We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids!!”

Buffalo Phil's Pizza & Grille
Ranked #10 of 191 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Families love our Train Delivered Food! Buffalo Phil's menu includes Rotisserie Chicken, BBQ, Pizzas & Lil' Buckaroo Meals. Stop in & try our All-You-Can-Eat Lunch Buffet with Pizzas, Pastas, Salads & Soups served daily from 11am-3pm ! Come to eat, stay to play at Knuckleheads Bowling & Indoor Amusement Park next door! We're located next to the Outlets at the Dells!
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for kids!!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Food was good-we ordered pizza (excellent) and cheese bread (nothing special). The atmosphere is great-trains everywhere! Sitting by the main train at the "bar" isn't conducive to conversation but cool for kids. Note: you can be served by train at tables too! I'd recommend that option ( way more space!) p

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jsniatynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    670
    532
    289
    131
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wi
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Went for the kids but had fun too”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just returned from the Dells today and on the way home stopped here for lunch. Have seen the signs for years and our 3 yr old grandson loves trains so this was a must stop.

First let me tell you the place is a lot larger than I thought also if you ant the train food service you need to be in the back dining room. Grandson loved the trains and I gotta admit I had a lot of fun too.

Our daughter had the Lunch Buffet, looked decent enough but nothing that really jumped out at me as unusual or exceptional. The margaritas are good but not special and certainly not potent.

Now that being said I had the Pulled Pork Sandwich and my wife had the Alamo Burger, both came with fries. The pork was great, tender juicy and a more than ample serving quantity. My wife knew she had ordered a half-pound burger that tasted as good as it looked. And the fries, well some of the best wedge fries I have had - nice firm potatoes and fired to perfection and no grease at all.

Go for the trains, enjoy the food but I would order off the menu and get something specific and maybe not have the buffet. Not that it was bad but not my choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelJunkie146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very cool restaurant!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This place is amazing! The décor is fabulous with rustic interior, very cabin like and its 2 floors! If coming here with younger kids, its wroth the wait for the seating in the train room! There is a train that goes around the room and delivers your food to your table! Super fun for the kids and adults :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoNative85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mars, PA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

My whole family enjoyed this restaurant. We saw the billboards on our way to Wisconsin Dells and knew we had to try it. The restaurant is really nice - we were expecting a dive bar. You have to get a train table if you have kids. All s their meals are delivered on a train. What a cool idea. My husband got the half chicken meal. The chicken was delicious and he got so much food - it was a great deal. The kids meals were a great value too. We were given a coupon for a free train ride at Knuckleheads after our meal. Knuckleheads is an arcade connected to Buffalo Phil's. The train ride is not a slow easy ride. It is a small roller coaster inside the arcade. It was so much fun! The games are reasonably priced in this arcade. It was a great end to a wonderful meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank denyse1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It's all about the trains!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

You get your food delivered to you via train, if you want to (must specify to sit in the train room when seated). This was unique and had excellent kid-appeal. We would go back for that reason alone. The food was decent -- we had pizza & quesedillas. Their home made sodas were excellent! Loved every one we tried. Only complaint was the flies. Might be hard to control, but we were swatting more than anything & covered our pizza with napkins to keep it 'safe.' Maybe some flypaper tucked away somewhere would help? Our waiter said, 'these things happen, flies are hard to control' -- which may be true, but it was really kind of annoying & a little bit gross.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ErinB1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Phil's Pizza & Grille also viewed

 

Been to Buffalo Phil's Pizza & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing