We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our kids enjoyed the experience”

Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: For over 56 years and four generations later, Paul Bunyan's Cook Shanty welcomes your family to our family! Your Wisconsin Dells vacation would not be complete without a Paul Bunyan's Lumberjack meal. We take extreme pride in serving the freshest family style breakfast, lunch and dinner. With our ever-so-famous homemade buttermilk donuts made fresh every day, keeps our visitors coming from miles away just to pick up a dozen!
Midwest
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our kids enjoyed the experience”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I had been here years ago before we had kids. We took our two kids here this weekend for a different experience. The check-in area is congested as you have to manuever through their shop area. We were seated right away but then it took FOREVER to have someone initially come wait on us. My husband told me if someone didn't come within 5 more minutes, he was getting up and asking for his money back. Thankfully someone came shortly after he said that. I think another waitress saw the look on my face and said someone will be with you soon. As soon as she made her appearance, she did a nice job and kept our food coming quickly when needed. Our kids enjoyed it. And we didn't mind the food. Donuts were a treat. We thought the sausage had a strange taste but everything else tasted "normal".

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MidwestIris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    730
    461
    221
    90
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Good time, good meal, fair price, and quick Since all the food is made, you don't need to wait long to be served. The wait staff was friendly and polite. The food was good and hot.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We visit hear every time we visit the Dells, sometimes twice! We love this place, the atmosphere, the price and THE FOOD. They were a little disorganized when you walk in, and I would say they should re evaluate the checking in process. Otherwise, everything else is great. Love the old time feel, the service is great, and the food is FANTASTIC. The doughnuts are AMAZING. The pancakes always have a little extra sweetness to them. The eggs are great. LOVE THE HAM. Last time we were there, we were offered biscuits and gravy, which I don't usually eat. But there's we're fantastic. They didn't offer them this time. ALSO, as much coffee, milk, and orange juice you can drink!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A family tradition...”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Every year we travel to the Dells, every year we make our visit to Paul Bunyan's and always have a GREAT breakfast - however, NOT this time. We got an early start, as we arrive on Easter morning and did not want to wait for the breakfast crowds that fill this place. MISTAKE on our part...early morning visit, the food was just mediocre at best...everything was luke warm, if not out right cold. So disappointing.

We LOVE this place and always look forward to this wonderful breakfast family tradition - however, we will return, but just not early in the morning again!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NitaStack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Brook, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Wisconsin Dells Classic”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A multi-day trip isn't complete without a breakfast as Paul Bunyan's if you have kids. Served family style; scrambled eggs, sausage, pancakes, diced hash browns, biscuits & gravy, juice, pop and coffee or tea.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty also viewed

 

Been to Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing