We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howies Restaurant of Wisconsin Dells

Howies Restaurant of Wisconsin Dells
Ranked #58 of 184 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Howie's Restaurant is family owned and has been in business since 1958. We serve breakfast and brunch and have something for everyone. Our pancakes are one of a kind! Come on by and start your day off right!
Crestwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Dissappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The ads says it's the best breakfast ever. The food wasn't very good and they messed up our order. They offered us something else but by this time we just wanted to leave, we won't be going there again. We will stick to Denny's Diner down the street.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cmoerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    27
    11
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast at a great price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was our second time eating at Howie's and it was just as delicious as the first! We were there for breakfast and everyone enjoyed their food. I got the corned beef hash, hash browns and their DELICIOUS cinnamon roll. My husband and daughter both got their breakfast plate that had bacon, eggs, hash browns, pancakes, and toast and they both enjoyed their food as well. The last time I ate here I had their biscuits and sausage gravy and they were delicious as well. We will make a point to eat at Howie's for breakfast every time we come to the Dells.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel7066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
253 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Best place for Breakfast in The Dells”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We drove past Howies on our way to our accommodation, and returned the next morning to give it a try and have breakfast.
This is the place to have Breakfast.
The majority of Staff are warm and bubbly for that time of the morning, and the breakfast, well
I could have fed a few more people.
Good Food, Good Service, and Good Staff.
It's worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fogsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a joke”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We were staying across the street so we thought we would give it a try. Should have kept driving. There huge breakfast is a joke. And food was terrible we left hungry and not happy awful way for a day to start. I would never go back and would be happy to pay more just to get good food. Gross

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kosst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dells best kept secret”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is by far the Dells best kept secret for breakfast. Priced great (5 bucks gets you decent breakfast), nice "country kitchen" atmosphere, very pleasant staff. Food portions are more than enough, coffee's hot & your cup kept full. Nice arts & crafts corner where you can buy things handcrafted by local artisans. I got one of those rice-filled neck things that you stick in the microwave for $7.50 - was great after a long time on the road! Made in USA, not China. And they have homemade fudge right there, too. Came here last year & loved it, visited again on this year's trip because my daughter remembered the breakfast!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank greenfeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howies Restaurant of Wisconsin Dells also viewed

Wisconsin Dells, WI
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Howies Restaurant of Wisconsin Dells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing