We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Real Denny's” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dennys Diner

Dennys Diner
Ranked #42 of 183 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Price range: $0 - $11
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Real Denny's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Not to be confused with the chain. The first name of the Owner of this place is Denny. Upon entering the place you just start smiling. Many many nostalgic glimpses of the past from different eras gone by. Service was very good on this day. Three separate checks (no problem). Food is normal to good for the price paid. A note of warning ahead of time - THIS PLACE DOES NOT TAKE CREDIT CARDS - CASH ONLY! Other than that small downer, I recommend the locally owned breakfast diner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    99
    54
    23
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were planning to go to Paul Bunyan's, but they were closed for the season. So, we tried Dennys Diner instead. They were out of cinnamon rolls, so I tried the caramel pecan roll. YUM! It was. Excellent, totally homemade. We saw someone else eating the cinnamon roll. It looked awesome. Will try that next time. The hash towns had an excellent crunch and flavor, and the stuffed French toast was excellent! We will definitely go here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TinaB036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nasty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I don't know how ANYONE could recommend this place at all!! This place is terrible! This place is filthy. There is dust and greasy dirt everywhere on their decor and all around the windows. Their chairs were greasy and grimmy. I had to cleaned my hands with a wipe after sitting down. The bathrooms.....you were afraid to touch anything because there was dirt and grim everywhere. In the ladies bathroom my feet were "slipping" a bit from all the dirt and grim. Also a large portion of the sink broke off. So instead of getting a replacement, they decided to CAULK and GLUE the broken pieces together! We are talking about the bowl of the sink here!! I am surprised that the health department has not closed this place down! Our table was sticky with a milk ring on it. I had to clean it off my self! The coffee was horrible. I think their creamer was bad because the coffee tasted "sour" after it was poured into the coffee.Our food was not good either. My husband had an omlette and it was all dried out. How can you screw up an omlette?! We had better food from McDonalds on the fly! This place just SUCKS! GO TO SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!! The Chain Denny's was SO MUCH BETTER------GO THERE INSTEAD

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RTMFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“you can't go wrong here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is the Dennys on the corner, NOT the Dennys chain restaurants. This is the REAL thing and the food is exceptional. Its just hard to decide what to have! We always go for breakfast when were in the Dells. Enjoy!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisFuller320252011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is Denny's Diner, not the chain we all know. It is family oriented with trains in the air and just plain good food. We went for breakfast. Excellent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dennys Diner also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Dennys Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing