We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Want the best prime rib EVER? FIND BUBBA! (James)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Karoo

Great Karoo
Ranked #60 of 184 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plainfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
132 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Want the best prime rib EVER? FIND BUBBA! (James)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

WOW! We really enjoyed this, we showed up late to this eatery but ALL of the staff was EXCELLENT. They took the time to help our 3 year old, the food was PERFECT, even close to close, FANTASTIC, back to James... (AKA Bubba).. He has one hell of a nice HOT rub that he added to MY prime rib. All I can say is W O W !!!!! Look him up and ask him for the good stuff!! YUM!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Great Karoo, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
I am so pleased you had a wonderful dining experience and enjoyed your prime rib during your visit to Great Karoo. Thank you so much for the review and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    27
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
milwaukee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Karoo-Great Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Really good food for breakfast and dinner. Our son is allergic to milk and they were very good about making him his own food. He was thrilled that they could make him french toast and a coconut smoothie with soy milk. They really went above and beyond!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank milwaukeebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Loved, loved, loved the buffet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Not too expensive, and huge variety of things to eat. The whole familiy could find something to eat, even my picky teen. There was a separate children's buffet, that had things like pancakes with M&Ms and red velvet cake pancakes. Just about any breakfast food you can imagine was available and freshly made. The made-to-order omelet stand was good, and moved quickly enough that the line was not long. I don't think the menu differed from day to day, but it didn't matter because there were so many choices of different things to eat. I highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vwnotabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Breakfast Buffet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I had tickets for the breakfast buffet in our package for our trip. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. They had everything to choose from, the normal selection like eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. But what i liked the most was the few different choices, carrot cake pancakes, pumpkin french toast,crunchy waffles. Also had a meat carving station with ham, or sirloin. Had fresh fruit station, which the wife and i enjoyed the fruit smoothies, yogurt with fresh fruit (RASPBERRIES!!!).
Also the danish/bagel station had a great selection. We like it so much the first day with our passes the wife suggested going the next morning also, as this was not a norm for us to eat at the same place twice in a stay then it had to be good. Great service outstanding selection. YUM!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The breakfast buffet at Great Karoo is top-notch! There is a wide variety of selections sure to please everyone. Some items available include omelets, pancakes, cinnamon rolls, pastries, oatmeal, cereal, sausage, bacon, Eggs Benedict, etc. Something for everyone. I highly recommend!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank wisdellslocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Karoo also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Great Karoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing