We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back for more fun! Our second annual visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Great Wolf Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1400 Great Wolf Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
226 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Back for more fun! Our second annual visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had another great stay at Great Wolf Lodge. We stayed here for the first time last Christmas and were looking forward to making it an annual event. Didn't make it in December but had just as much fun this February! No noticeable changes at the Waterpark or the Hotel but that is okay. This place has a comfortable, relaxed warm atmosphere that we love. Again we got a great room, the Loft Suite. This room is huge with plenty of room for our boys (ages 9 and 7) and hubby and I. The kids love having their own space upstairs (and so do we) along with their own TV. I like having the fridge and microwave sink area so we can make meals to save some money. I was able to easily warm up and serve the food I prepared and we really didn't need to go to the restaurant at all...but we did :-) The restaurant isn't cheap but it's not crazy expensive either and the food and service are really, really good. We all loved our meals. The brat burger was particularly awesome. We also picked up some Starbucks in the coffee shop for a little extra energy after climbing all those stairs at the waterpark. We have been to several indoor waterparks and this is still our favorite. It is laid out well and very clean. The lifeguards are attentive. Our kids will ride everything in this park....over and over again! The way it is designed it's easy to manage and keep track of your stuff and your kids while still having a great time. I think it is particularly good for families that have toddlers as well as older kids as the areas designed for toddlers are well defined but not separated from the other attractions. It was not crowded and we had very little waiting time for slide. We also love the Magiquest on site. The boys really got into it this year. (It is a wizzard themed super treasure hunt with a magical wand.) The only downside is more stairs. They have a workout room here but I've never used it as we get more than enough of a workout climbing all the stairs for the slides and magiquest! Magiquest is a great break from being wet and you never have to leave the lodge. I'd also recommend getting the Paw Pass. It includes a magiquest admission and wand, a stuffed animal, a drink with souvenir cup, a craft at the cub clup, some tokens for arcade and some discounts at local attractions. It really is worth the money. Our kids had fun painting a ceramic in the cub club. My 7 year old really liked the clock tower show and we went on the wolf walk in the lobby one morning (a staff member did a guided eye-spy game in the lobby and the kids found different animals and talked about them then made an origami wolf). My 9 year old wasn't too interested in either. The arcade is a great thing to do while hubby packs the car. It's not huge but has lots of great games. Overall we really had a great time. It's relaxing to have everything at the lodge and not need to leave. The only thing that I wouldn't rave about is the housekeeping. We had to call to get our room cleaned and they didn't do the best job (didn't restock coffee and cups, there were some candy wrappers from a previous guest in the nightstand). That said the hotel is well maintained so it wasn't a big problem. This place is a great family get away. We all had a great time! Looking forward to doing it again next year.

Room Tip: The condos are the farthest away from the water park. We were on the 4th floor and the elevator can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vilynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    698
    344
    173
    79
See reviews for
1,786
43
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We are big fans of the Dells and have been many times but I'll tell you, be prepared, it's a wide swath of America (the good, the bad, and the crass). Great Wolf seems to attract less of the crass than other resorts. The resort is quite nice and with younger kids (we have kids ranging from 7 to 1), it's particularly nice because it's all in one complex, no shuttle buses to get to the water park, no walks across snowy, windswept parking lots. Also, while there are certainly plenty of adult beverages availble. the focus seems to be more on the kids and you don't often see out of control drunk parents with their kids at the park. Also, the lifeguards seem to be well-trained and attentive. The rooms (we usually stay in the condo-wing are perfect for a big group. The only downside is there are no views to be had from the room - it's directly on the interstate. But, the service, the convenience, and the nice accommodations make up for that. Also, across the parking lot is the outlet mall which is always a big hit. Great spot for a family vacation and safe - the resort does not sell day passes so it's never too crowded.

Room Tip: Condos are great for big/multi-generational groups and are all inside and totally connected to the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FreezinginMinnes0ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife came with the flu about 2.5 days before our reservation, so I called to cancel. They said it was within 72 hours (I believe it was around 65 hours before) so we'd lose the entire amount ($350) if we cancelled which seems outrageous. We were never warned about this policy when we originally booked, and they refused to waive it for us. However they said we could reschedule once with no penalty.

We rescheduled for 1.5 months out, but the same room was $199 then. They refuse to refund the difference, and instead gave us a $150 credit to use at the resort. I guess we'll be ordering a ton of room-service.

Hopefully nothing in life prevents us from going this time. The reschedule was a one time thing and then they claim they just get to keep my $350 for no service provided.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sutekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howards Grove
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Ranks in my top 3 worst vacations. When we arrived, our condo wasn't ready yet so they took our number to call us when it would be....except they never called. There we were waiting in line again wondering when we could get into the room. When we finally made our way to the front of the line, the attendants response for no call was " they must have forgot, I don't know." She then wrote down our condo number and walked away leaving us not even knowing where we were going. When we finally got to the water park, we did manage to have a little fun when there was a tube or mat available. Instead of allowing everyone a turn, guests kept the tube or mat to ride again ignoring the people waiting, well the attendants just watched ( keep in mind this was a Sunday night.) When we settled for the night in our condo, we kept hearing a dripping noise. As it turned out, every time the room upstairs used the toilet or shower, the water dripped very loudly in the walls of the bedroom. By 5 am kids were running around upstairs and screaming. We decided to head to the lobby for coffee only to find out the treats shop doesn't open till 7. I really don't know why I would ever stay here again when you get better service at a McDonald's. Since my niece was tired from not sleeping the night prior, we attempted the water park before we left to return home. Once again no tubes or mats and a complete disaster. Best part of the trip was getting home today.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Our room was a family suite on the main floor. Very close to the waterpark entrance.
The room was clean with standard amenities and comfy beds. Nothing stood out to make it more than average. No issues with noise from other guests, but it was February.
Value of the resort is lacking. Everything at the resort is overpriced. Eg. $7.50 for two Starbucks brand coffees. Dunkins across the street was worth the trip on future mornings. Avoided any other purchases from the resort. Many quality restaurants in the area (Famous Dave's and Monks were great).
What made the stay memorable was the waterpark. No crowds, attentive and professional lifeguards, clean, fun, and warm. It won us over and we will return based on this attraction alone. Kudos to management for only allowing hotel guests to use the waterpark. Will return next year, even with the poor value of the rest of the resort.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Droolinglooneytunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Good value, not great value. I state that because we probably could've stayed somewhere comparable for a bit less money, but we really wanted to try the Great Wolf Lodge. The rooms were nice (we stayed in a 2 bedroom condo) with more than enough space for the 5 of us, including seating for the meals we ate in (a dining table and a breakfast bar). We found the beds to be comfortable and I had no problem sleeping. The condo was very clean upon arrival and the couple requests we made for additional supplies were delivered quickly. The only issue in the condo was noise from unruly neighboring guests.
The waterpark was large and even though we were told the resort was sold out for the weekend, we did not feel overcrowded in the park. There seemed to be plenty of lifeguards on duty and lines for the slides were not too long. We also felt safe leaving our non-valuable personal items on the chairs while we wandered the park.
Staff was friendly and responsive. The arcade was fun, although few of the machines ate our tokens and then didn't work properly. There are several eateries on site- we only ate at the Loose Moose which again was good enough but not outstanding (food good but service slow) and got some snacks from the sweets shop.
My sister and I had services done at Elements Spa. The spa was very nice and prices reasonable.
I would visit the Great Wolf again if they were running a good deal on room rates.

Room Tip: The condos are a bit of a walk to the waterpark and other main areas. If you're only staying for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jemma40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern MB
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel was nice. We had a king room, the bed was terrible. We had to sleep on the far edges so we wouldn't sink into the middle. We had a sleeper sofa for our 2 year old son. That mattress was also terrible, but he didn't notice. We had an accessible room, the bathroom was huge, Great bonus! There wasn't much for toiletries, but the soap and shampoo smelled awesome! The hallway was very noisy on the Friday night of our stay, there were a bunch of hockey teams that showed up. It quieted down at a reasonable hour.
The water park was Awesome! Very good size, lots of different areas, even for little kids. Our son loved the slides for kids his size, there was enough for us to be there for 3 days without getting bored. The life guards were everywhere! I guess that's a good thing. There was a STUPID rule about bringing your own flotation devices for your children. I bought a flotation ring for my 4 month old, and was told I wasn't allowed to use it unless I put one of "their" life jackets on her too. There weren't any to fit her, they were all way to big, so I wasn't able to use the flotation ring at all, I was able to hold her in the pool with no life jacket, but she wasn't allowed to be in the flotation ring with me holding on to it.
The water park was really busy on Saturday, it was nice to have been there during the week to enjoy the quieter time at the water park.
The clock show was a neat idea, but the story was dumb! The bedtime story in the lobby with their mascot was a big hit!! It was fun for the kids to go in their PJ's (lots of parents did too).
I liked the fact that you could get everything you needed right in the resort, without going out in the cold. The restaurant breakfast buffet was very good, made to order omelets and waffles, great service, good value.
Overall the experience was good, but the few things that were wrong were magnified by the price we paid. If the cost would have been less then it wouldn’t have been such a big deal, but when you spend hundreds of dollars for a few days, you expect things to meet or exceed your expectations!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northern_Girl_MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#4 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
3.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#16 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#59 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 stars 546 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#10 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#13 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 1400 Great Wolf Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#15 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Lodge Hotel
Wisconsin Dells Hotel Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge Wisconsin Dells
Great Wolf Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Wi Dells
Great Wolf Hotel Wi Dells
Great Wolf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing