We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are we wet yet?”
Review of Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Resort
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Are we wet yet?”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

If you enjoy water you'll love the Wilderness. We had our usually vanilla stay here. Bigger to me is seldom better, but we hit a time when others were busy as the lines and normal waiting times were good. It's a water park have fun.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mic289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,259
    820
    387
    220
    221
See reviews for
2,120
136
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The disappointments: We stayed a Wed thru Fri due to work schedules and we sad to find that one of the 3 indoor waterparks is closed M-Thur every week in April. The Klondike Kavern with the lazy river was closed during our stay. It seems that they do maintenance during that time. No less disappointing. We made the best of it with 2 other parks. Also, microwave didi not work at all in room. Heat also not working well so room was VERY hot. Had to turn AC on and it was maybe 40 degrees outside. Beds are not the best but survivable for a couple nights. Stores and restaurants were mainly closed to due to not many guests. Had to go out to get our food each night.
Now the good: Staff is always nice Josh at the front desk was very helpful and approachable and smiling. Pools and grounds in general clean-very much appreciated. Fridge in room quite big. Double Queen suite has plenty of room for a family of 5 to sleep and watch TV to relax. My 5 yr old got hurt in the wave pool and Jonathan at the Waterdome and another gal did a great job of assessing his injuries and helping him and me stay calm and leave feeling better. Love that you don't have to go outside to get to any of the big indoor waterparks. New high ropes course inside by Dodge 'em City arcade was a lot of fun for my teens and reasonably priced. Arcades were both open and always a hit. Again, staff everywhere available to answer questions and very helpful in general. Crowds were minimal which was ideal for us. No lines for any rides. We will try to come back in the summer and do all the outside too. We hope there is a summer this year with the way the weather has been going!

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor in the hotel above the 2nd floor walkway level to all the waterparks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The rooms were spacious with central access to the numerous indoor and outdoor water parks. Check in was efficient. Staff was friendly. We didn't spend a ton of time in our room, but our time there was relaxing and seemed up to our standards when it comes to fairly inexpensive lodging.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This is the first time we stayed in the hotel and not during the summer (Spring Break). Unlike the summer, we found it difficult to get a lounge chair or table. Although the outdoor pools were closed it did not seem overly crowded and the wait times for the slides were about what we experience during the summer. The Wild Canyon Cafe's Easter buffet was strictly breakfast items at lunch time and expensive. The food and service was poor. We found the food and service at the ? Buffalo to be good but expensive. At both restaurants it cost us over $60 to feed two adults, a 10 year old and 5 year old with no extras. I would suggest staying on the third floor to avoid the noise and crowds. The second floor is the main route to get around. The resort is spread out, you will do a lot of walking! Because it is so spread out, it gives the impression that it is not as crowded as what it really is. The Wild Fun Pass is a must have item. I would suggest doing golf and lazer tag in the middle of the day to minimize the crowd. The waterparks, slides, etc. are a blast. Each pool has something for all ages but one particular pool will be favored by a certain age group. In general, we favor Wilderness over Kalahari due to it feeling less crowded. We prefer Glacial Canyon because we can get a room with a stocked kitchen and ultimately safe some money by not having to constantly eat out.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worth-voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have been to several resorts in Wisconsin Dells and this was our second visit at the Wilderness. We went during Spring Break so it was very crowded and we experienced some difficulty finding a parking spot at times and also finding a spot to sit at the waterparks. The room was nice and clean and our spot on the third floor kept it quiet.

We like the Wilderness for the variety and quality of activities. Our group included two 11-year-old boys and they liked laser tag, bumper boats, mini golf and the slides. Having the 3 indoor waterparks/pools spread throughout the resort kept it a short walk to the closest one.

The food was just average. We liked the buffet for the options available but were not impressed with the quality of the food. However it gave everyone a choice and was convenient.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have a lot of hallway traffic due to the walkways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNmom55422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,293 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Admittedly, we stayed here to use the water parks. Our room was pleasant, clean and large. The rooms were nothing amazing but we really spent most of our awake time at the water parks. Everything inside the hotel area was pretty clean but the outside areas were dirty: cigarette butts, bottles and trash. Although this the guests fault for littering, we saw the same trash outside our sliding door for 3 straight days. We would stay here again to use the waterparks.

Room Tip: Top floor probably limits the amount of foot noise you hear. 2nd floor has the most foot traffic in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls, MN
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Huge property for alot to offer for all family members. We arrived for Spring Break earlier than the check in time, with a long waiting line to check in - went super fast acutally! The water parks are AWESOME! There is plenty to keep everyone busy and satisfied...I would really like them to limit the hot tub to just adults, as kids seem to think it is for splashing around. I would definately recommended purchasing the extra value pass for the other attractions too...my family truly enjoyed the mirror maze and the laser tag was a HOOT! The rope course was really awesome too! There are two 3-D blacklight mini golf courses that are very cool. There is great service, the different waterparks and activites. There are enclosed walk ways throughout the property for those who enjoy a long trek, as this property is very large - but the walk can be in adventure in itself - plenty of signage to not get lost though! We have stayed at other resorts around Wisconsin Dells and this is by far the best one yet! Would return again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RalTar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
666 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
2.4 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#56 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Glacier Canyon Lodge
#15 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
865 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#19 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Resort

Property: Wilderness Resort
Address: 511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9648
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#14 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play the day away in America's largest waterpark resort! The Wilderness has 4 indoor and 4 outdoor water parks totaling nearly 500,000 square feet (that is over 12 football fields of water fun!) We also have two indoor, 3-D, black light mini golf courses; outdoor mini golf; zip lining; go-karts; laser tag; Wild Rock Championship Golf Club; and award-winning spa services at Sundara Spa. Amazing lodging options include Wilderness themed guest rooms, condos, villas and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Resort Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wi Dells
Wilderness Resort Wi Dells
Resort Wilderness Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing