We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run Fiance, RUN!”
Review of Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Resort
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I've been going to Wilderness for years and the kids love it. There is always some fun activity to do, always someplace to eat, and 4 inside swimming areas.

I don't agree with the woman who wrote the January 16th review, couldn't fit into a 4-person hot tub, couldn't pack her personal belongings within 1 hour, and only gave this resort a 2 star rating. It seems like she was looking for things to complain about. She ruined her trip because 1 restaurant out of 6 was closed on the day she was there -she is definitely "a glass is half empty" negative, type of person. One hopes that her future husband reads her review, knows what he is getting into(before he marries her), and gets out while he still can.

On a final note, she should go to an adult only resort, because it is legal for children to be in a hot tub at a family resort with parent supervision. The kids in the hot tub were probably splashing her on purpose because of the negative mug on her face.

P.S. My children know how to use the remote control for the TV.

Room Tip: The cabins have kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,188 - 2,194 of 3,053 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2012

Just got back from a 2 nite stay at the Wilderness Resort. Read the warnings & reviews warning of bed bugs so took thre precaution of checking room thouroughly b-4 bringing
anything in. Our room was SPOTLESS!!! Pulled up ALL bedding to check, including
pillows & coach cushions....no problems. We had a wonderful time & would recommend
to anyone to go. I guess anywhere you travel now it's prudent to check, but really, the
entire hotel, halls, public area's, waterparks & our room was very clean & nice.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, book either below or above floor 2 which is the "main" walkway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank eva p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

After staying in different sections of the Wilderness Resort twice over the summer, my fiancé and I planned a 3 day/2 night stay at a condo on Wilderness on the Lake with two friends. We booked the stay weeks in advance. We arrived at the resort, were checked into our room. After a nice lunch at Survivors, (which I would recommend), we went to the water parks. This is when we found out that the main water park, Klondike Kavern, was closed. This was disappointing since it is our favorite water park. We asked multiple lifeguards why it was closed and for how long. We got multiple answers, such as “its closed for the day” and “its closed for the hour to be cleaned”. Finally, we asked at the front desk and were told it would be closed for the two days we would have been able to use it.
The manager we spoke to at the front desk of the main Wilderness section of the resort told us we should have been informed of this when we made the reservations AND when we checked. This is false, since we were not notified at either time. Instead of apologizing to us for the inconvenience, we were made to feel dumb, even though it was clearly the fault of the employees. The manager then gave us the option to check out at 5 pm, which was an hour later, to get a full refund. We did not take this offer because we would have needed more time than that to get packed up/checked out. Also, the four of us had just driven 3 hours to get there. We didn't want to leave; we simply wanted some sort of apology and perhaps our room rate reduced or a discount at one of the restaurant options at the resort. That is not asking much.
So, now we felt like were weren't even wanted there. We were told that the manager of the Wilderness on the Lake would call us Friday morning before we checked out to speak with us and try to fix our problem. We never received a phone call, so apparently, all the money we spent on the room, plus dining out in the Wilderness restaurants meant nothing and our business is not appreciated.
We did receive a call on Thursday morning (the first morning of our stay), which we thought was customer service wanting to help us with our issue. Instead, it was someone from Glacier Canyon trying to sell us a time share.
In the water park that we were able to use, there were children swimming in the hot tub. The lifeguards could be more attentive to the children who use the hot tubs like a pool and splash other guests.
The cost of renting a locker in the water park is absolutely ridiculous. $6-8 for a small locker? For people like me who wear glasses and need to put them somewhere while I am using the water park, this is a large inconvenience.
I also found it odd that there were 2 flat screens in the condo, but only one remote that worked on them. There should also be some sort of instruction sheet on how to use the remotes/Blu Ray with the TV. We spent 10-15 minutes trying to figure out how to use it.
The condo we stayed in advertised a "four person hot tub". We are not large people, but we could barely fit two people comfortably.
It is unfortunate that we had these experiences during our stay. Like I said, we had stayed at the resort multiple times over the summer, choosing the Wilderness over many other options in the Dells. Next time, we will choose another resort.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room on the 2nd floor. That is where all the foot traffic is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HHW86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

My girlfriend and I decided to go to the wilderness because it seemed to have the most to offer and was the most affordable of all the Wisconsin dells waterpark resorts. It exceeded our expectations. The waterparks were awesome, Arcade was fun and rooms were great. We only ran into one problem and that was in the hot tub when we bought drinks in the waterpark area they wouldn't let us drink in the outside part where all the adults were drinking and having a good time. They hired a "beer nazi" to come regulate and tell us we could only hold our drinks or set them on the ledge! now, being from wisconsin and knowing we drink heavily we, and other guests, found this to be ridiculous. There were also kids having fun, splashing around and being kids, but that seemed to be a problem to the staff as well. Other then that minor issue it was awesome. We stayed two nights and it wasn't enough, and we will definitely be returning very soon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We rented a large condo with a couple of friends and their families. The place was very nice, large log-cabin style family room with tons of space for everyone to gather. The teens were able to shuttle to the waterpark. There was something for everyone to enjoy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfam5_4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We have stayed here at least a dozen times. The kids love it. The staff is great.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2vrods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed in a cabin off the golf course. It had 3 bedrooms plus a loft bedroom. Each of our family members had a private bed and space. It was cosy but roomy enough it you wanted to be alone. Having a kitchen with all the ementies was great for eating as well as savings in the pocket book. My autistic son wanted to return for Christmas and enjoy the fireplace. I really enjoyed the shuttle bus. If one of the family wanted to go out and about the others could still get back to the cabin without any worry.

Room Tip: We didn't hear any outside sounds, very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyunity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.3 mi away
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Glacier Canyon Lodge
#16 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
898 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
726 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#25 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
328 reviews
3 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#26 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
989 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin De...
#20 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Resort

Address: 511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9648
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#14 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: $89 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play the day away in America's largest waterpark resort! The Wilderness has 4 indoor and 4 outdoor water parks totaling nearly 500,000 square feet (that is over 12 football fields of water fun!) We also have an indoor, 3-D, black light mini golf course; a ropes course, virtual reality gaming for up to 7 players, outdoor mini golf; zip lining; go-karts; laser tag; Wild Rock Championship Golf Club; and award-winning spa services at Sundara Spa. Amazing lodging options include Wilderness themed guest rooms, condos, villas and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Resort Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wi Dells
Wilderness Resort Wi Dells
Resort Wilderness Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing