We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food; great atmosphere!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty

Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: For over 56 years and four generations later, Paul Bunyan's Cook Shanty welcomes your family to our family! Your Wisconsin Dells vacation would not be complete without a Paul Bunyan's Lumberjack meal. We take extreme pride in serving the freshest family style breakfast, lunch and dinner. With our ever-so-famous homemade buttermilk donuts made fresh every day, keeps our visitors coming from miles away just to pick up a dozen!
Itasca, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food; great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room itself feels like an old logging camp and is just as cozy. Food is brought family style, but they refill your plates as many times as you like. The sausage, gravy & biscuits, and donuts were very good. It's a great place to fuel up for a busy day in the Dells!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BecWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    711
    457
    219
    88
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IL
Level Contributor
125 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just like it's always been!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We have been eating at Paul Bunyan's for more than forty years, and it's pretty much the same place we've known and lived the whole time. While the portions are smaller to help keep waste down, they'll keep bringing food until everybody is full and happy! The donuts are the best! If you have never been here, you owe it to yourself to experience this quintessential Dells eatery.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travel4funIl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun, great food and a super staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We love this place!! We eat here twice every stay for breakfast and lunch!! The food is great and my 10 year old loves the chicken!!! And they are generous with what you get ! It's nice to have pics over the past 6 years of my daughter slowly growing against the statue!! It's a little pricey but worth it!! They don't stop bringing food til you say stop!! :) great place for big or small groups!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amykoerble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were in town for 2 days and ended up eating here twice! The food is delicious, the prices very reasonable, the service is great, and it's all you can eat! What more can you ask for? Seriously the food is fantastic and it is brought to you at the table, not buffet-style serve yourself. We had probably the nicest waiter ever (both days) a tall young man that I never spotted without a smile. If you want a table cloth meal with wimpy portions at a terrible price you can find plenty of places downtown but if you want awesome food, breakfast or dinner, at a great price, with a casual atmosphere then check this place out. I will definitely make it back next time I'm in the Dells or even if I'm just driving though on 90/94 I'll want to stop back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam123454321710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

It is family style. The breakfast is is out of this world well maybe a little exagerated, but it is wonderful you get freshly made hot doughtnuts and scabbled eggs sauasge ham home style fried potatoes and it is all you can eat. It is very busy but you may have to wait in a line to get in but they have it down to a science they move you along and it is well worth the wait. I think the longest we had to wait in the line that goes out into the lot is maybe 1/2 hr and that is at the peak of the summer season. We also have gone for there all you can eat family styel dinner. also vary good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank twm471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty also viewed

 

Been to Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing