We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above expectations”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Above expectations”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The waterpark at the Great Wolf Lodge was fabulous and we ended up not going to any of the other waterparks because we had so much fun there. And though it was the end of July, it was a bit nippy outside, so we were happy that we could do all our water play inside. Their water park is geared towards all ages and since only hotel guests can play there, it is not very crowded - at least it wasn't when we were there Wed. - Fri. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating and helped me change the dates of our reservation even though Hotels.com was going to charge an extra $282 due to the change being made within 72 hrs. AND they gave me the discounted rate of the special the hotel was running (yay!) As a side note, I might add that I was very impressed with all the recycling bins everywhere. Our only complaint was that our room maid did not do a very good job cleaning up our room. I actually laughed when I saw what a state our beds were in when she had made them. But she gave us clean towels, and more coffee pouches so that was ok since we were only staying 2 nights. We were very pleased with the food at the hotel restaurant. The Wisconsin Dells (the town) is one big tourist attraction and fun to explore! Yes, I highly recommend the Great Wolf Lodge at the Wisconsin Dells!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stina36116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,323
    931
    494
    267
    127
See reviews for
2,680
57
3
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is our 2nd stay at Great Wolf Lodge and again, they have exceeded all expectations. For the second time we witnessed a "test" of life guard safety and again the life guard surpassed the time limit. That alone makes this resort worth your money.

Room, excellent. All rooms have a balcony and that for us was great, it is an extension of the room. Room-tip, if you get a room on the 4th floor you room will have vaulted ceilings which also make the room feel huge.

Food, we ate at the waterpark extensively. The outdoor park has real grilled food. Chicken Skewers were about $8.00 and most other items (sandwiches, etc) were around the same, served with fresh fried chips. Keep in mind this food is grilled outside and is fresh, not fried food. Speaking of fried food, well, our son loves it and the indoor park has that option too, and a kids meal is about $7.00 with corn-dog, fries and a drink. They have a bucket of beers for $25, (6) 16 oz bud products. Not too bad. TIP: If you ask, they'll mix and match beers with Mikes Lemonade.

The Paw Pass. Okay, this on the surface seems expensive at $60 per child but once you look into it, this is a steal. The value is WELL over a $100 in the end and you literally get to do everything the resort has to offer. Let me put it like this: Build-a-Bear onsite costs $25 alone and you get one of these with the Paw-Pass. Plus, you get a drink cup (refillable) for your entire stay. (Among others, a tattoo, candy cup, wolf ears, etc, it really is worth it) And Magic Quest too!

Magic Quest, awesome! Take a break from the water and noise and do this. Our 6 year old loved it. It's not too hard and for the money (again, get the pass) it was well worth the fun. You don't need to do it in one session, you can make it last your entire stay.

Lastly, my son got hurt and first aid was not only immediate and caring but they gave him a Build-a-Bear wolf that had bandages on him! Are you kidding me? This is 2013 and that stuff doesn't happen anymore.

This is definitely NOT your typical corporate establishment. I'm so happy that a publicly traded company (they have lodges all over the US) still retains their family-first values. Having been to Disney World three times in the last three years, dare I say the service here reminds me of theirs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CallMeGomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We recently enjoyed a 4 night stay at the Great Wolf Lodge. We had a "Wolf's Den" suite which had bunk beds in a little room inside the main room. The kids loved having their own little room with a TV. Our bed was comfortable and the pillows were nice and cushy. There was a pull-out sofa bed too, but we didn't use that. Room had two sinks, microwave and a coffee maker. Cleanliness was average. Air conditioner was LOUD, but we were so tired it never bothered us.

The water park was perfect for our boys, aged 4 & 7. There was only one slide that our adventurous boy couldn't ride (just a little too short). There were lots of options for our timid boy too. We were there mid-week and the lines were never too bad. By Friday, it was busier and the lines a little longer. There were plenty of lifeguards, pacing constantly. You have to drag your own tubes/mats up the stairs for rides that require them.

We had the breakfast buffet twice. There were lots of choices including made-to-order omelets and waffles. Dinner at the Loose Moose restaurant was average, nothing more. The sweet shop was great and even served Starbucks.

The kids really enjoyed the Wolf Walk and the Clock Tower Show. The nightly story time and dance party was a wonderful bedtime routine and made it easier to tear the kids out of the water park.

You can access the water park after 1pm on the day you check in and all day on the day you check out - a nice bonus. We sent four days in the water park and this was more than enough. It got a little old after the second day, actually.

Staff were not overly friendly, except for the Cub Club staff who were awesome and fun. Many of the staff were international and sometimes communication was a challenge.

Room Tip: Rooms either overlook the water park or the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank specialKknits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We returned today from a 3 day stay at Great Wolf Lodge. It was our first time in Wisconsin Dells and first time at Great Wolf Lodge. My husband and I stayed in a King Suite and our son, daughter-in-law and two grandchildren (3 & 6) had a theme suite with a children's log cabin in it. It was very cute and the grandchildren loved it! We were very pleased with our service from the check-in staff, to the water park staff, restaurant server, gift shop clerks and cleaning staff. The water park was clean and had an abundance of lifeguards that were all very attentive. The restaurant had wonderful food and was reasonably priced. The sweet shop was a big hit with the grandchildren as was the gift shop. We loved the nightly story time in the lobby. It was a wonderful vacation and just the right amount of days for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesfergie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We decided to pay extra and stay the Great Wolf Lodge. This was to give us a two-bedroom condo with access to a "guest-only" water park, easy access to town, and be near Magiquest. Only problem was the level of service. The expensive condo had hair in the bathroom and every surface of the kitchen was "sticky." We had to ask for dish soap, the cereal bowls were so small, more like a toddler finger bowl, that we had to buy bowls at WalMart, we had to call for cleaning a few times as we would get to our rooms to prepare dinner only to find the room was not yet cleaned, and we hung our towels to save the environment and they took them anyway.

We used the fitness centre which was actually a poorly ventilated small board room with a few pieces of equipment and no mirrors. The water cooler ran out day one so we let the staff know. Three days later there was still no water in the centre.

Although it is "family-friendly" with a noise policy we did have to call one night when around midnight it still sounded like people were jumping on our heads.

We would not go back. There is better value for the dollar.

The best part was getting a massage at the Spa -- awesome service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaVin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I understand a room can make or break a vacation. This place made a great vacation for us no problems about our room at all was exactly what we ordered. I read a lot of reviews that other familys at other resorts didn't get what they thought.. The rooms were great the water park was great for the little ones we had a 4 6 7 and a 13 year old they all had a blast everything we did at this resort was great we will be back again thank you great wolf lodge.. the andersensc

Room Tip: all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

The great wolf wasn't bad but the staff was not very courteous and the park seemed to be geared for younger kids. It wasn't terribly bad but the slides are kind of lame. We stayed at the kalahari last year and it seemed more updated and modern. Not a bad place but probably won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tseay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
666 reviews
3.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#56 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
620 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
900 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#19 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
937 reviews
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 1400 Great Wolf Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#15 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Lodge Hotel
Wisconsin Dells Hotel Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge Wisconsin Dells
Great Wolf Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Hotel Wi Dells
Great Wolf Wi Dells
Great Wolf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing