We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check This Place Out!”
Review of Rail Dog

Rail Dog
Ranked #58 of 187 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Check This Place Out!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Even if your not a fan of hotdogs or Vienna sausage please make this a stop on your stay in the Dells and buy a soft drink and say HI. This place had very great dogs including the "snap" on the casing. The kids gave the home fries two thumbs up. The biggest part of our experience was the host and proprietor of this establishment. He was very fun and welcoming to the entire family and let kids ring the bells. This is a quick fun place to eat with quality food. Simple and fun

Helpful?
Thank jroorda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    23
    9
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Glad we stopped!”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We heard about this place last summer, but when we got there it was closed. The owner had some health issues. Thankfully he was back at it this summer. I took some family with us and we were not disappointed. Quality hotdogs and a reasonable price. The railroad theme was a plus.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
442 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

If I was rating purely on the hot dogs it would be "good", but this place is more of an experience...Friendly older gentleman working out of an old boxcar. I had a great conversation with him while I waited for him to make my Chicago dogs which were served with mustard, relish, a sport pepper and celery salt with a handful of fries thrown in and wrapped for $4.00 ea....you get exactly what you pay for....good dog, with some fresh cut fries and a great conversation making it a worthwhile visit and I would recommend..Kids think its great...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SIOUXFANFOREVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quick Lunch in the Dells”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My family has stopped at the Rail Dog twice in the past and had great experiences. The owner is a very friendly man.

Today we stopped by for lunch and was waited on by a rather rude woman. I was very surprised how she acted towards her customers. We stepped up to give her our order and she snapped back at us to tell us how many hot dogs and polish we wanted first before we told her what we wanted on them and our drinks.

While the food was very tasty I couldn't get over how rude we were treated. We may come back again, but will look to see who is serving first.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Just off the beaten path and still the BEST”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you want a good place to eat just off the beaten path this is the place. Quiet but with still a contemporary appeal then this is definitely the place to stop at for a quick bite to eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thoedore H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rail Dog also viewed

Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Rail Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing