We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and cozy; wanted to stay longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bowman's Oak Hill Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Driftwood, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful and cozy; wanted to stay longer”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night in the Bowman Cottage on a short getaway from the kids, and we had a wonderful time. The house is beautiful and well maintained. We stayed in one of the cottages, and it was beautiful. Breakfast was wonderful. Because we were in the cottages, they packed us a picnic basket, which was a nice touch! Deer were on the property as well, and it backed up to a creek. My husband and I plan on coming back to the Dells, and we will definitely stay here

Room Tip: We were unable to get WIFI in the Bowman Cottage, so we used our hotspot which worked out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelArg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    4
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
96
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Great location, comfortable B&B. We just returned from meeting friends there for Christmas night.
We were warmly greeted at the door, shown to clean comfortable rooms, and enjoyed an evening of visiting in the living room with the Christmas tree and fireplace. Brenda was kind enough to make a cake for us, with cheese and crackers, and coffee. A wonderful place for visiting, and relaxing. Breakfast was absolutely amazing. Wonderful kind hospitality, yet privacy and time to ourselves. Perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madison1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our experience at Bowman's Oak Hill was wonderful. Upon driving up, we saw deer in the yard. The driveway takes you to the bed and breakfast as well as the cabins on the property. It is far enough back from the road that everything is quiet. Nancy and David were very accommodating and kind during the stay. Breakfasts were wonderful between Nancy's cooking and the company of the Bowmans as well as the other guests. The view of the sun coming through the changing colors of the leaves in the front yard was a spectacular sight. The bed and breakfast is tucked out of the way of the busy tourist section of the dells, but close enough that it is easy to take in those attractions should you wish. I would not hesitate to stay with my wife or family again or hesitate to recommend Bowman's Oak Hill to anybody.

Room Tip: We stayed in Elmer's Oak view room and were the only guests in the house so I cannot speak to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Bowman's Oak Hill is the place to stay if you're looking to steer clear of the mediocre, crowd-filled, and disruptive. The Bed & Breakfast is conveniently off the highway about a mile and a half from "Broadway" - yet tucked back just enough to offer nothing but peace, quiet and great company.

Bowman's hosts two beautiful, hand-crafted cottages, one Argosy travel trailer carefully restored to beauty, and the main house where you'll find comfort and rest.

We stayed in Gracie's Garden. This room is at the end of the house, complete with it's own jacuzzi, separate shower, toilet and sink. Attention to detail is the best way to characterize this B&B. It's clean, the food is lovingly prepared, served and conversation holds plenty of recommendations for enjoying the surrounding areas to it's fullest.

Ideal for couples, this B&B is your perfect get-away in the Dells.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Salle, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I just returned home from a weekend in the Dells. This was our first time staying in a B&B, so we were a little nervous. Upon meeting David and Nancy our nervousness melted away. They are some of the most warm, kind, and accommodating people I have met. We stayed in the Garden Cottage. It was FANTASTIC. Very quiet, and spotless. The property is very private and beautiful. David was so helpful. When we arrived he gave us a map of downtown, showed us a shortcut to get to the boardwalk, recommended some great restaurants, and gave us three different coupon cards for tons of dining and attractions. Nancy is a phenomenal cook. Breakfast was wonderful both mornings. Everything was homemade, and fresh ingredients were used from the garden outside. DELICIOUS. They have tons of DVD's you can borrow, and we even had fresh baked cookies in our room. We are hooked. We will be back for our next dells trip.

-Melissa & Adam M.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa N Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

When you stay at the Bowman's, you feel like you are staying with your family! They are the warmest, most inviting folks you will ever meet! Their home and cabins are just amazing, and they are definitely a one of a kind place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blakeyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This place is a gem. It was so very peaceful and the owners are the salt of the earth people. We had a wonderful time and will be back soon. The breakfast was terrific and the property is lovely. You can tell the owners love this B&B and we do too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomi701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
936 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
2.2 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#58 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#26 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
948 reviews
1.2 mi away
White Rose Inns
White Rose Inns
#10 of 15 in Wisconsin Dells
145 reviews
1.3 mi away
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
#1 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowman's Oak Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowman's Oak Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bowman's Oak Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4169 Rte 13, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a peaceful hill safely hidden from the road this romantic 60's ranch style home and new cottages are just what you need for your special retreat. Spacious rooms with comfortable king or queen Beds and lovely linens. Enjoy a whirlpool tub or spa shower. No hotel noise for you! Yummy breakfasts start your day off right. Rest on the large deck. Take a walk in our organic garden or sit on the covered swing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bowman's Oak Hill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing