We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best collection of water attractions at any hotel”
Review of Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Resort
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best collection of water attractions at any hotel”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have been going to various properties at the Wilderness for about 10 years now, and nobody offers a more diverse range of water attractions. If you are a thrill seeker, this is the place for you. There is a funnel-style family raft ride, 3 dark traditional family raft rides, a themed toilet bowl tube slide, three traditional tube slides, an "aqua-loop" slide and drop slide with trap-door launch, mat racers, body slides, etc. The crown jewel is a massive indoor wave pool with huge waves and a roof that enables you to tan year round. For the land lovers there's everything from a high ropes course and mini golf to a haunted house and mirror maze. This is a property in Wisconsin Dells that shouldn't be missed!

Room Tip: Check out the Condos at Wilderness on the Lake or Glacier Canyon Lodge for a quieter more luxurious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellover1869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,241
    810
    381
    218
    219
See reviews for
2,086
135
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Il
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

this hotel has great water parks with many slides. it is very efficiently run. the staff we interacted with were very friendly and helpful. the front desk is efficient and courtious and answered all our questions and were very helpful.

Immediately after entering our room, we had a problem with the toilet in our room. We called the front desk and in less than 10 minutes there were 2 maintenance guys at our room and had the toilet fixed. Ideally, we wouldn't have had a toilet problem, but I was impressed that they arrived so quickly and the problem was resolved without any issues. We were able to quickly forget about it and move on to having a great weekend.

This hotel complex is huge. It takes 15-20 minutes to walk from one end to the other when the hallways are empty. it takes even longer when they are full. they are full most of the time during the day. the hotel appears to have been expanded multiple times and there are many different buildings that are connected by walkways on the second floor. Thankfully our room was on the third floor, so the hallway had much less traffic. If you stay there, it would be smart to request a room that was not on the second floor, as those hallways are like 'people freeways' from 10am to 10pm.

the water parks and other attractions are a lot of fun. our kids really had a good time. it is an expensive place, both to stay and to eat, but worth doing for one night. its as busy as six flags or disney world but your room is closer to the attractions.

the rooms are very quiet and we did not hear any noises from rooms next to us or below us. the exhaust fan in our bathroom was very loud inside the bathroom but was barely noticeable in our room, so the bathroom seemed to be well soundproofed too. we could hear noise in the hallway through the closed door but it wasn't too bad, but I am guessing it would be louder on the second floor.

Room Tip: avoid the second floor. look at the map and decide which water park would be the most fun and pick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank todc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Odor in room, mold in bathroom, WiFi was not in an out all weekend, very frustrating. Very crowded (but that was expected), items were stolen at the indoor waterpark. Guest services did not seem to care and unable to speak directly to any manager, as they were "not available".

Room Tip: Be prepared to use the stairs, as the elevators were extremely slow and would have to wait 3-4 minut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had to work in the Dells on Sat. night and every year I make it a family trip to a water park - this year the best room rate was at the Wilderness (about $300.00 for 6 of us). Online reservations -no problem with immediate confirmation. A week later, I was sent another follow up via email and then days before I received yet another notification of things to expect during our visit - wow. Check in was a complete breeze - quick, easy, efficient - got to love that. They then gave us a few coupon book for our stay (didn't use, but nice perk for some). Room was nice - 2 queen beds and fold out couch, table with 2 chairs, dresser, tv, bench, frig, microwave etc. We were also on one of the main levels that lead to the 3 different park areas and arcade. We spent the most time in the pool area with the Hurricane - a must do! The wave pool area was also a hit and we spent just a minimum amount of time in the third one with the Black Hole. Drinks are pricey - but to be expected and hard to get seating, especially on a Sat. - again, expected, but overall, well worth the money!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhundt67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We met our 2 grown chidren and 3 grandchidren (ages 3, 10 and 12) at the Wilderness Resort and had one of the Frontier 4 bedroom condos for 9 people. First of all we were just a few steps from one of the water parks, which made it really easy in the cold weather. Everything is interconnected indoors once you are inside. Our condo itself was perfect - master BR with king bed and large bath with whirpool and separate shower. Second BR had queen bed and bath. Third main floor BR was only a soft bed, but great for a child. Upstairs loft area had a BR with 2 double beds and a bath and the loft area also had a sofa a bed.

The kitchen was well stocked and if I remember correctly there were dishes for 12. Nice dining area also. Family living area was great and we all spent a lot of time there - seating for 9 easily. There was a flat panel TV with a DVD player. Also a fire place (master BR also). The condo was modern, clean and we had only one small issue when we checked in, which was fixed within 15 minutes after we called the front desk.

The indoor water park facilities were great for the kids and adults. With this being Spring Break some of the more popular "rides" had longer waits, but otherwise, I would not say it was overcrowded.

I would definitely do this again. The facilities and staff were excellent. The family had a great time, and the condo was perfect - much better than multiple hotel rooms.

Room Tip: Condo 198A is very close to the entrance of one of the indoor water parks. You can actually walk ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Docsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great hotel & water parks for a winter stay. Avoid the "tour" offer that the hotel and other places give you. There is no tour but rather a terrible, high-pressure timeshare sales pitch. Nothing they offer is worth it!
The hotel is very nice and clean. The water parks are high quality and the wave pool is the best! The indoor water dome lets the sun shine in as you swim and the temperature is very nice!
The facility has other family activities and I would recommend at least 2 nights.

Room Tip: Look for their mid-week winter specials, they are very reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have stayed at the Wilderness twice now, and will definitely go back again. Our recent stay was during the cold weather and we had lots of fun things to do. There are several indoor water areas to choose from, including a large beautiful wave pool. We also loved the paint your own pottery store. There are lots of restaurants with a huge variety of food and drink. We especially liked the Italian food at Sarrento's. We stayed in a 2-bedroom villa that was conveniently located next to one of the indoor water areas. Our villa was spacious, quiet, and comfortable. We really recommend a villa or condo for families or groups--lots more space and a full kitchen.

Room Tip: Villas and condos are luxurious and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pburnsblum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
625 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
0.3 mi away
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Glacier Canyon Lodge
#15 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
860 reviews
2.8 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
612 reviews
1.2 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#11 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
2,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Resort

Property: Wilderness Resort
Address: 511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9648
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#14 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play the day away in America's largest waterpark resort! The Wilderness has 4 indoor and 4 outdoor water parks totaling nearly 500,000 square feet (that is over 12 football fields of water fun!) We also have two indoor, 3-D, black light mini golf courses; outdoor mini golf; zip lining; go-karts; laser tag; Wild Rock Championship Golf Club; and award-winning spa services at Sundara Spa. Amazing lodging options include Wilderness themed guest rooms, condos, villas and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Resort Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wi Dells
Wilderness Resort Wi Dells
Resort Wilderness Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing