We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How to spend a weekend in Wisconsin Dells”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of White Rose Inns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White Rose Inns
chicago suburbs, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“How to spend a weekend in Wisconsin Dells”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2006

My boyfriend and I wanted to take a short roadtrip for the weekend, and decided on Wisconsin Dells, since it was only around 3 hrs fr the Chicagoland area. I looked online, and chanced upon the White Rose Inn, located on river road, right off the downtown district. I paid about $80 for a friday night, but when I spoke to them on the phone I was told they typically only accept 2 night reservations for the weekend, but since someone had reserved the room for Sun and Mon, we were able to have it for friday night. We got there around 6pm that evening, and checked into our motel room. Here I should mention how great the service was - the lady who checked us in was warm and friendly, and gave us a very personal feel in a tourist town which probably sees thousands of visitors every year. When we got to the room, it had all the basics, and I especially liked how they had a mini fridge and microwave. The furnishings were old, probably from the 1950s, but clean, which is what matters most to me. the weather was perfect, so we dropped our bags off and took a walk down the river walk - the view of the river at sunset was so breathtaking that I thought it was worth the trip by itself. We then walked the 5 min to downtown dells, and got some food at a bar called Monk's, which I had read about earlier in another traveller's review. We had burgers, which were thick and juicy-definitely try the bacon burger - a great deal for under $7. My boyfriend then wanted to go have more food (we figured the fun in going on a trip was pigging out) at this other place we passed earlier - called Famous Dave's. I had more food too - the ribs are definitely worth trying - great smoky flavor, and we had our first "spotted cows" of the night, which is the local wisconsin beer - its cloudy due to the fermentation process, I think, but I enjoyed it, even though I usually stick to coronas. We then walked around the rest of the downtown area, and basically most of the stores are candy stores selling every flavor of caramel apple you can imagine or gift shops, selling your typical mugs and shotglasses and postcards. FOod is affordable - u can easily get a meal for 2 under $25. We went to Noah's Ark (the world's largest waterpark) the next day, which was a short 5 min drive away. It was rather cold that day, around 60 degrees in the morning, but the upside was that the lines weren't long at all, since the crowds probably stayed away because of that. It warmed up during the course of the day, and consequently got more crowded, but Leo and I still got to ride every ride and leave in the evening. I've been to the six flags in Gurneee, IL earlier this summer, and the thing I liked more about it was that the showers were a lot cleaner - the shower (there was only one, as far as I could tell) was really dirty - forget about going in there without your flip flops on, but otherwise food was really affordable, and the environment at noah's ark was definitely not as chaotic as six flags hurricane harbor - maybe because there wasn't as many kids? Try this restaurant called Pizza Ranch on wisconsin dells parkway just the exit out the parking lot of noah's ark - great chicken, salad and pizza buffet for only $7.99. Wisconsin dell's is a great place to go for a short summer weekend not too far away - people are very helpful and friendly - u're reminded how u're still in the midwest - and u'll definitely have a great time if you don't mind the small-town feel of it all.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank soakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    26
    19
    8
    9
See reviews for
30
74
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2006

I have stayed at the White Rose Inn for 2 different stays in 2006. It is a few blocks from the Amtrak station in Wisconsin Dells.

The staff is so warm and caring towards their patrons. They seem to know all the guests by their names. They were kind enough to pick up and drop off at the station for OUR convenience.

The rooms are romantic and well appointed. Quiet and restful grounds to relax, bird watch, or enjoy your morning cofee in the gardens.

This is one of the most charming inns I have ever stayed in. Already planning a return in the fall of 2006.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2006

We visited the White Rose Bed and Breakfast for our 5 yr. anniversary and it was the best experience ever! The staff was absolutely wonderful.The rooms were beautifully decorated, well kept and clean. They were extremly helpful in suggesting places to go. We ate at the Ember's Restaurant and paid $10 extra for a private room for 2 that was so romantic and then went for a day of skiing at Cascade Mountain. Because we went during off season a lot of things were closed but their seems to be so much to do in the summer months with all water parks and other activities. We are already planning a vacation for the summer with kids. We also stopped at the wollersheim winery on our way back to Chicago for a tour and wine tasting that was very informative and delicious(the white reisling was our favorite. As you can see we did find things to do during this time of year but the White Rose B&B really made it special.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2005

The shower (called a spa shower) had a total of 6 shower heads! It felt like a luxurious carwash! Then there was the whirlpool! Enough to relax one to the point of falling asleep! The owners were so hospitable and helpful. I highly recommend this place as a nice getaway! The breakfast is the best, too. You can choose from Belgian Waffles, Fruit Plate, Eggs, Quiche of the day or Fancy Omelette - the last 3 come with fruit, potatoes and a croissant! Yum!
Since it is the off-season, the town was nice and quiet - perfect for relaxing! We walked around town, took a "duck tour", ate, slept, walked, ate, went to an antique mall, ate and slept. It was just what we needed!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2005

The White Rose Inns are three historic houses neighboring each other along the Wisconsin River. We stayed in one of the Victorian houses, a beautifully restored house with great decor - really rich and luxurious with a period feel. Our room included a whirlpool, hardwood floors and a view of the river. Best of all was the bed which was super comfy and we slept so well.
The White Rose is just a block from the downtown shopping district, which was great - to leave our car behind at the B&B and just walk to a lot of the Dells' attractions. (We drove to dinner, but the whole Dells is spread out over about 5 miles, so that would be typical no matter where you stayed.) Across from the White Rose is the Dells RiverWalk, a walk from the inns up to downtown along the river - really pretty and very romantic in the evening with the sunset.
Breakfast was really delicious, and we overheard other guests in the breakfast room commenting to each other about how much they were enjoying breakfast, too.
I would love to stay here again, maybe in the Prairie Style house, which was designed by one of Frank Lloyd Wright's colleagues.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kushwoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bowman's Oak Hill Bed & Breakfast
Bowman's Oak Hill Bed & Breakfas...
#1 of 16 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.8 mi away
All Star Inn & Suites
All Star Inn & Suites
#2 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
2.3 mi away
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
#10 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rose Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rose Inns

Property: White Rose Inns
Address: 910 River Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Rose Inns 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the inns' twenty-one B&B guestrooms and twenty-two motel rooms is decorated with casually beautiful decor. Ideal for romantic getaways and Wisconsin family vacations, the Inns are also a perfect fit for weddings and gatherings of groups such as family reunions and business meetings. Wisconsin Dells is as abundant in gorgeous scenery as in entertainment, activities and attractions. The White Rose Inns are located in the downtown shopping district, where gift shops mix with boat tours, museums, fudge factories, antique malls and restaurants. A half-mile from the Inns is Wisconsin Dells Parkway, home to water parks, go-carts, roller coasters, live shows, restaurants and much more. The Inns are so convenient, you can leave your car parked here your whole vacation. We assure you that a stay at The White Rose Inns is a getaway that you'll want to relive over and over. Come visit, and we'll help you make memories you will cherish, until your next trip to Wisconsin Dells and the White Rose Inns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your White Rose Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing