We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Cajun Style Restaurant”
Review of Taste Of New Orleans - CLOSED

Taste Of New Orleans
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Cajun Style Restaurant”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Have been to Taste of New Orleans three times with family over the past year. The food has always been excellent. The service and the southern atmosphere just add to the experience. It is a best taste of deep south cajun style cooking in the Midwest!!! Sam always takes time to visit with all his customers to make certain your meal is perfect.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank THESEIDLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    80
    54
    44
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Illinois
1 review
“Loved it”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Say what you want, my family and I found this restaurant by accident. It started raining and we just needed some place to get in from the rain. That was three years ago and now every time we get to the Dells, this is the first place we go to eat. AMAZING, is all I can say. On our way to a wrestling tournament this weekend and we have been looking forward to “Taste of New Orleans” since we found out about the tournament. Looking forward to eating there tonight. The food is excellent, the staff is great, and the Atmosphere is pure New Orleans.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

What a joke. I am quite sure all the battered food arrives frozen. Chicken wings were "Banquet"quality. A themed restaurant that is a tourist trap.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank manny5624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHFIELD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must Visit!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

This food easily rivaled anything I've had in New Orleans. The spices were meaningful and full-flavored and the setting was a great escape from a long winter. If you choose to go, don't hesitate to ask Sam, the owner, any question about the menu or the amenities. Ask about the wood that makes up the bar top, where they source their turtle from, and the good vs not so good parts of the alligator. Lastly watch his reaction to the observation that he reminds you of Joe Pesci. They have a connection that is interesting. Both Sam and his wife are reason enough to visit. The food makes it great.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DEAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“just like New Orleans”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I ate here and loved it. The owner is from New Orleans and made feel right at home very attentive and friendly. The food was better than almost all the restaurants we ate at when we vacationed in New Orleans. Although we live 2 hours away we try to eat here at least twice a year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PubCrawler777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste Of New Orleans also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing