We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite must for anyone visiting the Dells!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thunder Valley Inn

Thunder Valley Inn
W15344 Waubeek Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
(608) 254-4145
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 183 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Ransomville, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A definite must for anyone visiting the Dells!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I can't think of anywhere else I would rather be than Thunder Valley for Sunday morning brunch. Great food, a little Norwegian music and a few Sven and Olie jokes will make anyone's visit a memorable one. My wife and I have eaten there periodically over the past 20 years, and we are always impressed! The Norwegian ambiance is fabulous, and must be experienced to gain a full appreciation of this part of mid-western culture.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MathDude59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sunday Breakfast on the Farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Thunder Valley Inn is a great choice for Sunday breakfast. There is a nice homey atmosphere, and the women that work here are friendly and delightful. If you are visiting the Dells, there is a good chance that you have children - this place is perfect for families. We walked around the grounds where we saw a peacock, some goats, and a duck - this would be a thrill for little ones. Only about a mile from downtown Wisconsin Dells, too.
The buffet includes pancakes, french toast, sausage patties, ham slices, potatoes, scrambled eggs, peppers, corn on the cob, cinnamon rolls, biscuits, gravy, yogurt, fresh fruit, chocolate and almond cakes, cheddar cheese, goat cheese, strawberry rhubarb jam, cinnamon apples, and herring. All seemed like it was homemade, and very tasty. My favorite was the fresh bread - it was hidden under a napkin, so make sure that you find it!
The cost was $15, which is very reasonable for a smorgasbord.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank IlliniTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fantabulous Sunday brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I am so jealous of the people who live in this area and get to have brunch here regularly. The Swedish Smorgasboard was completely full of delicious items. From different cheeses to homemade strawberry rhubarb jam, from the most amazing French toast to fresh sweet corn, it was one of the best brunches I've ever had. A must try!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Turtleliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A rare gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

( My full review is under the "hotels" section of Thunder Valley because I didn't see a restaurants button so visit that page for my full review ) But this place is amazing! It is charming, cute, inviting and has home-made meals to die for! Come on a Sunday morning for their smorgasbord! It is awesome! They have a wide variety of foods to pick from, and even have a farmers market! (Sundays only) It's a must eat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POLO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Swedish Smorgasbord”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

How often do you see goat cheese and pickled herring on a breakfast buffet? Great homemade cinnamon rolls, too, and fresh rhubarb sauce!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kathyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thunder Valley Inn also viewed

 

Been to Thunder Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing