We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Back Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sand Bar

Sand Bar
Ranked #32 of 183 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Back Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

If you want some place to go and feel like home and family try the Sand Bar. I hadn't been in for awhile and treated me just great. The food is still great and all the staff where outstanding.
.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Owner at Sand Bar, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks so much, glad to have you back! Hope to have the pleasure of seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    25
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
167 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Been going to the Sand Bar for 25 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great people own the place. Been stopping here since college. Any trips from Chicago to Minn, this is a regular stop. GREAT steak sandwiches. I have had nothing but here, but alcohol. If your nursing hang over, one of the best bloody mary you will ever have.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TCMNLIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Owner at Sand Bar, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you! The best compliment a restaurant can have is when customers/friends return and tell others they enjoyed your place. You've been returning and spreading the Sand Bar name for many years, thank you! We truly appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
137 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Slightly off the main drag”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Unless you wander the sidestreets or head over to the Amtrak train depot (itself worth a look because it's a beautiful, classic old station), the Sand Bar is off the regular tourism radar. We went last trip (to best take advantgae of the Great! 2-for-1 drink cards each member of our group had) and will go again on all future visits. Friendly, clunky, unpretentious, smalltown, folksy atmosphere with excellent prices (even without a 2-for-1) and none of the noise/crowdedness of the main drag during peak season. If it's primarily peopled by locals, they're friendly locals, and if it's mostly peopled by other visitors who stumbled upon it, they should feel as upbeat about this trip-from-a-trip as we did. I'd bad mouth some of the other Dells bars in more premium real estate to upsell the Sand Bar but: 1) that wouldn't be very constructive; and 2) I bet lots of their employees come here to drink.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Musicmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best bar food in the Dells”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stopped in this past Saturday night to try the steak that I've herd so much about, and it was amazing. The guy working suggested the salsa, so I added it . This place is spot on with thier food and excellent service!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ElmoreS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fish fry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great fish fry and very nice servers. I don't do bars but I do like to eat out and this place I would look forward to eating at.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank scottymc2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Bar also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Sand Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing