We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food here is pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taste Of New Orleans - CLOSED

Taste Of New Orleans
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The food here is pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I actually thought the food here was really good. We ordered the seafood sampler platter and to our surprise they threw in a couple craw fish for free. The crab balls were awesome and probably my favorite part of the whole meal. The fried catfish had probably the freshest flavor I have ever had in a restaurant. It seriously tasted like it was straight from the river. Now my only disappointment is I wish the breading on it had a bit more flavor and I actually like my catfish pretty spicy but other then that we both thought the food was really good. The waitress we had was also polite though nothing special. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nikki s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    80
    54
    44
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beardsley, MN
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent shrimp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

What a pleasant dining experience. Food was delicious, owners friendly going from table to table visiting with customers. The alligator compared favorably to what I have had in New Orleans. Wait staff very friendly and accommodating. A nice atmosphere considering the hustle & bustle of the Dells

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Our favorite spot to eat in the Dells.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is our second time at Taste of New Orleans and we were as delighted as the first time we ate there. Tasty, authentic Cajun food with a unique atmosphere. The staff is delightful and the menu offers a lot of different choices for the whole family. Decent prices and fast service too! We will be back every time we are in the Dells.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank leahastl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The service was great the waitress knew her products and made an excellent recommendation. food was amazing cant wait to come back next time

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gclarke80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great food & WONDERFUL service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My family ate at Taste of New Orleans on Jun 13 2013 for my daughters 15th birthday. My husband and I do not eat fish or seafood so we were not looking forward to eating at Taste of New Orleans. But grandpa told her it was her birthday her choice. We were both pleasantly surprised at how yummy the non-seafood items were. Most of the family enjoyed shrimp and frog legs or whatever seafood items they like and all thought it was wonderful. But our server Mike was the best and made the experience that much more. Thank you Mike for such wonderful service!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste Of New Orleans also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing