We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family oriented-best for younger kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Family oriented-best for younger kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I took my family for a four day vacation and we barely left the lodge. Many activities for my kids age 2, 4 and 8. There are character visits, cub club, Magiquest and of course the water park. Plus many other activities to fill time as a family.

There is a wide variety of rooms and food options. We spent at least five hours a day in the water park. There are options for everyone to find something fun to do.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,173
    868
    444
    236
    117
See reviews for
2,401
52
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay. My parents used their time share points and we stayed in a two queen suite and a kid cabin suite. One room was ready at 12:30 on Wed when we got there and the other was ready about 2PM. It was perfect. We dropped off our stuff, freshened up, and went out and played for a few hours. My 5 yr. old daughter LOVED her own kids area with bunk beds, day bed and her own tv. Our bathroom was spacious and toiletries were unique...two for kids! Spacious bed/living room area for my husband and brother and I. Beds were ok, I like a soft bed so no hotel beds ever really do the trick. My brother said the pull out couch was not good, but again, the room was "free" for us and he never expected much from it. Hallways and general areas were always clean, despite the number of kids that ran through it all day. Had no noise issues whatsoever, which floored me! Our room seemed very insulated from upstairs, hallway and outside noise. The water park was a lot of fun for all. We didn't have enough time to do it all!! The arcade as spendy but our daughter loved it. Some of my family ate at Camp Critter one morning and said the food was good, but catered to kids...small pancakes, French toast sticks, doughnut holes and they did have an omelet station. We already talked about going back next year! This place is a must-stay for families for kids birth to 12.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjb1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannibal, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This lodge is massive when we first pulled up. It was easy to find off the highway, barring we had to go through some road construction. Check in was easy and simple. My husband did the online check in which was a time saver. We did end up extending our stay, and we found that booking through the front desk was $30 cheaper than when my husband booked online.

Our room was a standard room on the fourth floor which we just fine for the four of us. I was very impressed with the speed of the elevators. I don't' think we ever had to wait for one and the lodge was busy! Our room had a microwave and a small refrigerator. We had decided to pre-make food for breakfasts and lunch to save some money as we heard food was expensive at the lodge. We also took water, kids drinks and adult drinks to save money there also. This worked out perfectly. The check in is at 4 pm. My husband did notice when he checked us in online that although check in is at 4 pm, the day you check in you can access the waterpark starting at 1 pm.

The housekeeping staff were exceptional! our room was neat and clean. We usually left our room between 9-10 am for our morning excursions, and when we returned about an hour later to get ready for the waterpark, housekeeping had already cleaned our room. I thought he body wash, shampoo and other toiletries were very nice, some for the adults and some for the kids. These were restocked daily. My husband is always very critical of hotel beds, but he found the beds to be wonderfully comfortable. While the bed already had four very fluffy pillows, there were 2-3 extra if you wanted them.

The waterpark was very big and kind of overwhelming at first. It is open from 9am-9pm (the indoor part). I had packed beach towels and lifejackets for the kids, but no need to, the lodge supplies lifejackets and towels. When we walked into the indoor waterpark, we were greeted by a staff member. She was very knowledgeable about the waterpark and told us is was divided into three areas. She also measured the kids and gave them wrist bands so they would know what they could and could not ride. This was very helpful. I do wish the signs and the entrance of the rides were color coded as to which color wristbands could use the ride though. There were many pools for kids and adults, or just adults. There were also many slides that were for kids and adults or some just for the little ones. The wave pool was very nice. I don't think there were any areas in any of the pools over 5ft deep. This was nice as we had a 7 and 3 year old. You might pack water shoes for the kids though, the pool floors are a little rough and my 7 year old got quite a scratch on his foot from the wave pool.

There was also a very nice outdoor pool area with outdoor slides. The pool was divided into a main pool, but also had a kid pool. I really liked the weather this time of year, as we went to the outdoor pool during the day and came inside in the evening when it started to cool off. I liked the outdoor pool as it had music playing through the day, and there was a bar and smoothie shop if you wanted a beverage. They did sell beer by the bucket 6/$25 or you could buy a single for $5.25. I was really impressed with the lifeguard staff at this resort. They were everywhere and very attentive to the guests. They weren't standing around talking to one another, but always on the move checking every inch of the pool and not leaving any spot unguarded.

The lodge was in a very good location and there were a lot of attractions within walking distance. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 731StephC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Great Wolf Lodge was far above our expectations! It was low key and relaxing for a watermark resort. The facilities are spotless, service was exceptional, the indoor and outdoor water parks were a blast for all ages. We took our grandchildren, ages 5 and 9, and the loved it. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, Il
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went with daughter and her family. They had a very nice room with a loft. (8 people- 2 adults and 6 kids) Ages were 6 to 16. They all just loved the water park. Said there were 3 rooms of water activities. Every kid,must raved about the park. They loved the big " funnel" tube water ride. It was warm enough to go in the outside pool also. We had our own room, with 2 queen beds. We requested a non - smoking room, and our room really smelled smoky. We were on a non- smoking floor, with signs on our room. We called the front desk and they gave us 3 options. We chose to get another room. Within 15 minutes of our phone call, we had a new fresh smelling room. Very pleased with the service/ response. We also took the breakfast buffet package. Nice variety of food, and every was pleased. The chef made us fresh omelets, and Belgian waffles, which were fantastic. No complaints with the food. Loved the multitude of luggage carts to help bring luggage in and out. Each room had a microwave and refrigerator. Yes, we would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AriRoseWinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manati, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the Great Wolf Lodge during father day weekend. We were very happy with our rooms and the facility overall. Our room was centrally located and close to the water park area, restaurant, bar, lobby, etc. We were traveling with small children and they loved the water park. There were a lot of life guards supervising all areas of the park. We barely had to wait but a few minutes for any of the slides. There were multiple bar and snack areas inside the water park. It would have been nice for the outdoor water area to stay open a bit longer at night and it would be nice if there was an adults only swim/pool time earlier in the day. Would come back again especially if traveling with children ages 9 and under. The older kids with us did have a great time as well! Also - within walking distances of the outlet mall, and various restaurants!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, WI
Level Contributor
236 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the Great Wolf Lodge during the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association All-star weekend in the Dells. We were very happy with our rooms and the facility overall. Our room was centrally located and close to the water park area, restaurant, bar, lobby, etc. We were traveling with small children and they loved the water park. There were a lot of life guards supervising all areas of the park. We barely had to wait but a few minutes for any of the slides. There were multiple bar and snack areas inside the water park. It would have been nice for the outdoor water area to stay open a bit longer at night and it would be nice if there was an adults only swim/pool time earlier in the day. Would come back again especially if traveling with children ages 9 and under. The older kids with us did have a great time as well! Also - within walking distances of the outlet mall, and various restaurants!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HTCWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
3.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#31 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
3.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 1400 Great Wolf Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#15 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Lodge Hotel
Wisconsin Dells Hotel Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge Wisconsin Dells
Great Wolf Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Wi Dells
Great Wolf Hotel Wi Dells
Great Wolf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing