We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the foodies, but if you are a regular Joe you'll love it!”
Review of Sand Bar

Sand Bar
Ranked #33 of 190 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
usa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not for the foodies, but if you are a regular Joe you'll love it!”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We took the family here looking for an alternate burger place in The Dells. Kids and hubbie loved it. No plates just a paper wrap for the burgers which were delish..............it is a bar, so grab a seat and look around for someone that might want to take a food order. Staff was friendly, service was quick and a great alternative to the regular pizza or mcydees. If you are in jeans and a t-shirt you might be over dressed : ) Feel free to wear your sweats or cover-up!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    26
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“looovveee the Sand Bar-woot woot funky joe”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

What a friendly crew! Vistied twice in a week and they knew my name and drink! even when busy so friendly! Absolutely reccomend this hidden little secret! the history, the locals, the friendly serviec, awesome food, and decent drink prices too!!!!! Really pleased!!!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Remember, it's a bar, not a restaurant”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Seemed like a great place to bend your elbow, food was ok, service was very friendly. Went there for a bite to eat in the afternoon with kids and was reminded that it's a bar and not a restaurant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clark_W_Grisswold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago burbs
Level Contributor
151 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best burgers & friendly service!”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We came here because of the good reviews on TA & to see if this restaurant compared to one of our Marco Island (Florida) favorites with the same namesake. We loved the burgers here! Our female server, who was also the bartender, was friendly & attentive. Very good Bloody Marys. High quality chicken fingers & perfect fries. We will be back next time we visit the Dells!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crazyflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We have been going to places in Wisconsin for the last 28 years and we just came across this wonderful place even though it was under our nose all the time. We ate there for the first time on a Friday 12/2/11 and had their fabulous fish fry. It was one of the best --if not the best that we have had. Not only was the food fabulous but the service and friendliness of the owner and employees was unbelievable. They actually treat their customers with sincere friendliness and respect. That is something that alot of the local Wisc Dells bars and restaurants are losing site of. They could use a lesson from this great place. I will make this a regular place. - the prices are just as great as the food, service and staff. You got to make it a stop on your list because you won't regret it. Where can you go in this day and get all that in one package? No place we've gone to. Hope they never lose that magic.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sand Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing