a resort. We ate at the Thirsty Buffalo and had good food & great service. They had a nice house beer on tap also (a dark amber ale.)

Downsides: It can be a walk to go from waterpark to waterpark. Some of the other activities will cost you money.

Overall, we had a great time and can't wait to go back in warmer weather when the outdoor pools and parks are open also.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaywalker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had last visited the Wilderness four years ago and I gave it a 3 star rating at that time. Now, the 3 indoor water parks were essentially the same except they've added entirely too many rooms to the resort. The walk to a particular water park might take you the better part of 15 minutes (possibly one-half mile). The overcrowding made the water parks an ordeal. Our condo was in the Glacier Lodge and was okay except for some very annoying shortcomings. First, the kitchen is supplied with the absolute bare minimum utensils, pots, pans, etc. The second bathroom is only a sink and stool. With four children in our group we needed a second shower. Beds were okay. I would have given the experience a higher rating except for the overcrowding in the water parks (even on a weekday in the Fall) made the visit painful. Also, the pricing for extra activities and food were outrageous ($3.50 for a cup of chocolate milk!). Try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jblck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have stayed at the Wilderness several times. This time I chose the Villa to have a little more room and 2 showers (a requirement for me with a family of 5 at a Waterpark). The Villas are fantastic -- our 2BR unit was about 2000 square feet! Very large full kitchen. You do have to walk outside for about 100 yards (depending on your unit) to get into the park (further if Klondike is not open), and it was around 40-50 degrees for most of our stay, so that walk can be a little chilly, especially when you are wet. It would be nice if they had a back way into the Waterdome. Bedding is not great, but tolerable -- we stayed at Wilderness on the Lake a couple of years ago, where they had great rooms, but bedding was horrible.

The Waterparks are really nice for Indoor -- many more options that the Kalahari or Great Wolf. The wave pool is by far the best in the area (pretty intense, keep close to your kids). Wave pool can get a little more dangerous if there are a lot of teenage boys around, who seem to be intent on ramming in to everyone without trying to avoid. Some of their "lifeguards" are extremely slow -- it almost seems as if they try to keep rides moving slowly: The best ride in the park is the Hurricane: We waited 45 minutes for our first ride, then realized that the reason it was so slow is because the operator didn't even let the next group get into the raft until the prior group and raft were completely out of the pool at the bottom. Loading up so they could ride as soon as the prior group was out would have saved over a minute per ride, which would have really helped (and if this is the policy, it was not consistent -- another day the ride workers were really moving and had the line moving more than twice as fast). Most times when we tried this ride the line was just way too long. The layout of the parks creates some long walks as well. Not a problem for us, but I would certainly recommend anyone staying in the hotel portion of the park to specifically avoid the 2nd floor -- I can't imagine having a hotel room with constant crowds walking past your door from 9am-10pm+ every day.

Food prices in the resort are high (to be expected), but, as is common with amusement parks, the food is just not very good. I wish these places would figure out that customers will pay these outrageous prices if they actually provided quality food. While there are signs everywhere saying you can't bring food or drink into the water parks, there were families with full coolers of their own meals. Half of the tables had outside food, and nothing seemed to be enforced -- I appreciated that and it saved me a lot of money to at least be able to bring my own water and snacks into the parks.

A huge variation in the quality of the staff. We experienced some exceptional customer service (laser tag worker who let my wife and I in free when we were just planning on having the kids go, maintenance showing up 5 minutes after I called about the water heater and a lamp, coffee delivered less than 5 minutes after my call), some indifference, and some horrible (see note about the staff at the Hurricane).

Overall a nice trip, and I will definately pay a little extra to stay in the Villas in the future.

Room Tip: Stay away from 2nd floor in the hotel section. You will be sorry if you get one of those rooms (par...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The rooms could use updates to bedding, but are otherwise great. BUT, be prepared to spend a fortune if you buy food here! $2.75 for a 6 oz cup of yogurt you can buy at the store for $0.69! You cannot bring food into pool, so don't go hungry! Rooms all have microwave, coffee maker and fridge - thank goodness! Lots of activities besides pools - lazer tag, mini golf, arcade and much more. But be prepared to walk for long distances to go from pool to pool.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MN-Mom-Mpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
0.4 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
717 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#59 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
642 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#23 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
955 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Glacier Canyon Lodge
#16 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Resort

Address: 511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9648
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#14 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: $89 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play the day away in America's largest waterpark resort! The Wilderness has 4 indoor and 4 outdoor water parks totaling nearly 500,000 square feet (that is over 12 football fields of water fun!) We also have two indoor, 3-D, black light mini golf courses; outdoor mini golf; zip lining; go-karts; laser tag; Wild Rock Championship Golf Club; and award-winning spa services at Sundara Spa. Amazing lodging options include Wilderness themed guest rooms, condos, villas and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Resort Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wi Dells
Wilderness Resort Wi Dells
Resort Wilderness Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing